Fiction logo

The Land of Men and Monsters

Eladine's Journey

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 2 years ago 21 min read
2

This is an extended version of my part in the Winter Challenge I wrote for a Vocal collaboration. I have omitted certain details and changed aspects of the storyline so as not to plagiarize anything from my fellow writers. This was the idea I had in my mind when I read the first part written by Lena. It is a more complete telling of the concept and is my original creation that is loosely based on concepts presented in Lena's first part.

My name is Eladine, my people are dying and it is up to me to return balance to a turbulent world.

I stared back at the frozen forest that veiled my village, past the great expanse of ice I’ve left behind. In the light of a full moon, it sparkled in the darkness. This ice tundra veiled my people from the world beyond, protected by a magical force as old as the world itself. I passed the invisible boundary and survived, which is more than I can for others who have tried. My previous day's efforts could be felt in every limb, I ached and my fingers were frozen to the bone.

This journey would not be easy, and what I've already faced terrified me to no end. The beast protecting my people had taken shape as a monstrous white wolf with pale, moon-like eyes, now beckoned me from the forest at the base of the mountain. My feet were planted to the ground. It's pale eyes daring me to give up, and daring me to proceed.

My pack lay beside me in the snow, laden with provisions and the protection charms sent with me to stave off the dark forces who would see me fail. Some have called them demons. We call them the Iblis. They hunt in the forest beyond our invisible boundary line, the sheet of ice I had just left behind. The malicious Iblis claim any who dare to pass into their territory, possessing their bodies to wander like zombies until the environment claimed them in death. Shadows within the woods, the Iblis took gruesome forms with twisted limbs. Their claws and ravenous appetites for human souls drove them mad with hunger and the hunt.

I prayed to the Earth that it would not be my fate to end in such a horrific way, and that the wolf would come to my aid in case we encountered them. This beast, an immortal, changeling that chose life or death for my people was neither kind nor cruel, but indifferent to us most of the time, remaining in the space between the worlds. We could not fathom it's intentions or determine why it chose to spare some and take others, and we didn't question it.

I took several deep breaths to steady myself. The land of men and monsters, over the mountain pass, which my people, living in such an isolated place among the cold North, were fortunate enough not to have to interact with. However, we are connected to all living beings, and the mind sickness that plagues us, transforming human beings into feral beasts capable of committing unspeakable horrors before they perish, had come from that land. So that is where I must go now.

I placed one foot in front of the other, thinking only of our collective survival. Everyone depends on my success. What I searched for exactly, I could not say. That part of my journey had not been made clear to me, even though I have been preparing for this my entire life. I slung the pack around my neck and trudged onward, glancing back a second time in case I never made my way back to this spot. I wanted to remember this moment.

In the darkness, under the cover of dense trees, the full moon cast slivers of light through the canopy. I felt certain that shadow creatures were all around me, biding their time before the hunt. Flickers in the moon rays to my right made me freeze instinctually. I listened, and waited. No other noises followed so I resumed my pace. The snow thickened under my feet as I crept deeper into the woods.

I was given a strong name. Eladine is the name of our land, our sanctuary, and now our prison. Eladine was once a beautiful kingdom before the sickness plagued us, a thriving, lush oasis teeming with life. They named me this as a means of giving hope to the few survivors left, forgotten by the world.

The wolf was nowhere to be seen, but the connection it had with my thoughts remained. I knew it was close by, watching me, waiting to see if I had the courage needed for such a daunting and possibly suicidal journey. This land housed no protections for me. It belonged to the Iblis, a long swath of Earth that had prevented any interaction from the outside world reaching our people and our village. We used to hear screams coming from this forest in the early days of our seclusion. Screams of men who dared to test their fate. In the end, they all perished.

I wish it were easy enough to say that we were safe within our borders, we were not. The lingering connection between all beings still affected our way of life and something terrible is plaguing the world. We know, because it is affecting us as well. The mind sickness. That’s why I am here, wandering this possessed patch of Earth with an ancient being pretending to be a wolf.

The sensation crept into my thoughts like smoke. It was subtle and slippery, but I could feel it. Snaking its way through my mind, searching for the fear I was trying desperately to bury so that I could keep moving forward. A hissing noise reached my ear, to my left, and I paused again. This time I dropped to the ground, eying the forest to see if the moonbeams were disturbed, waiting for the Iblis I knew had been tracking me since crossing into the tree line of the woods.

My breath puffed out in small bursts, trailing through the moonbeams like smoke. I could feel my fingers again. They tingled uncomfortably in the cold and the hair around my face had become stiffened brittle by frost. Even my woolen scarf wasn't enough to keep out the frigid weather of this frozen landscape. I shifted my weight and a loud crack under my foot lifted something up in the snow. Upon further inspection, I realized it was a bone and my heart pounded like war drums.

Reaching into my pack in a frenzy, I gripped the charm necklace and pulled it to my thumping chest. Carved figures, beads and wrapped herbs that my people had prayed over for my safe return dangled in between my shaking, and frozen fingers. It brought me peace to have them so close to me now. And then I saw it. Movement, in front of me, thirty steps away perhaps, it was difficult to tell in the dark. I squatted, putting the weight on the balls of my feet, concealed by a snow covered log, and ready to flee. The darkness was shifting, warping the moonbeams as it passed through them. The Iblis made no attempt to camouflage themselves.

I brought no weapons with me. They would be useless against these ethereal creatures. They attacked the minds and hearts of people, creeping into their souls and taking possession of their bodies. Much like the sickness, but different still. It approached me in slow motion, and although I knew it couldn't see me with eyes, I could tell from the sensation in my mind that it knew exactly where I was. Instinct kicked in and I ran. I cleared logs and curved around trees with the stealth of a wild animal. I became aware of the sound of crunching snow to my right, to see that the wolf had rejoined me, keeping pace and panting heavily.

I don’t know how long I ran, but I could see that the moonbeams had shifted angles by the time I stopped to catch my breath. Running in the snow was something I had become quite good at, training as a child for when I would have to run in order to save my life. I chose to pause up against a large spruce tree, resting against it with my pack in my lap. The wolf joined me, but kept its distance, remaining alert. I rifled through the pack and found some dried venison to chew. The Iblis were still out there, but I couldn’t be sure of where or how quickly they could traverse this forest. The charm necklace gave me strength and I breathed deeply the prayers of my people as I chewed dried meat, sitting in the snow, a bit warmer now from the run. Time seemed to freeze for me while I ate, contemplating how much farther the base of the mountain would be. I had to stay alert, I had no idea how many Iblis there were in these woods and the night would mask their approach if I wavered for a second.

The tickling sensation of the Iblis in my mind was suddenly replaced by the distinct call of my people who came to me from above the canopy. I could hear them chanting my name.

“Eladine! Eladine! Eladine! We are with you.”

A magical wind picked up, kicking loose snow into the air as more fell from laden branches, dotting the slivers of light with glittering dust. The wolf rose to its feet, faced skyward and howled. Shivers crept over my entire body. I quickly closed up my pack, knowing that my moment of rest had passed. As suddenly as it arrived, the wind came to a startling halt. The wolf’s eerie howl died down and I secured my pack, adjusted my tunic and prepared myself for what I could now feel creeping around the wolf and I in every direction.

Not only had the Iblis returned, but it was joined by an army of ominous shadow figures. Some with crooked limbs, others raking tree trunks with elongated claws. There were too many of them. The wolf let out a low growl. I could run again, but my path was blocked. I needed a clearing, just wide enough to slide through and I could make it. I knew I would make it, I had to. I could still hear my people calling my name in the space between my ears and I felt supernatural, energized within my soul. The Iblis closed in, knitting a tight circle around us. I cried out to my people. I screamed into the heavens for them to hear me and be by my side, to aid me in this dire moment. When my voice faded, all I could hear was the whispers of the Iblis and the growling wolf at my side.

The wolf turned to face me and I felt it slide into my thoughts, silky and soft. The images were clear to me. What I had to do now was bolster all my courage and run in the direction the wolf had indicated. I faced the closing shadows, holding steady against my fear. Now. Right now! I would have no other chance if I missed this opportunity. I could see a single moonbeam shining between the ethereal bodies of the Iblis and took my chance. My feet sunk deep into the snow, knees hot from the earlier jaunt, but my heart held steady. The wolf took action as soon as I was in motion. It gouged a deep wound into a screaming Iblis closest to me, others reached out their clawed limbs towards me but only raked empty air. As I passed though the horde, I could just barely see the wolf’s shape begin to transform. I ducked low to avoid a crushing blow and cleared the circle of Iblis to the forest beyond. The protector beast behind me, in the horde of Iblis could be heard tearing through the entities that had tried to bar my way. Some fled, but none followed me.

I watched the trees whizz past me at a dizzying speed. With the grace of a gazelle, I pressed on. I couldn’t concern myself with what the beast was doing. It knew itself better than I. All I could do now was to focus only on reaching the base of the mountain. I would be temporarily safe there. I could rest again. Just keep going, I told myself. My lungs burned. Stars blazed brighter as moonbeams died, saturating the landscape in a dreary and dull gloom. The mountain was drawing nearer and I could see a clearing in the distance. It looked like a meadow. I had to clear the tree line before I was free from danger. I glanced down at the ground only long enough to see more bones. Hundreds of them, skulls dotted the forest floor. My heart tightened at the sight. They crunched under my feet. I could do nothing for those who had perished before me but keep going. To avenge them, I had to survive this. I was nearly out the other side of this cursed forest when a voice rang out into the night.

“Eladine!”

The voice of my Grandmother came so clearly and loud that I turned around too quickly while still in step, colliding with a low branch just a few feet from my destination. I don’t know how long I remained unconscious among the bones of the dead, but when I woke, the sky was lightening with deep hues of indigo, bronze and gold. I was moving, but not walking. When I looked up, I saw the same moon white eyes staring ahead on a face so startling, I nearly screamed. The beast was carrying me. I could tell that it was tall. Covered from head to toe in white fur, like the wolf form it had taken before, but now walking on two strong legs, like a person, cradling me in it’s arms like a child. The tree line thinned and we stepped out into a grassy meadow. The mountains loomed ahead of us.

The beast set me down gently on the grass and backed away without speaking. Then it transformed before my eyes, back into its wolf shape. It ran ahead in the daylight towards the mountains. I knew the Iblis would not follow us, but the mountain held its own dangers. Legends of a terrible creature that lived on that mountain were enough to keep anyone away. One challenge down, and more to surmount. The land of man one step closer. Sunlight danced over the horizon. I held my throbbing head in both hands. Images of the Iblis came flooding into my mind, but I let them fall away, remembering again my Grandmother calling to me. She seemed afraid. Has the sickness overtaken her? Was she warning me? What did it mean? I survived the night, the forest and the Iblis. But my journey was far from over.

I allowed myself to enjoy the freedom of the meadow and the daytime. Although there were more trees at the base of the mountain, it was not densely covered and I could make out a clear path towards the summit. I planned my route and gathered my senses. I thought perhaps the beast had run ahead to scout the area. I knew I needed the help and understood that I never would have made it this far without it. I still had no idea what it’s name was or why it was choosing to protect me.

My journey up the mountain was uneventful for the most part. Crows called out to me throughout the day, and although my legs began to tire, I kept a steady pace, following the tracks the wolf had made earlier. The climb grew steadily steeper, testing my will to push onwards. About midday, I had a panoramic view of the valley below. The cursed forest looked dark even from this vantage point and I had not reached a height where my village was in sight yet, so I turned and continued the accent.

Sunset cast pastel colors over the landscape, and I began to wonder if the legends of a terrible creature were actually true or just a myth told to frighten children. After walking for the entire day, I found a bare patch of earth, gathered some firewood and settled in for the night, hoping the wolf would return to me. When the moon began to rise I heard snow crunching and twigs snap under the weight of a large creature. It was not the wolf. I threw several more logs onto the fire quickly, and gathered my pack in case I needed to run again.

“What are you doing on my mountain? A deep guttural voice asked.

I stiffened, but remained silent.

“I will not be disrespected by having to ask you twice, Eladine.” It addressed me with a curious ferocity, and it knew my name.

I rose to my feet, clutching the straps on my pack. “I have come to fulfill my destiny and I will not be frightened by something I cannot see.” I held my ground, but my knees shook.

The mysterious stranger stepped out from the side of a large outcrop of boulders. Standing over eight feet tall, covered in animal furs, a man with a thunderous frame approached me, grinning. He threw a small deer at my feet and took a place by my fire without looking at me. His face was like chiseled stone, with bristly brown hair poking out in every direction. He began tearing parts from the dear and prepared it over the fire.

“I am the gatekeeper between the mountain and the land of men. My name is Bjorn.” The giant of a man did not look at me as he reached over the fire to turn the deer leg he was cooking. “Do you know what lies ahead of you child?” His question derailed my thoughts. I had no idea of what I would encounter. I had never left my village. The Iblis had been dangerous enough so far.

I gathered my courage to answer him well. “There is a legend of a terrible creature on this mountain. As far as the land of men and monsters, no one from my village has crossed the tundra in so many generations, that I cannot even guess as to what I will discover there” I offered.

He lifted his chin, bushy eyebrows shielding his gaze.

“I am the only terrible thing on this mountain.” he replied nonchalantly and added, “of the land beyond the mountain pass, I can tell you that I am the only one left keeping your worlds separate from one another, aside from the Iblis for those who have escaped my grasp.”

Just then, the wolf crested the rise and joined us, sitting next to Bjorn like a trained dog.

“At least you keep good company.” Bjorn chuckled heartily.

“You know this creature?” I asked.

The wolf eyed me, and changed shape back into the two legged beast that had carried me beyond the forest. Then rested with Bjorn like a friend, partaking of the uncooked deer meat that lay next to it.

Bjorn handed me a cooked deer leg but didn’t answer my question. I ate, quietly across the fire from these two mysterious beings in my camp.

“Do you know what it is I am seeking?” I asked with genuine awe.

The beast fixed me in its gaze, transmitting a series of feelings into my thoughts. Suffering, grief, incredible sadness. I lost myself in those milky, pale eyes. Bjorn only grunted, taking some deer for himself. The beast nudged Bjorn with a furry elbow.

“Mirgo is fascinated by your willpower. That is the only name you need know of him. We are made of the same star stuff that created this world.” Bjorn chuckled again, but it was lined with sadness.

“What is the mind sickness?” I asked them boldly.

Mirgo jerked his head at the mention of it. Bjorn just shifted his weight and stared at me curiously.

“You will not appreciate the answer to that question but I will tell you, and you will still have to carry on with your journey and defeat it anyway.” Bjorn grew still, staring intently at the fire. “Before the beginning, this planet created its own life. The Mirgo, keepers of the balance of life and death,” he gestured to the hairy beast next to him. “The Divovski, protector of creatures and beasts,” he gestured to himself. “The Ta-Tar, who were the original guardians of the lands before the Divovski took their place, and the Fada, who tended to the Earth and all the growing things. Now all that remains are one of each of the Divovski and the Mirgo and we are sitting with you now. Human beings have wiped out the rest of Earth’s natural inhabitants.” Bjorn paused, allowing me to take in his words properly.

“And what about humans? If the planet did not create us, then where did we come from?” I had to know.

“You’re people invaded this world. The Menneske, we called you, were ravenous, striking down on Earth like a meteorite, and spreading like a plague. This is not your home and you brought the mind sickness with you. Which means that only you can destroy it.”

I couldn’t digest the deer meat all of a sudden, growing ill as he spoke, revealing a truth that my people had probably forgotten centuries before. How could we not know? How could we be the cause of the illness spreading across the world?

I puked in the snow behind the nearest tree. It was undignified and shameful, but I could not keep in my disgust at what I was being told.

“Human beings are connected to all living things on this planet.” I told them matter of factly, once I regained myself.

“It is the bond that grew within the Menneske when they merged with our world, and some of you were peaceful. But the Menneski do not know how to share this planet. Everyone is suffering because of it.” Bjorn said no more that night. The Mirgo left our camp for a time, but returned by morning and was awaiting me when I woke, in the form of a monstrous wolf once more.

Bjorn was gone by sunrise, but as the Mirgo and I left for the top of the mountain with some of the leftover deer in my pack, I heard a horn call out into the morning air, stirring the birds in the sky to caw loudly. I had heard that sound before and knew now that it was Bjorn, stirring the world to life.

We crossed the mountain pass and I realized that the legend of the terrible creature my people spoke of was Bjorn of the Divovski. At the height of the summit, I peered back down into the valley again, this time seeing my village clearing far off in the distance, smoke rising skyward, signaling that there were still survivors there, waiting for my return.

When we reached the other side of the mountain, the sight below twisted my guts once more. I understood what Bjorn meant when he called human beings a plague. The land had been stripped barren of natural life. Artificial structures erupted across the landscape and dark smoke billowed high into the air. The settlements of the Menneske stretched from one horizon to the other in every direction. My village was separated from this fate by some of the last surviving beings that this world had created to protect itself.

I could not comprehend fully what I was looking at. The lights were brighter than any fire, the structures reached to the heavens and there were large monsters running in long, straight, black lines over the landscape at speeds that would dizzy a deer. There were even monsters in the air, gigantic ones, flying so high overhead that they seemed small at this distance. The Mirgo transformed again, this time into a small, harmless looking dog with short black fur. It was curious to me that it would assume such a defenseless shape in the face of such terrifying strangeness before us.

The weather was still cold on the mountain top, but I could feel the heat from below and smell an indescribable stench coming from the destruction and fortifications in the distance, and the minds of the Menneski were incredibly loud. Deafening. How would I locate the source of the mind sickness in this? Where would I even begin?

We descended the mountain top slowly, leaving my world behind, to enter into this unknown realm of the Menneski, which I vowed I was not a part of. I still walked with the ethereal creatures of the earth and they spoke to me. I could now feel the suffering that the Mirgo had shown me and realized that it was coming from this new land I was about to enter. It was the people, human beings, the Menneski, suffering collectively.

We would restore balance to this planet. There were no other options for me, and I could not fail, I would not. I, Eladine, of the forgotten kingdom of the North, one of the few remaining peaceful survivors of the invasion, would reunite the Menneske with the heart of the planet so that the mind sickness would die once and for all. I would find a way, and I would return to my people and tell them the story of the planet so that we could rebuild, stronger, and better than ever before. We would carry the peace into a new age so that the inhabitants of earth can live as one, once again.

I am so happy to bring you magical tales that cross my mind! I will continue to offer you magic, fantasy and danger every chance I get. Stay tuned for more friends... Remember, read more to live better.

Young Adult
2

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.