Fiction logo

The Marigold Scripture

Part Two

By Mariam NaeemPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
15
The Marigold Scripture
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

Mrs Devlin watched from behind the counter as Mara stood up suddenly, looking angry.

Mara looked down at Antonio, disgusted with what she assumed was him trying to reconcile after leaving her at the altar. Nothing, nothing could make her forget the pain and humiliation she suffered. She hadn’t heard from him since the day before the wedding. His friends had tried to say he was just in shock, it was just a moment of panic. Said he would be back in her arms in no time, after realising what an idiot he had been.

Days turned into weeks, weeks into months and Mara grew colder. She had despaired and eventually couldn’t take the pain of staying in the city any longer, around people who had watched as she had been left alone and couldn’t do anything but sympathise and treat her as though she were fragile and would break down at any moment.

So she had packed a couple of things, found a cottage in a beautiful and remote village on the coast and left. The only reminder she took was the wedding dress, which she had slashed with scissors to the point it was in tatters, a reminder of what had happened to her life. Tatters. All of it. All her dreams, her plans of a family with Antonio...gone.

She grew angry that he was here. That he thought he could act as though he had only been away for a day.

“Look, Mara, I messed up right? Let me at least try and make it up to you.”

Her eyes widened. “How do you think you’re going to achieve that? You already took my life away! Five years down the drain! And then these seven...how could you? How could you leave me? Everyone...everyone saw me. I cried for you. I begged for you to come back. Seven years. I can’t. I’ve moved forward. I’m finally in a place where I feel peace and happiness. You’re not going to come in and just ruin that again. You had your chance.”

Antonio ran a hand through thick black hair, small furrows appearing on his forehead as he looked up at her, his eyes pleading. “I made a mistake. I’ve been abroad. I came back, darling, for you.”

“What were you doing for seven years?”

“I...look I’ll be honest. I was with someone for a couple of those years. But she was nothing. None of them were. But you...my mind still keeps going back to you. I’ve made a mistake and I needed you to know that. I needed to see if we could have another chance.”

Mara thought she would cry but no tears came. She thought she would feel her heart swell at seeing him again but she felt nothing. “You were with other women? Funny, because I wasn’t with any other man. You realised you need me in your life? It’s far too late for that. How did you even find me?”

She was curious. He looked sheepish. “I kept asking your brother for your new address. In truth, I harassed him for it. I never meant to. I just kept following him until he gave in. I needed to see you. But I can see that you are truly happy. Are...are you with anyone?”

Mara looked incredulous. “Why would I need to be with someone to be happy? Why would I need to look for happiness in another person? After what you did to me...you think I would do that to myself? I’m by myself. And I’m happier than I was when I was with you. I’m living a fulfilled life, I have friends, my family come to see me, I go to see them, I have money, a beautiful home and these beautiful cakes that Mrs Devlin makes for me. I need nothing more.”

Antonio looked around with a start and noticed Mrs Devlin standing at the counter, her wise eyes boring into his, instantly making him nervous.

“That is Mrs Devlin?”

“Yes, that is she. She is amazing. Even now, I can feel her strength as she stands there. I haven’t met another woman like her. She’s become an amazing friend to me since I’ve been here.”

Antonio nodded his head to Mrs Devlin, an acknowledgement to say that he was saying hello. She nodded back and looked at Mara.

“Do you need anything, dear?”

Mara smiled gently. “I’m okay, thank you Mrs Devlin. He’s not staying much longer.”

Antonio drew back in his chair, affronted that Mara had already appeared to have made her decision. “It looks like you know what you want, then. I’ll go, but I’m leaving my card with my number on it. We will speak again. And this.”

Antonio reached into his pocket and drew out a small suspicious package wrapped in brown paper. It was neatly wrapped and tied with a pink bow.

“I was supposed to give you this on our wedding night, but obviously I did the stupid thing and ran. Don’t open it until you get home. It’s yours, now and forever. Call me if you have any questions about it. You’re not the only one who had your future planned out, baby. You were in mine also, but I royally screwed things up.”

Mara didn’t touch it. Antonio sighed and stood up, smoothing out any creases in his trousers. He still looked as good as he did seven years ago, although there was something in his eyes. He looked lost. Genuinely lost. Good, Mara thought. Maybe he’d know how she felt all those years ago. After he left her there, desolate.

Antonio moved forwards as though to reach out and hug Mara but then looked like he thought better of it. He nodded stiffly instead. “Contact me if you need to, like I said. I’ll be waiting. I really would like us to try again.”

Mara nodded back. “I’d say it was nice to see you, but honestly, I don’t think I ever need to again. Your sudden appearance here shocked me a little, I’ll admit, but I’m over you. I’m over the life I used to live. I’m not that person any more.”

Antonio just shrugged his shoulders before turning and walking out of the tea shop. Mara let out a long breath she hadn’t realised she’d been holding in. She felt a warm hand on her shoulder. “Tea, dear?”

She looked to see Mrs Devlin smiling gently at her and smiled back. “Yes please. I’d love some company too, if you’re willing.”

“Of course! Give me a minute and I’ll pop right over with that tea.”

Mara sat back down in the armchair, wiggling slightly and enjoying the feeling of sinking into it a little. She looked at the little brown package that still lay on the table. What was it? It looked a little like a jewellery box shape, but slightly bigger. Whatever it was, she wasn’t sure she wanted to know. If she opened it, there would be more questions. Questions that would require answers and that would mean speaking to him again.

Mrs Devlin sat in the chair Antonio had abandoned and set a tea tray down on the table, laden with tea and biscuits, next to the little package. “I wonder what he left for you.”

“Trouble, Mrs Devlin, trouble…”

To be continued...

If you liked this story, please heart, share or leave a tip. Your support is everything!

Series
15

About the Creator

Mariam Naeem

Writer - Short Stories, Poetry

Instagram: instagram.com/mariam.naeem256

Twitter: Twitter.com/MariamNAuthor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.