Fiction logo

The Monks that Read to Save Mankind

Don't stop reading

By Jakayla ToneyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

"The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window."

Micheal and Sarah both stood blankly at me. "Wait-wait you're telling me this is a true story?" Sarah shook her head. "That the world almost ended because someone found a book that wrote the fate of the world?"

"And that your father saw the people inside reading this book?" Micheal asked.

I sighed and sat down on the floor next to the couch they sat next to. "Yeah my dad saw them. The monks that read to save mankind."

They both laughed at me. Micheal faced me. "And you believe this? You believe that there are people reading a book that has everything that everyone does written down and if someone stops reading the world will end."

I shrugged. "Not end, just a lot of natural disasters."

"You know, Helena," Sarah smirked at me. "YonderHills isn't too far from here. Isn't that where your father disappeared-" She stopped herself, thinking I'd get sad.

"Yeah," I sighed. "But he was already, you know not really the most sane person. He probably just left. You know how alcholics be."

Micheal nodded his head. "You know, I used to urban explore back in Kansas. We should go find this cabin in the woods with the monks."

I raised my eyebrows and shook my head. "I don't see why not. None of my other friends would ever dare to go with me. They're to scared. I'm down to adventure."

"Today?" Sarah asked.

Micheal and I exchanged looks. "I have time," he said to me.

"Me too."

Sarah sighed. "I'm down for some urban exploring," she smiled and stood up. "I'll bring my camera. You guys got flashlights?"

"Yes," I said. "It's only 40 minutes away from here. We can take my mom's car."

Micheal picked up my phone that was vibrating. "11 missed calls from someone," he showed me the phone.

I closed it and put it in my pocket. "Alright guys, lets go explore."

***

When we got to the top, there was a trail of small crushed up pieces of white rocks ahead of us. The trail lead into the trees.

"Cool. Is this sand?" Sarah said reaching for it.

I bent down and picked up a hand full. "No..." I said in a low voice. There was a shiver down my spine. "It's bones. They're all crushed up."

Micheal gulped. "Maybe it's the bones of the explorers."

"The 7 explorers that went missing back in 1970, remember?" I asked.

Micheal shook his head. "I hear YonderHills is a pharnomal place, I'm looking forward to seeing some ghost. If not, the cabin will do."

Sarah and I stepped over the white stuff that we thought were bones. "It lead into a trail. "Should we follow it?" I asked.

All of us followed the trail of bones into the woods. Once past the many trees came the trees that were leaf less and emotionless. We came across a patch of grass that made a small circle. To our surprise there was a guy there...and he was next to the cabin. And inside the window...was a lit candle.

The thin man that was wrapped around in a white sheet looked at me with buldging eyes. He seemed old and tired. So skinny his legs looked like they were going to break at any minute.

All of a sudden Sarah screamed. All of us turned around to see what the cry was about. Standing behind us this whole time was a Woman with long curly hair, a face full of wrinkles, and eyes that looked like she hadn't slept in a while. Her huge eyes stared as us like we were an unknown species.

A smile finally formed across her face. "Thank you!" She jumped up and down and looked at me. "Thank you so much, Helena."

"Finally." She said looking at us, shaking her head up and down and grinning so widely. "Make sure you feed each other and get each other water. The water is behind the cabin." Her eyes shifted to me. "If he dies, then you young lady, you take his place, but hurry, you only have 30 seconds." She took out a knife that she had been hiding and waved it around at Sarah.

The skinny guy ran up to Micheal. Together, the man and woman lead the two of them to the cabin door. It opened...and I saw him.

"Dad!" I ran to help him up. He was weak, pale, dehydrated. I pulled him away from the cabin and watched the man and woman give Micheal the book.

"Read it! Or humanity dies," she says.

Micheal and Sarah panicked, asking what was happening. The man pointed at the book and read the passage loud. "Read or I will stab you," the old man said.

Sarah and Micheal looked at me. "Don't stand there, Helena! D-do something, don't just stand there!"

I hugged my father. "I told you...it was true. No one else would come up with me. I'm so sorry."

I started to cry. My father leaned on me as we attempted to walk away. "You saved me. You did the right thing. Thank you. Let's go see mom. It's been a long time."

The older man and woman looked at me before I closed the cabin door. She winked. "Fresh meat, thank you Sarah. We will meet you down soon."

I closed the door. I heard them telling Micheal and Sarah that if they stop reading that they would die and everyone else."

As we descended, I could tell they started reading. Beause for a few seconds, the sky turned black and the ground started shaking. Then it stopped.

They had gotten them to read...now they were the monks reading to save mankind.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Jakayla Toney

When not immersed in the realms of horror and mystery, I also work as a bartender in the bustling city of New York. You can find helpful articles on bartending, writing, and photography on my page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.