Fiction logo

The joys of summer

Enjoying the summer breezes

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Seals and Crofts

I can't believe it is almost September. Summer where have you gone? Soon we will be having frost on the pumpkin, first freezes then snow. But again what happened to summer? The long hot days, the cool nights. The singing of a whipper will in the trees, or the sight of the cardinal in flight? What happened to nice home grown tomatoes, watermelon, and strawberries? The walking outside to see the dew on the ground. I also like the occasional evening thunderstorm to cool down a hot day. That is such good sleeping weather.

Pretty soon the leaves will be falling and you will need to rake them up. The kids have gone back to school to learn their ABC's and 123's. The parents are working hard to ensure the kids do their homework. But these last eighteen months have been anything but normal. People losing their minds because someone doesn't wear a mask. The President immediately implemented a mask mandate on all public transportation, which for folks like myself who have severe issues makes flying even more difficult.

It only seems like yesterday was January the first, now nine months later we have headed down the downward cycle, colds, flu, pneumonia or covid who knows. Summer warmth is giving way to hurricanes in the south and Gulf Coast, Ida just hit Louisiana today. The Little League World Series finished today, which is my favorite sporting event of the year. Now comes football and soccer for the Americans until it's time for basketball.

My grandmother used to hate this time of year because she would have to dry the clothes in the dryer instead of hanging them on the line. All of our nice garden vegetables and fruits are now picked and canned, but it isn't as good as taking them out of the garden. But as Seals and Crofts said in their song, Summer Breeze makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind. The video depicts a very beautiful wind mill with the multiple colored tulips, which unfortunately dies in the winter. This is almost like the cycle of life, a child is born, it grows into a kid, then a teenager followed by adulthood.

As a kid I couldn't wait to grow up, but as I got older, I asked what the hell was I thinking. I love the summer because everything is warm, green and beautiful. The fall you have the vibrant colors of the leaves or as I call it God's paint brush. You have the cool crisp mornings followed by the warm afternoons and then the cool nights to where if you turn your air conditioner on low and snuggle under the covers it makes for a good nights sleep.

In the summer as a kid we used to cruise up and down the main drag, now they don't do that any more. Now the hot rods and classic cars will be stored instead of being out on a winters day. As they said in the song, you can hear the music coming from the house next door. I always liked when my grandmother was cooking on the stove and it was cold outside, her windows would fog up on her door. My grandmother always brought her furniture in off the porch in the fall. But I enjoyed sitting on her swing during the evening hours when there was just a soft breeze or a gentle rain.

I remember with the doors shut due to the cold and getting darker earlier watching for crime is more difficult. I also would love when the neighbors came out to visit in the summer or catching lightening bugs at night was a fun time. Digging for earth worms so we could fish was an adventure, water down the yard and you had your bait.

Oh for the joys of summer and summer breezes.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.