Fiction logo

The Healer

Mother Natures Return

By MaoniPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

“In recent news, the mysterious newcomer, nicknamed the healer, was spotted across from the Rukins Industrial Plant in what appears to be a field of peonies. Scientists are currently running soil experiments to discover how the growth of these plants has become possible after a 30-year vegetation drought. The healer’s identity remains unknown at this time. More to come on this topic later.” The news report etched out of the radio as Dad entered the kitchen.

“Can you believe it?” asked Mom. “They found a field of peonies!” With a raised eyebrow Dad scoffed, “Dahlia, please. This is nothing to get worked up over.” Appalled, Mom turns away from the stove placing her hands on the counter.

“Flowers. George. FLOWERS! It’s been over 30 years since anyone has seen a flower, let alone grass, grow from the earth! What do you mean this is nothing to get worked up over?”

“We both know this isn’t real Dahlia. This is all a conspiracy, a hoax, like you said it’s been over 30 years. All of a sudden a field of flowers just sprouts out of nowhere? No way.”

“How do you explain the other findings then? If all of this is so fake, then why does it keep happening? Amil and I saw the patches of daffodils from last week in person yesterday. They’re real. This is real!”

Dad shakes his head. Just as he begins to dismiss Mom’s statements, Amil interrupts.

“It’s true Dad. Look”, Amil insists as he holds up a partially crushed daffodil from his pocket.

Dad freezes.

“Woah! What’s that?” asks Althea.

Amil turns to Althea and kneels so she can see the flower.

“It’s a daffodil like mom was talking about. I picked it from one of the patches yesterday. I know we’re advised to leave whatever comes out of the ground where we find it but I had to know if it was really real.”

Everyone gathers around Amil to look at the flower closer. Suddenly Dad’s whole demeanor changes, “Why would you bring that into this house?” he screams.

“I didn’t think-”

“Yeah, you didn’t think. If nothing has naturally grown on this planet in 30 years, what makes you think that plant isn’t somehow toxic or radioactive? Are you dumb?”

“GEORGE”, Mom shouts, “That’s enough. Amil is not responsible for your fears and what you fail to understand because of your stubbornness. If the plant was toxic, don’t you think we’d be sick by now?”

Dad huffs as he grabs his things and heads off to work. Stopping at the door he says, “Get rid of it”, and leaves.

Amil looks sadly at the flower then looks at Mom. “Don’t worry about him. You can keep the flower if you want.” Mom states while smiling. “Okay now go before y'all are late for school.”

Althea, Amil, and I grab our backpacks and head out the door waving bye to Mom.

“Guys slow down.” Althea scurries to catch up to Amil and me. “Walk faster.” I laugh as I notice Amil starts to walk the wrong way.

“Amil! Where are you going? School’s this way.”

“I gotta pick a fresh daffodil. This one's crushed.” Amil replies as he keeps walking.

“Come on Althea” I start to say as I look up and realize she’s already following right behind Amil. “Hey! Don’t leave me.”

Amil stops walking and begins to search for a patch of daffodils. “They were in this area yesterday. I don’t get where they all could’ve gone.”

“Maybe they died”, suggests Althea.

“I doubt all those plants died that fast without a trace”, I state.

“Hey I think I found one!” Amil calls out to us. We run over to him as he crouches down to pick another daffodil. Suddenly I feel as if we’re being watched.

“Amil. Althea”, I whisper, “I think someone’s watching us.” Althea turns slightly to the side and looks behind Amil. “Who’s the lady in all black?”

Amil’s and my head snap up making direct eye contact with the lady in black. “She’s wearing the necklace,” says Amil. Confused, I ask what necklace.

“Every time the healer has been spotted it’s been said that the only thing people identify other than the weird clothes and creepy demeanor is a heart-shaped locket around the healer’s neck.”

“Why is she watching us?” asks Althea.

“I don’t know but I'm guessing it has something to do with that flower Amil was about to pick.”

“Um.. about that”, starts Amil, “I already picked it.”

Althea and I look down at the flower hanging from Amil’s hand. Just as we do, the lady in black takes off.

“Hey!” Amil shouts as he takes off after her.

“Amil!” Althea and I scream in unison while running after him.

We follow Amil and the mysterious lady across the abandoned train tracks and through the fields until we finally reach the old town hall building. Amil is standing in what used to be the town gardens.

“Amil, what happened? Where did she go?” I ask while struggling to catch my breath.

“I don’t-”

“I’m right here” says an unfamiliar voice. We turn around to see none other than the lady in black standing only a few feet from us.

“Why were you watching us? Why did you run?” Amil questions. “Who are you?” asks Althea. The lady in black chuckles as she adjusts her hood to cover more of her face and begins to fiddle with her locket. “You should know me best Althea”.

Althea, Amil, and I all exchanged puzzled looks.

“I’m who your people have been calling the healer. You can call me Lena though.”

“Okay Lena.. why were you watching us and how do you know my sister’s name?” Amil moves Althea to stand behind him.

“Your caution is not necessary, Amil. I mean you all no harm. I’m seeking your help.”

“With what?” I snarl.

“Restoring the planet. That’s why I am here.”

“What do you mean?” I ask.

“The world as you all know it has not always been this way. As you know over 30 years ago vegetation actually grew from the earth. It was not made in a lab as you know it to be now. Trees once sprouted and provided oxygen for all living things. Only the sick carried oxygen tanks and masks. Have none of you noticed the rise in air quality in the last year? The changes in the color of the sky?”

Amil, Althea, and I look up at the sky as a smokey white hue stares back at us, much different than the normal reddish-orange color.

“It should be blue.” Our attention shifts back to Lena. “If I complete the mission I was sent here to do, the earth will live again, just as it did 100 years ago before the Day of Extinction.”

“What do you know about the Day of Extinction and how do you know our names? Amil’s voice raises as he speaks.

“How are we supposed to help you restore the planet? Althea asks with a bemused look on her face.

Lena holds up the heart-shaped locket and smirks. “With this.”

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Maoni

A quiet Creative with a loud mind

Stories, reviews, recommendations, and random thoughts mostly related to tv, movies, music, and books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.