Fiction logo

THE REVERSE HAGGLE

Luke Lawson

By Luke LawsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Saturday morning:

They’re green and I think I want them

The doctor martens boots?

Yes, but I didn’t try them on

Ok, I have a doctor martens shoe here that’s too small for me; try it on. I reached over and picked it up and handed it to her while I lay in bed. She stood up brilliantly bedside and put it on her foot.

It’s a bit big, do you have the other one?

I don’t know where that is. I replied.

S. walked off into the bathroom without shutting the door. I lifted up the tongue of the shoe and on the bottom there was an “8” stamped on the leather.

I think you need a 7

Ok

Do you want me to get them?

Yes.

Ok, I’ll go see Michelle today; she opens at 10:30am.

Ok.

S… walked into the kitchen and then back again, ‘I have to go to the hairdresser now, baby’

Ok.

I walked out of the unit after making myself a sandwich. There were three ambulances out the front of my block of units. It was 10:30 am. Blue and red light flashed but no sound was made. One pulled off and drove up one end of the street and the other two pulled off in the opposite direction. A lady with a pram looked on. I waved. The little boy in the pram looked up at me with a smile.

Is everything ok?

Oh it was a man.

Oh, where from? These units? I pointed with my thumb over my shoulder

Yes.

Those are my units. I know everybody in this block of units. I have to go. She looked at me and I looked back momentarily before I started running up the middle of the street after the ambulances. They were getting to the end of my street and indicating right to get onto the High Street. My thoughts raced. The first ambulance pulled out and was gone. I ran faster, why is this weekend cursed with death I thought. It was a long weekend – the Queens birthday on Monday. The second one stopped. I approached. Then it pulled out and was gone from my vision too.

I stopped running and slowed to a walk. I wondered if it was Peter, my friend. But, I saw the cars on the high road weren’t moving. I ran again, faster after the short break. I raced over the footpath. The second ambulance was in view. I ran into the middle of the street, through oncoming traffic and up to the window. A paramedic looked down at me and the window went down. Was that Peter, Pete McConnell, in the other Ambulance? I asked without any breath.

We don’t know his name. Do you know anything about him?

He’s a published author! He only leaves the unit on Wednesdays! He doesn’t have much family and they never visit. He’s mentioned he’s close with his sister.

Ok, let me pull over.

I got up on the footpath.

This man had a goatie, that him?

Oh, no. White hair?

Nah, shaved head.

Oh, Peter shaved his head?

I dunno. Nah, it wasn’t white hair?

Over sixty?

Nah about 40.

Oh. Shit. That’s the new guy in unit …. he has a child, a boy. He just moved in. I say hello to him all the time but I don’t actually know his name yet.

Ah. He had no ID on him.

Is he ok?

He was lying on the grass in tack pants.

Oh. Big night for him?

Maybe. He’s ok we just have to check him out.

Oh. Ok.

Is his son ok?

He’s probably with the mother but I’ll suss it out.

Ok.

The ambulance pulled off. I was standing out the front of Michelle’s vintage store.

Oh yeah, I thought. I walked in and Michelle was adjusting a manikin. Hey Michelle, ya remember me?

Of course I do.

How are ya?

Yeah good

Ah! These are them. I pulled up a green boot

Oh yeah? Michelle walked over.

A girl with red hair was in here yesterday

Yes, beautiful hair

Yeah! She wants these boots. I’m here to get them, but I have to check the size. I pulled up the tongue and saw a “7” printed on it. Perfect.

Michelle started to talk. My husband died.

I looked her in the eye “I’m so sorry”

“No, it’s what happens”.

Yes, I suppose it is

She kept talking. For five minutes she rattled off the names of people I had never met and probably never would meet. One couple had sold up everything and bought a yacht, made in Germany – apparently they looked for ages.

Oh?

Yeah, would you live on a yacht?

S… and I were on a boat about three months ago. I liked the rocking feeling – like a cradle.

Michelle looked at me, “see these G eeks don’t get it. They want me to sell the shop. They only understand sheds and money.”

Why?

They don’t get it

Yeah, it’s your life’s work

I know son

Would you move back in here? Is your daughter still living out back?

Nah, my daughter is still here; she won’t move after sixteen years – but she shares with another girl who hasn’t got anyone. She has no parents. I would though, but she doesn’t have anyone.

You have to look after yourself before you can look after anyone else, I said.

Yeah I know.

Are you still out at Shepparton?

No. Doreen. I live at Doreen, I come from Shepparton.

Oh yeah that’s right.

Whelp, I’ll take these boots.

Ok. She put them in a bag. Did you see the price? $125.00

Remember when we used to haggle these things down?

Yep.

Let’s haggle up; the reverse haggle.

Ok! One fifty, she said, and smiled

One thirty! I replied and handed her two fifties, a twenty, and a ten: $130.00.

Don’t be silly.

But it’s funny

She took the money and snatched me back the ten

But Michelle, I don’t want to haggle down, I want to haggle up!

Get out of here.

Ok

It’s good to see you again, Luke

You too Michelle

She laughed.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Luke Lawson

I am Luke Lawson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.