Fiction logo

The littlest stowaway

A lucky passenger on the Titanic

By D-DonohoePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo 35998313 © Mikelane45 | Dreamstime.com

I’ve heard humans use the phrase “as flash as a rat with a gold tooth”, well I don’t have a gold tooth, but I’m still feeling like a fancy rat with the best luck in the world right now.

The docks around Southampton this April have been slim pickings for weeks. A few scraps here and there, but nothing to really sustain a young rodent, especially with that coal strike. Then lo and behold, a crate of food just sitting there. The smell was intoxicating and overpowering, so I climbed in for a nibble. Before I knew it the crate was moving through the air, I looked out and caught a glimpse of where it was going. The largest ship I have ever seen, all new and shiny.

I stayed out of sight until I was in a more natural habitat, dark and quiet. It was so tempting to come out and have a look at all the smells of sumptuous treats, when I did, I was in heaven. There was meat, fruit, bread, cakes, and so many other delicacies that I was sure I was having a dream. There are still lots of other rats here, but more than enough good food to go around.

I had the best feed of my life, then a long sleep was in order. I was awoken from my slumber by a loud horn sounding. I could hear humans hollering and cheering, the whole room felt like it was moving around, a little bit unsettling at first, but the longer we went on the more I got used to it.

I went to explore my surroundings and found all sorts of wonders. There are piles of spare mattresses that will make a comfortable bed (and late-night snack), the boilers might be a nice place to stay when it gets too cold, I even came across a nice automobile but there were some humans in there a bit steamy on the windows though.

On the way back to my food supply I had a near miss. I came across several other rats also out exploring when I heard the familiar hiss of a cat. Alas, one of my brothers was not so lucky, with a swipe of its paw and a chomp of its jaw my brother was gone. I heard a human voice yelling out excitedly:

“Good work Jenny, earning your keep and the food for your kittens”

Jenny certainly didn’t look like she needed to be hunting us, she was plump and clearly a favorite of the crew. I knew from then I’d have to be more careful. I might have to make sure I’m hanging around with the slower older rats if I venture too far from now on.

Well, I haven’t felt the need to explore too much the last few days, I have been munching through this food, sleeping, and occasionally when I hear a human I run and hide. It is warm down here and I’m more comfortable than I have ever been. I think I will stay here forever; nothing could ever change my mind that this is the best…

BANG! CRASH!

What was that?

Loud noises, something isn’t right. I’d better have a feed. Mmmm, I found the cheese! I do love cheese.

Wait. Where did that water come from? I do not like water. Ooooh, and it’s a bit cold. I think I will follow my brother's lead and start moving, once I have had a little bit more of this cheese.

Oh, the water is getting higher now, I think I had better find somewhere dry to stay. What’s up here? Ah, that’s a lot better, much drier. Hang on, why are all the humans running around so crazy, better hide. I don’t need any of them stepping on me.

I might go over this way, looks like a dining room. Hang on, more humans. But hey, they have dropped their food. Yum. Is this some sort of dessert? Delicious! Wait, more of that cold water. Where is it coming from?

Out that door and into the fresh air. It’s a bit chilly out here; not as nice and warm as down below. More people, lots of yelling, and is that a band playing over there? Don’t get me wrong, very delightful music but I think you humans need to figure out what you’re doing.

Oh crap, what was that? This ship is going down, down, down. Aggghhh, I'm in this cold water now, not that good at swimming. I think that’s a door floating over there with a human on it. Nope, she won’t let me on.

Maybe I’m not that lucky after all

What would have been a happier ending

You can read more about all the animals on board the Titanic at a number of resources:

Historical
3

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.