Fiction logo

The lake next door

The messenger

By Gime - TocaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The lake next door
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

On vacation I went to visit my grandfather Kapequele, I was very excited just by the tales of my brothers who already knew the place, on this vacation I went alone because my brothers were already there the year before.

When I arrived I was welcomed by everyone. My grandfather didn't talk about his grandson who will arrive from the capital, it was all very beautiful, from the trees to the plants and of course to the humble and respectful people (people), my cousins ​​and uncles then, all a love of person.

However, there was already a girl waiting for me. Dumba as she was called, she had a perfect smile, she spoke little.

My uncles had already said the following: my nephew is coming from the capital, he is a very handsome and super-intelligent young man, maybe that's why she never took her eyes off me again. During the holidays it was just fun, I met a lot of people, and learned a lot of things.

Kiame, a friend I made there, took me to the lake next door, it was so close to my house that I didn't even realize there was a lake next to the house.

Lake so small but very dangerous, according to him that lake likes the blood of people new to the village, like a girl from the capital, I doubted it. I didn't believe it and said that I would only believe seeing it with my own eyes. When I got home I told my grandfather, honestly speaking I had never seen my grandfather so upset and scared as that day. He forbade me to go back there and scolded the person who took me there. However, that only increased my curiosity.

After 3 days I went back there (alone) I started hearing voices, having hallucinations and deep screams like, get me out of here I not only panic in my eyes, my body started to shake, I couldn't go back either because it felt like a very strong energy kept me in that place. I started walking towards the water of the lake, in a hallucinogenic vision, I saw bones in the corners and it wasn't animal (it had a skull) against my will I continued and when I started to found, Dumba appeared and gave me a help, pulled it me and took me home. And she said not to tell anyone I was there.

Legend says that in the 4th century this lake arose through a flood that happened in this small village. Everything happened from the moment a strange visitor came out of nowhere to the village, you slammed the door asking the neighborhood to be welcomed because he had nowhere to stay, half of the neighbors refused his stay and made fun of him, disdaining his humility and charisma shooing him into every house he passed to ask for water and a place to sleep.

But he had a humble and poor family that was moved and revised with his situation, it was the only family that welcomed him into their small house, they gave him water, food and a place to settle down. All that no one knew was that the strange visitor was a messenger who had come to alert the village of that small village of an anticipated flood that had devastated the entire village.

The same night before going to sleep, the man alerts the whole family, who welcomed him about the expected flood and recommended that they should organize their things and leave the next day urgently.

At first the head of the family behaved in disbelief and admired about the warning, but at nightfall, he had a dream (sign) and saw everything that had happened in the village and how people would die in a tragic and cruel way, some drowned desperate for help.

The next day, the head of the family, who in life was called General Dangote, goes to the visitor to his room to explain about the dream and tell him that the final was right about the warning given, and he doesn't find him, look for it her whole house and sees that the man has disappeared in a strange and mysterious way without saying goodbye and without leaving any trace.

It was then that General Dangote understood that the man who appeared was a messenger who came to alert the entire village, but as he was not received properly and everyone in the village rejected him, so he only warned those who received them. to you unconditionally and with kindness and satisfaction in your heart.

He took the whole family and quickly left the village, abandoning everything, fleeing from what was expected to happen… And that's right! Days later the news spread to the entire region of the province about the tragedy that happened in the village and the family was already far away and safe. And the legend with its historical morals has spread for decades as a moral lesson to the new generations to come about how people should treat others.

The village was flooded, everything that was there dissipated, until a lake was formed and there are still rumors that the lake is cursed because of all the tragic deaths that happened under the flood.

Time passed, things changed, in the same place where such tragedy happened centuries later a new village was formed and the story became a legend. A legend that some believe to this day and others don't, but everyone knows that it is expressly forbidden to swim in the lake and pass by alone and on the sidelines at night, because there are rumors that the lake has life and pulls whenever someone is around, especially visitors, that is, people who are unaware of the legend and its secrets.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Gime - Toca

I'm a content creator, blogger who writes about Blogging in different areas of knowledge, I use platforms like YouTube, Quora, Medium, and Vocal. Our contents apply to everything. https:gime-toca.com

https://gilbertotocas.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.