Fiction logo

The owl

A tale of The Wise One

By Ashley WoodPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
The owl
Photo by Kevin Mueller on Unsplash

My name is Ash I am a gray fox my fur looks like ashes, a black tail, and dark green eyes. I work as a librarian for for The Wise One or the owl. Who is The Wise One you may ask? Let me tell you the tale. No one knows his true name they just call him The Wise One or the Owl, no one knows how old he is only that he has years and years worth of knowledge he shares, and no one knows why he wants stories as a form of payment. In the stories of old The Owl was known as a wise person, people and animals far and wide came to ask him for wisdom. As a form of payment he does not ask for gold he form of payment is stories that he bounds in a oak leaf book.

The Wise One is a Snow Owl he is white like a ghost with black tipped wings and burnt Amber colored eyes. When he flys by you, you do not hear a sound. He does not talk alot or make a sound at all unless he is angry then the only sound you hear is a sound that makes your blood run cold. When he is not angry he had a voice that people would stop to listen to, he could stop wars, start wars, or even comfort someone no matter what they are feeling. Children loved to listen to his stories adults would come near and far for advice. The people that lived around the old Oak respected his privacy and when he wanted company they would invite him to dinners, just to help them with projects, or sit and talk about random things.

There was another aspect to The Wise One that no one knows about he is also known as the fortune teller or the omen giver. Before I was born my parents went to The Wise One because they where worried about some rumors they heard about some wild fires that have been starting for a while now. The Wise One said that there was not going to be fires for while, but to be warned and watch for dark skies ahead and listen for thunder without lighing. They asked The Wise One if instead of a story that I come and work for him as one of his librarians and learn at his feet on how to be a wise one as well. He looked into the future for me and saw that I had a gift just like he did, but will experence great loss. He turned to my parents and said that he would do everything he could to teach me and take care of me. A few full moons after I was born my parents saw the omens and knew that they would not be able to see me grow up.

After the deaths of my parents at the hand of the fires that went through the Hollow. I stayed with the Community members till I came of age. The Wise One came and said that my parents offered to let me learn at his feet and that I could work as a Libarian for him. He even offered a place for me at that base of the tree near the library it is a small place for one person, but it is home to me. There is a ring of rocks nearby, where The Wise One held the meetings he had with the people he helped when you entered the ring there was no sounds to be heard from outside the ring also you could not hear what was being inside if you stood outside the ring. My place had a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, and a living room when I first moved in it was bare and dusty. Over time I made it my private domain with dark floors, white walls and shelves full of books and other deceration that I have found and will find on my adventures.

Where we live at is called Old Oak Hollow, it is a nice place that whas been worked on a lot over the years ever since The Wise One founded the place with the older members of the community. During some really dark times The Wise One came to the hollow at a point when all the communities where at each others throuts. The land was cold and dark, there was not enough food to go around, and everyone was on the brink of war. The Wise One came in and brought peace and hope for a future where no one will starve or face loss at the hands of war. There has been some dark times since he founded the community with the elders, but those where natural darkness not something that was started by one of the people.

The Old Oak tree where I live at is in the middle of the hollow, we have a pond that is formed in the roots of the tree that is kept frash by a creek. the Otters and the Beavers worked togather to make the pond by having the creek move over and since then they have been keeping the creek and pond clean and to stay frash all the time. The Old Oak offers a home to all animals from the natural hunters to the ones that are hunted. Because, of this upkeep and the work of the animals that live there The Hollow feels like a safe and peaceful enviorment even for people who are natural hunters like me and a few others who live in the Hollow.

The Wise One has asked me if I want to be a part of a different community with other Gray Foxes, but I have told him that I love this community and the people in it. The community does not have a lot of carnivores, but the ones that live there work togather with the herbivores and keep the peace they do eat meat but only non talking animales and only eat fish most of the time. If I had the opppertunity I do not want to leave becasue the community helped me when I was at a low point in my life. As for The Wise One he has taught me everything about being a wise one he taught me how to look into the future and how to be a oman of choice. There is a old story that The Wise One told me, about Gray Foxes showing paths they tend to work with the old Gods and Goddesses who are being connected to choosing paths.

There is still alot that I have to learn about, and it will be years before I am able to be a wise one or even my own name as a wise one or a name that goes with my talents. In my libary I have books that The Wise One gave me to help me learn more about how my path and who I am meant to be. There is a oath all wise ones take at the end of their training part of the oath we make a promise that we will always learn about the past in order to protect the future. I aim to hold that promise and more by looking into my past and protect the future of the Hollow.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Wood

"The thing about ideas is they never come to you all at once"

Doctor who, The 4th Doctor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.