Fiction logo

The Insane Snow Angel

A True Story

By Lizz ChambersPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
The Insane Snow Angel
Photo by Alexandra Smielova on Unsplash

White mounds of cold, soft, billowing snow calling my name. Has the heat made me delusional? It started around my eyes and has caused beads of sweat around my upper lip to permeate every pore of my body.

I have a burning desire (pun intended) to strip off every thread of material on my body and run head-long and butt-naked into the front yard. I know that I must bury myself in the exquisite cool of this wintery mix. The neighbors would be shocked at the least and call the cops at the worst.

Instead, I gather my thoughts and choose to maintain my modesty but still decide to escape the escalating heat of my home, whether real or imagined and run out the front door. I take two long strides down the front steps, almost slipping on the accumulated snow and ice, and bury myself in the highest snow drift I can find.

I know it is my imagination, but I can feel the snow sizzling and melting around the insane-looking snow angel I am creating. Tiny snowflakes catch on my eyelids while others melt as they hit my flushed face.

Flapping my angel wings, I cover myself in as much snow as possible until the cool penetrates my outer core and reaches the internal source of this devil-inspired hell. As I begin to cool down, I look up into the eyes of my extremely bewildered husband.

Yes, I have become a menopausal snow angel.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Lizz Chambers

I began writing business articles as the Vice President of a hotel management company and found that I was good at it. I want to grow as a fiction writer, and Vocal can help me in that pursuit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Ha ha! The bliss! Made me laugh! You know, I'm sort of wishing we had snow here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.