Fiction logo

The Lonely Highway

-

By Misha AlslebenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by @worldsbetweenlines Patrick Hendry

" Kid, I remember that night like it was this morning ;

My trucks engine roar grew quieter leaving only the crickets outside to keep me company as I came to a stop on the offramp on 86. I sighed looking at the dark night sky, miles of lonely highway before me. I hated stopping at night but a violation could cause me to lose my job or at the very least a very expensive ticket.

Fog settled to the ground as the moon rose in the distance. Adjusting my seat looking to the right of the offramp I noticed there was a cornfield for miles with what looked like a human figure in the distance. I figured it aws a scarecrow put up for kids to enjoy or something. Glancing at my dash I noted again that it was in fact almost midnight, returing my stare out the window only to see the figure was gone. After checking the locks I sat back rubbing my face vigourously as if I could rub off the tired , grabbing my grown out beard that had been irritating me for the last hour and week before that I decided it was time. Reaching up into my glovebox I grabbed my trimmers and a small hand towel. I tried to tell myself not to but I couldn't help myself for whatever reason. I glanced out the window only to find myself hastily squinting through the window like a kid looking into a candy store. Out into the cornfield again. There in the distance but I swear a little closer sat the same figure from before. Surely no one was working in a cornfield this late. Dropping my trimmers I bent down to grab them , grabbing my metal bat with them and securing it in the center console of the truck; only to return my gaze out my window to find the figure gone. I felt my heart rate spike but told myself I was being childish like when my brother and I were 10 and 11 and thought a monster was going to get us from behind in the dark as we ran to our beds. Ignoring the waves of real anxiety that were running through me. I told myself I was trimming my beard and going to sleep, and so I did eventually anywawy. Trimming turned into chopping it all off because I was in a hurry to go to sleep, then get off that offramp. Something sinister was in the air that night even if I can't say what. Luck of the draw had it that nature called instead. I have never not wanted to pee somewhere in all my life but again told myself I was being childish. No sooner than my boots hit the ground did I see that same figure in the cornfield again only much closer this time, though still cloaked in darkness. I quickly did my business never taking my eyes off that figure. That is until the stupid night owl swooped down for a midnight mouse snack and hoo hoo'd until she reached her tree nearby, scared the shit out of me I swear. After watching that damn owl retreat I could hear my heartrace as it thumped from the startle of that feathery fuck. I turn back to the cornfield and you know what I see? Nothing , Nothing but a cornfield and darkness. Got in my truck faster than I ever have, high tailed it up the highway to a well lit very busy Pilot gas station , screw the violation , I'll pay it. I havn't stopped on the side of the highway or a offramp since, and I recommend you don't either rookie, got that? "

Horror
1

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.