Fiction logo

The Pocket Watch's Possesion

Story about a lost item

By MPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
The Pocket Watch's Possesion
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

I was once a cherished possession, a treasured relic in the home of a wealthy family. Crafted from pure silver and decorated with intricate engravings, I was a magnificent pocket watch. My presence brought elegance and sophistication to the lives of those who owned me. But fate had a different plan, thrusting me into a world of darkness and despair.

It all began on a stormy night when an unrelenting thunderstorm swept through the town. The wind howled and rattled the windows of the grand Victorian mansion. In the commotion, I found myself knocked off the mantle and falling into the depths of the house, disappearing into the cold, damp void beneath the floorboards.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks into months. I lay abandoned in the darkness, tormented by my lonely existence. The once glamorous mansion was now empty, a ghostly shell, and I was left to my own despair. Cobwebs cocooned around me, becoming my only companions as the years passed by.

But then, the mansion was sold to a young couple seeking refuge from their mundane lives. They were captivated by the grandeur of the house, unaware of the dark energy that lurked within. Their arrival breathed life back into the old walls, igniting a glimmer of hope within me.

As the couple moved into the mansion, they marveled at the beauty it possessed. They hung portraits of their ancestors and adorned their shelves with antique books. One day, while exploring the attic, they stumbled upon an old chest, hidden beneath layers of dust. Curiosity piqued, they opened it, revealing a collection of forgotten objects.

Within that dusty assortment, they found me, the misplaced pocket watch, with my silver gleaming through the years of neglect. The couple, intrigued by my beauty and craftsmanship, took me into their possession. However, they were unaware of the dark forces that resided within me.

The first night I spent with the couple, I couldn't help but feel a surge of excitement. Finally, I had someone to appreciate my magnificence again. But as the night grew darker, I began to notice peculiar things happening around the house. Shadows danced in the corners of their vision, whispers filled the empty hallways, and objects moved on their own accord.

The couple, oblivious to the supernatural occurrences, attributed them to the quirks of an old house. Days turned into months, and their lives became intertwined with the haunting atmosphere that my presence brought.

Night after night, the house became a canvas for malevolent spirits, lurking in the dark corners, growing stronger with each passing day. And it was I who unwittingly invited them in. I, the misplaced pocket watch, unknowingly harnessed their energy and enabled their reign of terror. The couple's once-happy lives began to unravel, their once-loving relationship strained under the weight of the spirits' influence.

Unbeknownst to them, I held the key to their salvation. The pocket watch itself was an artifact of ancient origins, cursed by an ancient deity. I had become the vessel for its power, and by breaking its curse, I could release the couple from their torment.

One fateful night, with the spirits at their peak of malevolence, the couple sat huddled together, completely consumed by fear. Their desperate eyes landed upon me, glimmering in the moonlight that seeped through the window. With trembling hands, they clutched me and began their quest to find a way to break the curse.

Studying ancient texts and summoning the wisest of spirits, the couple unearthed the truth about my existence. They soon realized that the only way to free themselves from the spirits was to sacrifice me, to destroy the very object that had brought chaos into their lives.

Filled with apprehension, they gathered me in a sacred chamber, surrounded by mystical runes. With tears in their eyes, they struck the pocket watch against a silver anvil, shattering my magnificent form. As the shards scattered across the room, a blinding light erupted, banishing the malevolent spirits from the house.

As the dust settled, the couple stood before the ruins of the pocket watch, their faces filled with a mix of sadness and relief. Though the house would forever bear scars of its haunted past, the couple had finally found solace.

As for me, I was no longer a misplaced item, lost in the depths of darkness. Instead, I had become a cautionary tale, a reminder of the horrors that could arise when one ventures into the realm of the supernatural. And so, the remnants of the silver pocket watch were buried deep beneath the earth, laying to rest the torment that had plagued the couple's lives.

Young AdultthrillerShort StoryMysteryHorrorFantasyFableClassicalAdventure
1

About the Creator

M

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.