Fiction logo

The Perfect Snow Spot

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 3 months ago 1 min read
21
The Perfect Snow Spot
Photo by brandon siu on Unsplash

I love the snow. I loved watching every flake hit the ground. The only time I ever felt like myself is when I get to play in the snow.

I practically raised myself in the snow covered cabin before my parents left it to me, I was very independent. After making my own breakfast, walking myself to school then back again, then making lunch, I would walk in the snow every winter, and I enjoyed walking passed all the pines, enjoying the snow build up on the trees, watching the delicate flakes hit the ground like miniature angles slowly floating to earth.

I would very carefully walk across the frozen lake and sometimes go ice fishing before heading back to the cabin.

I had found someone to bring back to the cabin with me. A companion, and I was excited.

“You seem excited too,” I said and smiled. They didn’t say anything.

“No need to say anything, we’ve been having fun. I know I’ve enjoyed myself,” I said, and looked out the window to see the snow.

I enjoyed hunting during the summer, my father used to go with me. But there weren’t many animals to hunt in the harsh winter. And there wasn’t much else to do in these rural parts. I grabbed my shotgun and untied my companion.

“I’ll give you a thirty second head start,” I said, smiling.

My plan was to chase him to the lake, and trap him in one of my ice fishing holes.

Young AdultthrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionHorrorFantasyAdventure
21

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Yusuf Alam3 months ago

    💯👌👌👌

  • AngelVPN3 months ago

    Beautifully expressed... however, my heart is now racing! I trust the unexpected turn in the plot won't hinder my ability to sleep tonight.

  • What a great twist

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Lol. You paint this relaxing picture of winter and then...BAM! Hit us hard with tone changing twist! Awesome. Glad to see you posting again!

  • Nicely written… but my heart is now racing! Hope the plot twist doesn’t keep me awake 😵‍💫!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Sounds like he'd prefer to be on his own! Might be just as well! I loved this description "like miniature angles slowly floating to earth".

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Oh no, Alex! LOL, good one.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Nasty! I think that harsh landscape as shaped him!

  • Catherine Nyomenda3 months ago

    Is this chapter one of a story because you have captured my attention

  • Hahahahahahahahaha I loved that ending! I was so excited to see your name in my notifications! This was an awesome story!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Not sure I want to be your friend, tied up in a cabin surrounded be woods and ice. Good story!

  • Great twist Alex!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Surprised!!! What a horrific twist!!! Loved your snow microfiction story!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Oh damn! This went places real fast and I loved it Alex! Absolutely smashing job here :) Kept me hooked to the last

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Brutal! Where have you beeeeeeen 😁

  • Woah! I wasn't expecting that ending! Great work Alex!

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    Let the games begin!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.