Fiction logo

The Lost Humanity

A tale of isolation.

By Stephanie Colella Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I wandered alone for what seemed like weeks before collapsing at the foot of the beach. My soles were worn, my skin burned, and my body was just going through the motions. Alone, hungry, tired, and lost. My mind seemed empty. When was the last time I ate? When was the last time I saw another person? When was the last time I heard someone call my name, Alexandria?

It was about a year ago the world ended. A toxin was released into our sewers, pipes, oceans, and all bodies of water. We couldn't escape it. Those who drank the water became either sick and died right away or became something else. The first mutation was rage. People seemed normal and then would begin killing. The second wave, people became monsters. I call them "Beasts" for lack of a better name. Their faces slowly started to distort and they grew extra limbs with claws. After a few weeks, they fully became monsters, who were fast as a cheetah, could climb buildings, and could attack anyone in seconds. They developed fur and heightened senses.

Our world was far from perfect, but who would do this to us? I was stationed in a housing project in the middle of nowhere when the world went mad and dark. I was working on a science experience with isolated habitats. I didn't know about what was going on outside until someone knocked on my big, red door. His name was Edwardo. He was a kind man, with long, black hair, and eyes as dark as night. He too was removed from civilization on his own terms. He told me about the poisoned water and monsters that followed. He also said there was no one else left. He had searched for weeks, before he met me. He stayed for two months and we became like family. We ate all our meals together, discussed former politics, sang songs, and were overall happy with each other's company. It was a cold, rainy day when he said he would return with food and supplies. That was three months ago. I imagined the worst. Once again, I was alone.

I tucked my long blonde hair behind my ears and stared off into the ocean. I didn't dear step closer because I knew what evil lurked in the water. I tested the water everywhere I went and it was always poisoned. I had my own water supply back at my residence. It was tucked deep into the forest. My supply was getting low so it was time to venture out.

As I took a long breathe and watched the water ripple, a glimmer caught my eye in the sand. I climbed over the railing and sat on the beach for a moment. I never lingered more than a few seconds because of the beasts that roamed the land.

There it was though, a perfectly intact heart-shaped locket. It was gold and had roses engraved on it. It made me smile and remember a simpler time. I opened it and inside was a picture of a happy couple on their wedding day. It was from the 40's. It made me smile for a moment.

The waves became to hit harder and I knew it was time to go. I couldn't risk any water in my direction. I saw first-hand what happened to a woman, who got too close. Within seconds, she was manic and attacking the few survivors in her path. That was the last time I saw people. Edwardo told me about watching people change into the beasts. I could hear them not to far from me. They now travel in packs. It was time to go.

As I ventured back to my hiding spot, I passed a store that still had chips. I grabbed a bag and ripped it open. As I indulged in stale chips, I began to cry. I cried for humanity, I cried for Edwardo, I cried for myself. I took a sip of a water bottle, that I checked for poison, and headed back to my secluded home.

After days of wandering, ducking from beasts, and collecting enough food and supply to last me, I was home. My home was hidden well into the forest, but something seemed different. As I stalked to the front door, it opened before I could touch the handle. My heart began racing. This was it. My world was about to end and I didn't have the strength to fight it.

A face appeared and greeted me with a strong, tearful hug. It was Edwardo. The embrace lasted forever. He was my safety. He apologized for getting lost and told me all his tales. He promised to never leave my side again. We then went inside and closed the big, red door to the scary world that was our own.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.