Fiction logo

The Hunt...

...and the lie.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
The Hunt...
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

The day started with my usual jog in the woods. The sunbeams were like spotlights, illuminating my path.

About halfway, I stopped to catch my breath.

Snap!

I turned my head toward the noise.

Snap!

It came from the same direction. That is when my eyes spotted him, but it was too late.

BOOM!

***

He walked into the house and scuffed his boots on the welcome mat.

"Honey, I'm home and I have a surprise!"

His wife looked at the package in his hand questioningly. "What type of meat is that?"

"Umm...veal." He lied.

It was actually human.

MicrofictionHorror
5

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Whoa there Alex!! That took a dark turn soooo fast! I loved it!! Great work with the change in perspective and the twist at the end. At first I thought it was the perspective of a deer having been shot but then you said human and my jaw dropped!! So clever!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Wow I wasn't expecting that ending! great writing Alexandria!

  • Jessica Phoenix12 months ago

    This is such a creative story! An especially nice reveal at the end. Took me by surprise!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.