Fiction logo

The last survivor

A journey through a post-apocalypse world

By SuccessPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 10 min read
3
The last survivor
Photo by Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

I rose to the tops of the hills and was covered by the clouds, not able to see the land under me. Nonetheless, I was familiar with the electrifying experience of going to the peak of the globe, bordered by marvelous clouds. It was an amazing experience.

I stayed stable for a prolonged duration, revealed to the relentless sunshine. The extreme warmth at some point took its toll, causing my eyelids to sag and my body to catch sleep. Hours passed and I was quickly awakened, as I was being moved by a team of people right into the nearby town I had been intending to get to.

I invested a day with them, appreciating their friendliness and making use of their kindness. They supplied me with food and a comfy location to remainder. Complying with early morning, I laid out once more for the hills, all set to deal with the tough surface that lay in advance. With resolution and determination, I started my climb, really feeling a feeling of success as I got over each challenge and continued to climb up greater. My leg, and without a doubt my whole body, really felt more powerful and extra qualified than ever.

I ventured forth from my town, looking for a much better perspective. My trip took me to a strange surface, a surrounding town, which lay past a tough landscape. The course was laden with threat, winding with hillsides that, though smaller sized than the far-off hills, still positioned a powerful barrier. A solitary mistake on the rough surface sent me rolling down the hill, bordered by a swirling cloud of dust and rocks.

Upon my go back to my town, I aspired to share my experiences with my enjoyed ones. Nevertheless, my story was disrupted by the audio of screams and the scent of smoke. The skies were quickly full of fires that engulfed our homes, and we were entrapped. We hysterically looked for an escape, yet every course caused a wall surface of fire that appeared impervious. Despite our initiatives, we were not able to discover a space in the snake pit that bordered us, leaving us without any option but to see in scary as our town melted to the ground.

I experienced an additional wave of discomfort and passed out once more. When I pertained to it, I located the citizens collected around my leg. It had transformed a glittering gold shade and I could not feel any type of experience in it. I lifted in shock, and to my wonder, my leg sustained me with unbelievable stamina. Baffled, I asked the citizens what had taken place. They notified me that they knew an old treatment from a medicine man who formerly stayed in the town that might conserve me from particular fatality.

My leg remained in an extreme problem, and this was their only hope. Although they had never tried it in the past, they chose to attempt it. The components consisted of gold, red berries, rosemary, and a creeping plant of lavender tone that expanded deep within the timbers. They put this mix right into my injuries, leaving me to indulge in the sunlight's rays. Astonishingly, I was recovered.

Majestic hill comes to a head loomed over my town, their snow-capped tops cleaning the skies like mild titans. Their imposing existence was a continuous tip of their untouchable elevation, leaving me amazed and marvel. Regardless of their relatively obtainable heights, I recognized that their real size was past my understanding.

The residents suggested I stay clear of gold in any way prices, as it would certainly threaten my freshly gotten recovery capacities. Regardless of the threatening tone of their caution, I could not assist however really felt a feeling of alleviation and appreciation. Besides, being recovered was a true blessing per se. Yet, the method they phrased it, with a focus on words "constantly," made me question if there was even more to the tale. Existed a catch to this amazing recovery power?

I broke down right into a lot, my body damaged and wounded. The scorching sunlight depressed me, making my skin seem like it got on fire. My leg was aflame differently, pulsating with discomfort. I attempted to stand up, yet my leg provided below me, firing intense experiences via my whole body. I had harmed myself, leaving me incapable of strolling, and I was alone, without one visible to aid.

I was proper in my presumption. Whenever I experienced a dangerous scenario, I would certainly recuperate swiftly, supplied that gold did not enter call with me. Adhering to such experiences, I would certainly move to a various city or, if I had been residing in one area for a prolonged period, I would certainly transfer to a brand-new city. This was needed to prevent elevating uncertainties concerning my agelessness and everlasting life. I intentionally prevented collecting a wide range, as gold was the one compound that might damage me.

Afterward, she died. There was absolutely nothing dubious or fierce concerning her fatality. No blaze tool or projectile was entailed. Her heart just discontinued to operate. And unexpectedly, I located myself alone once again.

The refined pink tone of her lips was a welcome comparison to the rich plant bordering us, and her fascinating eco-friendly eyes were a view to lay eyes on. Her skin was as soft and fragile as a flower, and her existence brought me a feeling of delight I had never experienced prior to.

I established out on my pursuit for gold, hiking via thick forests and woodlands that appeared to extend on permanently. Days developed into weeks, weeks right into months, and months right into years. The rich plant ultimately paved the way to barren deserts, without any type of indicators of life. The once-verdant lands were currently tarnished red with the blood of the numerous people who had fulfilled their deaths.

I proceeded my search, straying with the barren landscape, not able to get away from the sensation of being caught. As I circled the world, I understood that this was all that stayed. The structures that as soon grabbed the skies currently stock damages and the hills that were as soon as marvelous were lowered to debris. The skies themselves had shed its lively blue color, changed by a plain grey. The globe was quiet, lacking any type of audio. The gold I looked for was no place to be located, and mankind had produced its very own failure. All that was left was the barren landscape that bordered me.

The deficiency of gold and various other valuable sources had gotten to dilemma degrees, and stress amongst human beings was running high. I recognized I needed to act promptly to protect some gold before it disappeared totally. I could not birth the idea of remaining to exist in a globe where such beneficial sources were diminished. I figured out to finish my presence if required, however the opportunity of a brand-new presence yet one provided me wish. Particularly if she were to be a component of it.

I had to locate work that fit me, yet I promptly understood that I was required to make stable earnings to keep my way of living. Sadly, my brand-new homes were continuously robbed, and my financial savings were taken. The 4th burglary was especially terrible, as a guy struck me and left me with a blade injury in my abdominal area. As I insinuated and out of awareness, I could not assist yet question if I would certainly endure.

I have experienced a couple of close phone calls lately. A conflict with a guy possessing a tiny grey tool on the road left me feeling trembling. Furthermore, a fire burst out among the looming high-rise buildings, creating turmoil. Finally, I have been the target of several thefts, leaving me feeling susceptible and worried.

As time passed, I located myself alone, bordered by the decreasing forests and woodlands that were as soon as including life. I held on to the hope that my shed love would certainly someday go back to me, however deep down, I understood it was a useless dream. In my heart, I wanted to locate one more like her, somebody to share my life with and restore the delight that had been shed. Yet as the years passed, my hope started to perish away, similar to the woodland that was swiftly reducing around me. The stories I spoke with vacationers that went through repainted a grim image of a globe in decrease, where sources were diminished and the appeal of nature was gradually going away.

I continued my trip, discovering brand-new areas, and seeing them expand and progress. Hills paved the way to metropolitan areas, with looming high-rise buildings currently grabbing the skies. The once-pristine perspective was currently populated with streamlined, metal airplanes, transporting individuals around the world. This wonder of human resourcefulness, the plane, had transformed transport, however likewise included a threat, as makers and guys occasionally failed. Yet, undeterred, mankind remained to introduce and press limits.

I experienced a woman traveler in the thick forest. She presented herself as a traveler, and my first impulse was to maintain my range. Nevertheless, her cozy and mild attitude made me comfortable, and I located myself attracted to her. She had a pressing curiosity, and I was more than delighted to share my experiences and understandings with her. She was excited by my proficiency, and we invested a significant quantity of time with each other. As soon as I did not feel the requirement to range myself from one more individual. Rather, I desired her to remain by my side, constantly.

We collected in the town square, a team of people, and accepted each other firmly as we paid attention to the horrified weeps of our next-door neighbors all over us. The noise of the fires expanded louder and louder, and we could not assist however weep as the fact of the circumstance sank in.

I chose a life in the wild, far from uncontrolled developments and concrete forests. The natural environments of woodlands and forests supplied me with a feeling of peacefulness and liberty. I delighted in the lively shades of eco-friendly, as long as they weren't polluted by red. Furthermore, I can avoid the visibility of individuals and lead a reasonably private life, without the demand for constant moving.

We were at some point based on their touch, which stirred up an unbearable burning experience. Our weeps of torture were currently resembling in our very own voices. The extreme warmth and hot discomfort were practically way too much to birth. Our screams progressively discolored as our breath was drawn from us, one at a time, till just a couple of were left. Quickly, it was simply me and another individual still shrieking. And afterward, instantly, all was silent as my eyes were compelled to close once more.

As I arose from my sleep, my eyes felt completely dry and abrasive, my body weak and aching. Gradually, I stayed up, scrunching up my eyes right into the darkness that bordered me. The descriptions of charred numbers entered into emphasis, their serenity a grim suggestion of the destruction that had happened. Yet, inexplicably, I discovered myself relocating and taking a breath, despite the devastation that lay all over me. With a newly found feeling of decision, I drew myself to my feet and made my method to the river, where I satiated my thirst and restored my toughness, equally as I had before my eventful climb. The secret of my survival continued to be unresolved, however, I figured out how to discover it.

I transferred to various towns, maintaining my past a trick. I merely pointed out that I had been displaced. I lived there for a prolonged duration. Someday, a surrounding town released a shock strike, with armed guys on horseback. I enjoyed it scary as a lot of my associates were up to the ground like sacks of rice. A silver arrowhead whooshed through the air and struck my breast, creating extremely painful discomfort that drained pipes the life from me. My lungs tightened up, and I fell.

I arise from my rest to discover myself in the middle of a terrible scene, with injured bodies spread throughout the verdant landscape. The lively, polka-dotted pattern of red and environment-friendly appeared to attack my vision, and this distressing experience would certainly permanently taint my understanding of Christmas, a vacation that would certainly later on end up being a substantial component of my life. "Engulfed in the desert's parched silence, I was nothing but another

HistoricalShort StorySci FiMysteryFantasyFan FictionFableExcerptAdventure
3

About the Creator

Success

Over five years ago, I began writing. As well as writing, I am a social media marketer. My writing helps me create engaging, entertaining, and informative content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Keep writing, your story is interesting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.