Fiction logo

The Lady Of Firsts Coven

As Submitted To The Under A Spell Challenge

By Marc OBrienPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
1
"The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle" By Marc O'Brien

“I cast this spell

Fore words to gel

Conjure up In my mind

A message I will define

With my might

I will write

Now time I will take

And summoned my characters, a ranger and a snake!”

Sitting behind a desk in the dark, Helen Blair nursed her writer’s block ailment by issuing a spiritual potion prescribed by her personal psychic. Observing the door creep open letting the pet German Shepherd into the creative space, the former actress went into a hissy fit.

“I did not call you Millionaire,” she exclaimed, “I wanted a ranger and a snake.”

A unique noise responded, and Millionaire found a rug, plopped down, resting his head on the floor. “Did you come in here for a bedtime story?” Helen asked.

Belting out the same sound acknowledging the lady who in life was known for firsts and one second, sighed. Critics footnoted first online at the grocery store, first to get a ticket and first to be anything she wanted, they concluded Helen knew how to work people’s emotions.

“You know Millionaire, I was nicknamed, ‘the First Lady, down there,’” she bragged before activating her imagination into an evening composition activity.

Ranger And The Snake-Chapter One-Helen Blair Author

Once Rick had it all, an office with a view to the competitive city he called home, where lucrative success paved the roads. Until one work week commuter period, a surprise attack took place. Sacrificing his coffee break the executive fought an evil snake. In the end the GQ pinstripe battler surrendered cutting budgets and letting the slimy serpent win.

“Go ahead, take that Tiffany diamond back, to where you come from,” Rick shouted waving the white pocket towel using it as a flag, “but I will come looking for you and when I find you, I will win the war.”

Years later while riding the subway Rick was engrossed perusing a travel magazine and came across an advertisement announcing Arizona National Park job openings. Still wanting vengeance against the varmint who stole his ring, upsetting the season a generation ago, Rick applied and got the appointment to work in the clean air outdoors.

While patrolling the southwest desert Rick came across a rock that seemed to be misplaced, reaching down inserting his gloved hand on the stone, he picked it up revealing a sinister green creature. “So, we meet again, Mr. GQ Pinstripe,” the slithery miniature monster stated, “you might have come to my home, but I am not going to give you the diamond back, its mine forever.”

“I did not come here for a diamond back,” Rick retaliated, “I just wanted to see what was hiding under this rock for over two decades.”

“Well now you know,” the snake confirmed taking a better communication position, “what do you want from me?”

“I want this year’s ring,”

“So, do I,” the snake took a stand, “can I have your two daughters to go with it?”

“Why?” Rick questioned, “they are not snakes like you.”

“You’re sure?”

Taking a step back, “I am not going to leave until we get things settled.”

“Not going back to being a Ranger Rick Broadway Blues theatrical star? Or Ranger Rick the Boy Scout magazine icon?” The snake studied his antagonist’s past performance in depth every day.

Shaking his head negatively, the hour struck high noon and the series began.

As Helen Blair’s finger pressed the final letter triggering it to hit the page, an angelic figure graced the entry way, “Jeanie Gorden,” Helen spoke, “what can I do for you?”

“I was wondering what you were doing here?”

“Casted a spell, the writer’s block one,” Helen explained, “wrote my first chapter to my book ‘The Serious World Of A Ranger And A Snake.’”

“You know I was a lady of firsts too,” Jeanie reminded the elder statesperson, “I was a first there, there, there and over there,”

“Where?”

“There,” Jeannie repeated lovingly touching the dog, “are you? Giving Helen, some nice story ideas,”

Hearing the groan made Jeannie laugh, “same old Millie the dog.”

“You were the lady of firsts following me,” Helen stood her ground.

“But you were the second wife who became the lady of firsts.”

“Make it clear, Jeannie, I was the lady of firsts before you were the lady of firsts.”

“That you were,” Jeanie conceded, since it was the truth, “this memoir is it clean enough to read to children?”

“It’s not a memoir,” Helen corrected, “its historical fiction and yes, our young folk can benefit and learn about the cold war.”

“Oh, its about Covid 19,” Jeannie tried clarifying.

“So,” Helen quietly forgot about recent events and placed a cover over the typewriter, wanting not to give away too many secrets, “where do you want to go to lunch?”

“I hear that place that just opened up, Gorden Ramsey’s Hell’s Kitchen might be good.”

“Let’s go there.” Helen diplomatically agreed.

As the mystical astrological cloud arrived the pair departed off this stage towards another, “where are our husbands?” Helen inquired.

“Golf course,” Jeannie reported, “they want to discuss the water gate issue.”

“Are they ever going to get that water gate to work?” Helen added, “sometimes it looks like Noah’s Ark around here.”

“Personally, I think the water gate problems will be debated for eternity,” Jeannie raised her hand, hailing a cab.

HistoricalFable
1

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    I think the story is very well-written and entertaining. I hope you continue to write more chapters!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.