Fiction logo

The Last Story

emotional fiction

By sayan ghoshPublished 8 days ago 5 min read
Like

The last story

My name is Sonam, I am a dance teacher or you can say special dance teacher because I can't say where. Yes, but I can hear that I was one of my teachers, Joseph sir, because of his efforts, I have become what I am today. He is no longer with us. He died last week. He was suffering from cancer. On my birthday last month, a bunch of flowers came and you gave me a piece of paper saying don't open it now, it has a gift inside it, open it when I'm not here, after that today sir is not with us, not to get the gift sir where is it? I remember very much. So I opened the paper, and it was written there, send your gift to Joshap Special School and bring it.

I went to the school to introduce myself and the teacher recognized me and said yes, sir has left something for you and said you will come to pick it up when he is not there. He put me in a class room and brought that gift. There was a diary on top of which was written "the last story".

I understand that sir has written something in this diary and when he gave it to me, it will definitely be my concern. I quickly sat there and started reading. I have shared some parts of it with you.

As described by Sir, my name is Joseph D'Souza. I am an art teacher, I work at Saint Peter's school, it has been a week today. A strange thing happened or talked to someone today. After finishing the assembly, today was not a serious task. There is a small field inside the school and there is a place to sit. I was sitting there and drawing nature pictures. At that time, a baby girl of year 5 came running and hugged me. It seemed that he was very scared and wanted to hug me to save me and say save me. What can I say that the baby looks so beautiful. I caressed him a little and asked him what is your name and which class do you study in. But after asking many times, I didn't get any answer from him, then suddenly another female voice came from behind, her name is Sonam and she can't speak sir.

I looked at the kid in surprise. Her mother said I want to get Sonam admitted in this school, but the admission department says she is a special student to get admitted in a special school, so she was leaving with her mother in her arms. I ran to them and told them to wait a little, then I went to the principal sir, the principal sir did not want to understand at first, many people told me that I will raise this child like normal children and he has the right to grow up like normal children.Sir told me ok then you take the responsibility and if he results like all children in half yearly I will keep him in school but he has to go to special school and get admission, I took up the challenge. What did I say to Sonam's mother, you should admit her, Sir said to keep her under observation until the half yearly exam. I want to try once to see if he can be given a normal life, his mother did not say anything but dropped two drops of water in her eyes and went to bow down to me. I said no no why are you bowing I just tried to be her friend. This is the beginning of my story of Sonam.

But it was not so easy. All the teachers started saying that Sonam doesn't understand any of our teaching. And the biggest thing is that we don't understand how much they understand and how much they don't understand. I used to see Sonam outside the class most days. This is how the result of fisrt term came out, Sonam could not pass any subject. Sunam's mother was called again. I told Sonam's mother, if you do this, you cannot be kept in school. He cried and said sir please do something. Her father is dead, what should I do with this girl, I don't want her to understand the society. I started giving special classes to Sonam in school too. I told the teachers in the school that I will teach Sunam, you share the notes you have with me and I will teach him.

But that doesn't help, Sonam is not getting anything, she can't remember anything, she is failing in everything in the class test. I can't teach you what I said. can't you do anything you lose me I kicked him out. In the afternoon, I am sitting alone, very upset. I fell in love with Sonam very much these days. A child gave me a small paper and said, Sonam has given you sir. It was written there, I will be a dancer. I like to dance very much. Please help me, I ran to Sonam.

I told Sonam you can dance, you can remember all the dance steps, you can listen to the rhythm of any song. He bowed his head and shook his neck. I said let's take him to an empty classroom and played a song in front of him. At first she hesitated to dance but fell in when I told her this is the chance and I can't help you after that Sonam. Even then, she danced to me, I can't explain how wonderful that dance is, a new roadwas opened in front of me, I ran and hugged her and said, "You have given me a great gift today." Thank you baby.

We arranged a dance competition in the school. And Sonam was admitted to a very big dance institution. He surprised everyone and got the fast position in that dance competition. And his new journey began.

But just dancing is not enough, you have to study. I recited it and started teaching him to his surprise and he started remembering everything. half yearly result day and passed in all subjects. He was kept in our school. And I won another test.

After reading the diary, I saw many blank pages. Then after many pages I wrote, today I am very happy today sonam has become a great dancer. Many big institutions have made their own. Go and perform at national level. I run a small school where some outstanding students study. I am 65 now I can neither see nor hear properly but when my Sonam comes to me I understand. I have been diagnosed with cancer. Sonam comes to me everyday. The doctor said I should smile and be happy. So Rose comes to me and teaches me dance at this old age. No I can't but I think I can ask God to stop that time. And as he hugged me 30 years ago and said I want to live. I hug her and say that I want to live, I want to live with you.

There was nothing else written there. There was a paper. It was a property paper. All his property was given to me. At the end it was written, you see my school, but I did not lose, you should never lose. And let this not be the last story.

I am sitting alone and crying. A kid gave me a chocolate and hugged me telling me not to cry. And began, a new chapter, a new story.

Short StoryYoung AdultLoveFantasyfamilyClassical
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake8 days ago

    So emotional. Loved your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.