Fiction logo

THE INHERITANCE (part thirty)

Welcome Home

By Margaret BrennanPublished 2 days ago 4 min read

I WROTE THIS AS THE SPARK IN MY IMAGINATION ILLUMINATED.

PLEASE GO BACK TO THE BEGINNING AND READ THROUGH.

I APPRECIATE IT. THANKS.

THE INHERITANCE (part one) | Fiction (vocal.media)

THE INHERITANCE ... part two | Fiction (vocal.media)

++++++++

THE INHERITANCE – part thirty ………

Welcome home

++++++++++

As Kate read her father’s diary, her first thought was, ”He knew. He knew his life would be cut short. Oh, my god, my poor dad. I can’t even imagine living with that kind of knowledge.”

She put the book on the table, walked inside the bathroom to rinse the tears that started swimming in her eyes. Then sat on the edge of the large claw-footed tub and remembered her dad.

“I remember how when I was just a tot, he’d carry me on his shoulders. Oh, what fun being able to look down on the world around me. When I grew a bit taller, he’d put a few records on his old turntable, then tell me to stand on his feet. As soon as I did, he’d begin to dance around the room.”

She remembered the trips once a month to the petting zoo after which he’d treat her, her mother, Patti, and himself to an ice cream cone.

“Oh, and how about the trips to the beach during the summer!”

There was so much to remember. “I need to ask mom if she has any photographs she’s willing to give me. Growing up without him, and now reading his diary, just makes me miss him so much more.”

She walked back to the little couch, looked at the glass of wine, walked down to the kitchen and poured herself a small glass of Hennessy. She debated, “Should I bring the bottle and dump the wine? Or put the Hennesy back and finish the wine?”

Deciding on the wine, she smiled to herself. “Hennessy will only get me drunker faster. I don’t want to get drunk at all. Wine it is, then!”

After getting settled again on her couch, she began to read about what she inherited from her father’s family.

THE DOS AND DON’TS OF BEING A WITCH

Kate smiled as she read the title her dad wrote. She wondered if there really were rules she was supposed to follow. Didn’t witchcraft come naturally? Then she realized she had no idea. “Guess it’s a learning process. She noticed, “There are no numbers, like number 1: do this; number 2: don’t do that. Well, dad, let’s see exactly what it is I’m supposed to know.”

“Katie, my dearest, since you’re reading this, I will assume your mom deems you old enough to understand who and what you are.

The first and most important thing you need to know is that you should never, under any circumstances, use your craft to cause anyone harm. Ever! No evil spells. No dangerous potions! Not even a single evil thought that might cause harm.

The second part of that is that spells and positions can and often will easily backfire, and sometimes, twice-fold. Don’t ever forget that.

Never use spells for financial gain or personal convenience.

Yes, there are certain circumstances when you are faced with a situation that offers no other choice. Let me explain. If you’re late for an appointment and your car won’t start, you do not spell your car to work . Take a bus! If you’re driving on a deserted, dark road at night and your car breaks down, yes, spell your car to get you home then call a mechanic.

If your bank account is running low, well, my beautiful daughter, that’s your problem. You can’t spell your account to increase your wallet.

If you’re physically injured, seek the aid of a doctor, not a spell.

If someone else in injured and there is no one but you around and you are physically unable to assist, you can spell for an ambulance, not a cure.

Remember, your craft is more than common sense. It’s a responsibility, not a game.

The most important thing to remember, as I said, is to harm no one, not one human, animal, or any living thing, even a tree.

I’ll write down some simple spells for you but even with spelling, you can always make up your own as you might need them.

There will be a few potions as well, and you will definitely need to learn them. The first thing you need to know about potions is that you can never, and I can’t emphasize this strongly enough, never substitute one ingredient for another. If a potion calls for an once of the bark of a willow, you can’t use anything but that as well as the precise amount. No short cuts, no substitutions. The potion will only work if mixed precisely.

One more thing, before I begin on the spells and potions. I debated adding this because, as I said, I haven’t heard from my cousins in what seems a lifetime. However, I had a dream last night whereby my grandmother, Kathleen came to warn me to warn you. Somewhere in your future, you will meet and be bothered by a woman named Bridget who is a long-ago forgotten cousin. She’s trouble. Kathleen said that you’ll know what to do and providing you cause no harm, if needed, use your magic. She said you would understand.

As I closed this portion of my diary, please note that in the spirit sense, I will never leave you. Should you need me, I’m a summons away. You’ll also read about that later on in this book.”

Kate yawned and realized she’d finished her glass of wine. “Well! That’s enough for tonight. I’m exhausted, curious, sad, and my eyes are blurry. Tomorrow’s another day.”

Her father ended with one more notation:

“Katie, the beat of my heart, as you read through, I’ve included some of my fondest memories we shared. I hope you remember them as well.”

Short Story

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mark Graham2 days ago

    It keeps getting better and better. I think to go along with the book maybe you could write a book of spells.

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.