Fiction logo

The Mist

the day the Great Falls froze

By TestPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
14
Paterson Great Falls 1/28

Paterson falls 1/28

I move so fast, with so much power I soar through the cutting wind; the air so much colder when I am not surrounded by myself.

Suddenly hardened I fall hard on the other pieces of myself that have coated the world, strange to be a part of something and then a part of the same something, but different.

I am different.

I am also the same.

So very much the same.

And so very different.

Now I reflect the sun blinding the creatures that slip and slide on the other parts of me. They laugh and squeal at this different kind of beauty. Before they would marvel at the incessant pounding of my power, I have always been so very full of power but it has been liquid, amorphous. Now, now I have hardened in fractals, I am unmoving. I have made it into the cracks of the world and I am expanding.

I wonder, briefly if I will ever go back to moving quickly. If this blinding white world will go back to its greens and browns. It was softer then. I was softer then, though less singular, less insulated, a part of something.

A part of something moving forward.

I think, when I go back, for I am sure to go back, someday. We all go back to the water eventually.

I will enjoy being less singular.

Paterson Great Falls 1/28

Paterson Great Falls 1/28

Authors note: The week of 1/22/2024 the Great Falls in Paterson NJ froze; the perfect storm of 12+ inches of rain in December and a week of VERY cold weather froze the mist coming off the falls, and created this alien landscape.

Also extra thanks to Oneg for helping this piece come to life.

Microfiction
14

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.