Fiction logo

The heist that made cops laugh

When crime does not pay

By Peter RosePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

As robberies go this was not my finest hour, if fact it was a very brief affair, I spotted a truck from a security firm, noticed that the back doors of the truck were open, no sign of driver or security. I saw an opportunity and took it; I grabbed the nearest box and ran. I had an image in my head of gold or silver bars on the way to be minted into cash. Within three steps disaster took over. The box was so very heavy that I dropped it onto my foot. My scream of pain attracted the driver, who burst out laughing, then the cops were called, and they took me to hospital. Through the mist of pain, I saw the officers were all laughing but I did not know why. My broken bones were set straight, my foot encased in plaster, and I was back in jail again. The next day up I was in court, again. The judge decided I was punished enough, so I limped free, all within three days. And for what? The box was full of scrap metal, old security seals from crates of bullion, waiting to be melted down and recast.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Peter Rose

Collections of "my" vocal essays with additions, are available as printed books ASIN 197680615 and 1980878536 also some fictional works and some e books available at Amazon;-

amazon.com/author/healthandfunpeterrose

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.