Fiction logo

The Mysteries of Purpose

Creatively Adapting Konfectionary Explanations

By Ronald T WhitleyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

The wind flowed between myself and my brothers and sisters. The sun danced on our backs and heads giving energy to our lives. Providing us with a direction, hope, and a diety. The mighty sun, who brings light and warmth to the world.

A rumble in the distance and the sound of countless beautiful lives being crushed and severed washed towards me in wave after wave of agony.

Soon the sound was accompanied by shaking and the screams into wails. Then the blades were upon my siblings nearby. I watched as they were cut down, able to offer no resistance to the monster that brought ruin to our people.

After that we were collected in groups, our bodies slowly losing life energy. Smashed together my face against others I had never known but I knew their sorrow as it was my own. We were carried by the monster to another larger beast with a wide maw and a collecting tongue.

Dropped on the tongue we moved forward into the darkness. Once there the horrors truly began. Here I felt my body ripped to shreds, my essence being collected.

Now fractured, my perception seemed to be everywhere with everyone. We were on another collecting tongue being hauled into a mouth of utter darkness and pounding noise. We moved closer and closer to where there was a crushing, a smashing, and a complete and utter pulverization which ground us all into a fine and unrecognizable powder.

The dream was always the same. Somehow I survived it, but my essence was scattered everywhere. I could barely focus on where I was. There was the soft whimpering of millions of others around me. Our life was no longer of sun and wind, now it was darkness and time.

The darkness fled, we were carried by the hand of the creator towards a large basin where we were removed, separated again, and deposited.

~~~~

Quiet, chilled darkness surrounded me. Sitting in a container surrounded by others similar yet distinct from myself. Hard exterior resting against the hard exterior, white, brown, and myself a blue. Suddenly warm inviting light emblazoned us all. Movement, I and one other, a brown, selected and lifted away from our brethren.

Our time had finally come, we were to be used. For a long time, we had known that our true purpose was not to sit in the chilled darkness, now that the light had come and the hand of the creator had us we would move towards our purpose.

We were set down next to a large basin. I felt the brown lifted, lifted, and heard a Crack. The cry of my people, one that marks death seemed to echo throughout the room of the creator. I saw the discarded body of the brown tossed in another basin, his soul no longer within him. The creator had used the energy of his soul for some new purpose.

Then it was my turn as I ascended to the basin, the creator's hand delicately embracing me. Holding me above the basin I could see the soul of my brethren as it rested within upon a cloud of white. Acceleration towards the edge. CRACK! My soul left me, or to be more precise I left my body, its beautiful blue discarded in the pile with the brown's.

My soul rested on the white cloud with the brown's. We were separate as before but closer than ever.

~~~~

Harvested, that is the only way I can describe my death. I was harvested, plucked from my home by an unknown creature, and held in a large tank awaiting whatever sinister intent they had for me.

Soon others joined me but what did it matter. I didn't know them, I didn't care for them, and they were doomed as purely as I was.

After a while, there were despondent sighs and cries from above. It appeared as if the final evil act had begun.

Soon pressure began and built to an unbearable amount. I felt my flesh swell until my skin split and the liquids of my core seeped out to collect in the bottom of the receptacle.

I had given up then, but there was life after death it seemed. Now I was free of my body and was able to intermingle and mix with the cores of others. We were stuck inside a dark container. Many hands of the abductors handled us but soon we went home with one who seemed kind. She hummed when she chose us.

Now she was reaching for us again, I felt part of myself and others leave the bottle. We fell through fresh air that I thought was all in my past. Into a basin we fell to mix our core with others.

I could feel anger, hatred, confusion, joy, elation, and contentment. All the while the soothing sounds of the collectors humming permeated the emotions guiding them to joy.

There was a whirring sound and we became one. All mixed, then a new feeling was mixed in. Sweetness and richness. This feeling or voice was one of the earth itself. When the whirring started again the richness of the new being seemed to sing to us all.

~~~~

Then the final test of the creator came, we as a whole were lifted and poured into a new receptacle. Then from there, a squeaking sound came and waves of heat pounded against all of our senses.

We warmed to a boiling temperature. This final test caused a change in us all. No longer were we simply a collection of individuals who have been blended together by the hand of the creator now we were truly a new being. We began to solidify rising, growing, and completing our metamorphosis.

Not long after the change was complete, the squeaking sounded again and the creator's humming returned to me. Her loving hands reached in under some sort of covering to remove me from the heat.

I rested in the fresh air for a while till the heat subsided. When I was cool to the touch her naked hands patted me. Then I was caressed as I was lifted from the receptacle. Then her careful soft touch gave me a blanket of cool richness to cover me totally.

After what seemed like lifetimes of waiting I heard the sound of something new, similar to the creator's voice but higher pitched. Then her voice responded. There was a back and forth and then I felt the cool bite of a blade sink into me. There was a moment of panic as the horrors of all my previous lives and selves assaulted me, but then as the blade cut again and lifted me from myself it felt right. Like I was nearing the end of a long journey.

Soon more metal sunk into my body. This was not a blade but tines that lifted me towards none other than the lovely mouth of the creator. Her hand stopped right before I reached her mouth, there was an inhale of breath and then she spoke. Her voice is like the wind, the sun, the chill, the darkness, pressure, release, the earth, and love.

"Oh my, I do love the smell of a freshly made chocolate cake."

Then she placed me in her mouth and my journey was complete. I was becoming one with the creator and she guided me to a purpose that I know wasn't mine initially, but it was the one I ultimately was meant for.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.