Fiction logo

The Land of the Cemeteries novel

the story of the unknown ring

By ABDOPublished 11 months ago 7 min read
Like
The Land of the Cemeteries novel
Photo by Steven Weeks on Unsplash

The human soul is inclined to money and valuables, and to collect them. This is mentioned in the Qur’an, as well as the worldly desire to collect money and collect it in any way, which is something known. However, as they say in the proverbs: “The ends are similar and the paths are different,” because a person must take care in his life of greed and greed that can lead him “beyond the sun.”

My name is Islam, Islam Saleh, an agricultural engineer from Mansoura, but my work conditions force me to live in Cairo. My family is all in Mansoura, including my wife and children. My work provides me with an average income to some extent, and I usually send money to my wife due to the difficulty of traveling for long periods. One day, my colleague Mahmoud entered my office and said with an eager and happy voice: Islam, we are finally going to work on the new project. I told him: “What is the new project?” He replied, “The reclamation project in the south of Fayoum, and I am pleased because the state has high expectations on it and needs it as soon as possible, and of course, you know that if we ask for a high price to work seriously, they will agree.” I smiled and said to him. : "It's very easy!", And indeed, I received an official notice from the company manager informing me that I will be moving to work on the new reclamation project with Mahmoud, Yasser, Akmal, and some workers and delegates from other companies, etc. I will not go into many details, but we prepared quickly and moved to the new place of work. And on the third day, we were on-site and ready to work, and we were working hard and diligently with the workers. A week later, the financial manager came and met with Akmal, as he is considered the eldest among us. After the meeting, Akmal returned with clear anger on him. Mahmoud gently asked him: "Is everything alright, Bashmohandes?" He replied with a smile: "Yes, God willing, I don't know where to start, guys, but the financial manager says that the terms of the contract and the budget will not allow any increase in salaries." We have all become frustrated, and have lost the enthusiasm and dedication with which we set out. After the work was done, and when the sun was setting, three men came in robes and rustic or Saidi clothes. Mahmoud and I received them at the break, and they started talking. One of them spoke, saying: "We are from the region and have lived here for a long time, we, our grandfathers and our great-grandfathers. The project that you and your company are planning in the region must stop because it will bring ruin and destruction not only to you, but to the entire village, and perhaps to the country as well." I sat not understanding anything, I came to reply and tell him to explain more Mahmoud Sahbi preceded me and said thank you, Hajj. If we need something, we will talk to you. You can please. I looked at him quickly and told him what you are saying.

I went into the room to sleep, and all night I thought of the man's words but came to no conclusion. I slept and got up the next day to scout the site, and as I walked around, I noticed something shining in the distance, a red color similar to blood. I approached to find that the source of the color was coming from inside a cave in the area and when I entered the cave I discovered a ring, a red ring emitting a red light like a burning ember. When I slowly touched the ring, it suddenly changed color to gold, and it contained a diamond. she was very beautiful. I quickly stashed it in my pocket and returned to the restroom, where I put it in the desk drawer. I had lunch and felt a strong urge to sleep, so I lay down and fell asleep deeply. I woke up the next day to see the ring lying on the desk again, and it was red again. The diamond part in it radiated a red light like it was written on the wall in so many letters (m-a-m-and-n-a-b-n-m -l-k-a-l-sh-y-a-i-y-n-and-a-l-j-n-l-and-s-y-f-r-y-a-m-r -k-m-b-t-s-d-y-m-a-l-s-r-a-b-y-n-l-s-y-d-e) “Mamun, son of the king of demons and jinn He commands you to make offerings to his master."

"Fear.. panic. I don't understand anything. I feel paralyzed in thinking. All I could do was speak to Mahmoud and tell him, and his response was as follows.." Oh Islam, oh Islam, you're joking, what fear, my son? You sell this ring and think about your daughter, Islam. Do not forget that you have a daughter who is entitled to marriage, and you must prepare her. Also, uncle, the owners of the project laughed at us, and this salary is not enough for you. I was somewhat convinced of Mahmoud’s words, but there was still doubt in my heart, so I went home. I put the ring inside the wheel and slept. I woke up to the sound of a shower and kneeling and a strange sound like that, I got up and found myself in cemeteries. Oh cemeteries, there are a lot of cemeteries and the moon as it is not there, but in a red light coming from a far cemetery, I started walking.. the weather It was dark and the clouds were very thick, and suddenly behind me I heard the sound of a dog... Oh, what is missing? Of the people who are afraid of dogs, I rolled on the ground and dressed like a little child and grabbed a brick and threw it at them, but it was clear that it provoked them more and they began to bark, and from a distance, I heard the sound of the morning call to prayer..they ran, oh, they ran, I thank God that He saved me from them, and I walked until I reached the door The cemeteries, and as soon as I left the door, I discovered that everything had disappeared, the cemeteries, the dogs and everything, even the moon appeared again, but where did you find me now? I am in the land..the land of the project, I do not know how or when I got here, the important thing is that I came back to rest again, and I have a million questions in my mind and I do not know how to act... This ring is clear that there is a big secret behind it and it is clear that I have been stapled, but not I don't know what to do, the ring interrupted my thoughts..the ring is on the desk, I'm sure I put it in the cupboard, how and when did it come out on the desk. I don't know. I don't know..like last time, the diamond is red like blood and the light is visible on the wall again But this time, only one sentence was written: “The First Communion” 😈💀

“The first communion or the owner of the ring” This is the sentence I read when it appeared on the wall, and I no longer understood that he was asking me what it meant. I was going to be late. What happened to you, you seem to be doing this, why did I tell him no, I was a little tired. I found him telling me what are your nostrils, what are they? I didn't want to stop, where and where did I stop? Tall for humans, no, this is extra long and wide, and it has black wings, despite the darkness of the place. I was in it, but I saw a face. He put the ring in my hand and said, “Welcome to you, new owner.” Frightened, I thanked God that it was just a dream, and I quickly took a shower because I would be late for work. I entered the bathroom and tried to look at my back in the mirror, but I...the needles were in place, I had a tattoo on my back...this...the ring...printed on my back and in the middle I am not at the peak of my concentration looking in the mirror, a dead person appeared in it... I got scared and went out to run, but the bathroom door does not open, the door does not want to open... from behind the curtain of the bathroom I hear the sound of running water and it is also clear that someone is taking a shower and the water is somewhere He is taking a shower. She started to come down from the bathtub to the bathroom floor, but this is not water... This is blood..! I called him and told him.. who are you...! At this moment, I heard a scream...a scream from hell. I fell on the floor of the bathroom and I was shocked. Suddenly the shower curtain opened and there appeared in the bathtub...corpses...! Oh, by God, corpses.. too many corpses, and.. and burnt..! And they began to move and come closer to me. There came out from them a sound of pain and screams and curiosity. They approached me to the extent that they all surrounded me with their burnt confusion, their terrifying voices, and their charred bodies, which were all blood. Surely, this is my end for sure.

Fan FictionShort StoryHorrorHistorical
Like

About the Creator

ABDO

Professional article writer and designer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.