Fiction logo

The Last House

The last house on the hill had always been shrouded in mystery. For as long as anyone could remember, it had stood vacant, its windows boarded up and its doors chained shut.

By Tejas AryaPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
2
The Last House
Photo by Alexey Malakhov on Unsplash

The last house on the hill had always been shrouded in mystery. For as long as anyone could remember, it had stood vacant, its windows boarded up and its doors chained shut. Some whispered that it was cursed, while others speculated that it was haunted by the ghosts of its former inhabitants.

As a curious young girl, I had always been fascinated by the abandoned house. I would often stand at the bottom of the hill, gazing up at its dark silhouette against the fading light of the setting sun. I would imagine all sorts of stories about the people who had once lived there and the secrets that lay hidden within its walls.

One day, my curiosity got the best of me. I decided that I had to see the inside of the house for myself. Gathering my courage, I made my way up the steep hill and stood before the chained doors of the mysterious house. With a deep breath, I pushed against the heavy doors, and they creaked open with a sound that echoed through the empty halls.

Inside, the house was as dark and foreboding as I had imagined. The air was thick with dust and the musty scent of neglect. As I cautiously made my way through the silent rooms, my heart raced with excitement and fear.

Suddenly, I heard a noise. It was a faint, muffled sound coming from somewhere deep within the house. My curiosity piqued, I followed the sound, down a long, winding hallway, and through a narrow door.

There, in the dim light of a single flickering candle, I saw her. A woman, dressed in tattered clothes, huddled in the corner of a small room. She looked up at me with haunted eyes, and I could see the fear and desperation etched on her face.

Without a word, I slowly approached her, my heart heavy with pity and concern. She whispered something incoherent, and I realized that she was speaking in a language that I did not understand.

For days, I visited the mysterious woman in the last house on the hill. I brought her food and water, and tried to communicate with her as best I could. Gradually, she began to open up to me, and I learned that she had been trapped in the house for years, unable to escape.

Together, we searched the house for a way out, but all the doors and windows were sealed shut. It seemed that we were both doomed to spend eternity in the last house on the hill.

Then, one day, we stumbled upon an old, forgotten staircase leading up to the attic. With a sense of hope, we climbed the stairs, and there, in a dusty corner of the attic, we found an old key.

With trembling hands, I unlocked the door at the end of the hall, and we stepped out onto the roof of the house. As we gazed out at the sprawling landscape below, we both felt a sense of freedom and exhilaration.

Together, we made our way down the hill, hand in hand, and into the light of a new day. The last house on the hill was no longer a place of fear and darkness, but a symbol of hope and new beginnings.

In the years that followed, I never forgot the woman I had rescued from the last house on the hill. Though we had gone our separate ways, I knew that our paths would cross again one day.

And when they did, I saw that she had been transformed. No longer haunted by the ghosts of her past, she was a woman of strength and resilience, living her life with a sense of purpose and joy.

Together, we looked out at the world before us, and knew that anything was possible. For in the darkness of the last house on the hill

HistoricalFantasyFan FictionfamilyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.