Fiction logo

The Inheritance: A Short Story.

“It was so hard pretending I was devastated by Mother’s death when all I wanted to do was dance.”

By Lazy writer Published 9 months ago 3 min read
1

Melissa said goodbye to the last of the mourners, closing the door with a sigh of relief.

“It was so hard pretending I was devastated by Mother’s death when all I wanted to do was dance.”

Her husband, Liam, went to the bar to pour two fingers of whiskey. Handing the glass to Melissa, he sat back down on one couch. Melissa took the glass and the bottle, setting them on the coffee table before sinking into the other couch.

“Here’s to your mother roasting in hell.” Liam raised his glass in a mock cheer. “I won’t miss her. I never liked her. She was the mother-in-law from hell, always sticking her nose into things that weren’t her business. I tolerated her for your sake. Had it not been for you, I would have gotten rid of her years ago. You owe me for putting up with her.”

Melissa downed her drink in one swallow, pouring herself another. “I owe you? Excuse me, but you could have left at any time. You chose to stay, waiting to try and get your hands on her money. Don’t blame me. What would you have done? Had her killed if I agreed? You’re insane.”

“Yet you married me. As for that witch, I wouldn’t have had her killed. Accidents happen. I would have gladly arranged one had it not for you forbidding me from causing her any harm. But she’s finally out of our lives forever. I can’t wait for her will to be read to see how rich we are now. I deserve that money for putting up with her and you all these years.”

“You’re a fucking psychopath,” said Melissa, swallowing her drink. “I knew you only married me for my money.” She poured herself another, gulping it down. “I should sleep with one eye open should you decide to get rid of me.”

“Don’t tempt me, Melissa. You know what I’m capable of doing if I wanted.”

Pouring herself a third drink, Melissa glared at her husband. She would have divorced the abusive, controlling bastard years ago if she didn’t know he would rather have her killed than allow her to divorce him.

But she had him between a rock and a hard place. Now that her mother was dead, Melissa would inherit her substantial fortune. But just last week her mother had amended her will, showing Melissa the changes she had made.

Cruel as she was in life, she was generous in death. Aside from a couple of charities, Melissa and any legitimate offspring were the sole recipients. The trust set-up prevented Liam from getting any of Melissa’s inheritance, hating her son-in-law as much as he hated her. She didn’t want him getting any of her money.

Melissa refilled her empty glass and raised it towards Liam. “I know something you don’t,” she taunted drunkenly, pushing his buttons.

“How mature. What is it you know I don’t? Must be pretty good news if you’re so happy.”

She downed her drink. “You don’t get a fucking penny!” she said, bursting into drunken laughter. “Mother hated you as much as I do. She arranged my inheritance in such a way you can’t get so much as a dime from her fortune!” Melissa laughed so hard she fell over sideways on the couch.

A shadow loomed over her, putting an end to her laughter. A throw pillow from the couch was placed over her face, suffocating her. “If I get rid of you, I’ll inherit your mother’s fucking fortune. You’re about to have an accident; in your drunken stupor you’re going to fall down the basement stairs to your death going to get another bottle of wine.”

Melissa tried fighting him off. She was as effective as a butterfly. She felt the pillow pressed down even harder. Kicking ineffectively, Liam had her pinned down, using all his strength. The last thing she heard before her world went black was, “Now I’ll get it all bitch, while you’ll rot in the ground.”

Melissa’s body went limp. Checking her body for any signs of life, Liam found none. He picked her up, carrying her to the top of the stairs leading to the basement. Like a puppeteer, he stood her up then let go. Liam watched her lifeless body roll down the stairs and stop with the sickening thud of Melissa’s head hitting the cement floor.

Making sure he set the scene, Liam pulled out his cell phone. He called 911, “Yes, I need an ambulance, please. My wife’s had an accident…”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    What a creep

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.