Fiction logo

The Haunted Mansion Part two

A Donna Fox, Novel Allen creation

By The Invisible WriterPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
5
Image created by Novel Allen

I stood nervously looking at the girls before looking back at the mansion, again. The entry door swung in the door frame until it stood fully open. Behind me Melody, Marjorie, and Amy call out in unison.

"Go ahead, David." Who do they think I am? I'm not the quarterback of the football team, I'm not Caleb. I'm not even on the team. At this moment in front of the mansion I wish I was Caleb. The boy they like. The boy they pay attention too.

Caleb is everything, I'm not. Caleb wouldn't be afraid. Caleb can already throw a fastball and a curve, I can barely throw at all.

"Go on, David." The girls call again, sounding further away this time as if I have somehow moved closer to the house without realizing it. My whole body trembles with shivers of fright. From inside the house a haunting voice floats out of the darkness beyond the door beckoning me to go inside. Yes, David come visit us.

"We'll be right behind you." The girls reassure me. I want to run, to pee my pants, to do anything but go inside. But I know I can't run, I can't do anything but go inside. Melody has been the girl of my dreams since the first grade. If I run now not only, will she continue to treat me as if I'm invisible, but my hopes that she will see me one day will vanish for good. Slowly with shaky breaths escaping my lungs I step forward in the direction of the waiting house.

I want to stop, I know I should stop. Stop and run as fast as I can in any direction other than the door in front of me. But an unseen force pulls me forward trapping me inside its energy. With each step I take the house seems to also be moving closer to me.

There is no going back, the house has taken control. I can no longer stop my legs from walking closer to the door. Every beat of my heart thunders inside my chest. Cold dark air greets me as I enter the house.

Melody, Marjorie, and Amy giggled in unison as David took his first step forward. They couldn't help it. Poor innocent David, always trying to get their attention. Was he really going to go into a haunted house for them? Another giggle escaped their lips this time turning into a full laugh.

They each took their eyes from David, who was already halfway to the door, to exchange excited smiles before they turned to run in the opposite direction. They ran faster than they had ever run before, breaking into fits of laughter along the way. They couldn't believe how gullible, sweet I'll do anything if you just notice me, David was.

They ran until the breath was gone from their lungs. Until they couldn't run anymore. Until their legs slowed. Until they were only walking. Until they stopped altogether. Completely out of breath they rested their hands on their knees.

"I can't believe he fell for it." Marjorie said, breathlessly.

"I know." Amy and Melody both answered. After a few more heavy breaths the air finally returned to their lungs. Looking around at what surrounded them. Their breath that had just come back caught in their throats. Fear raced down their spines. The door behind them slammed shut with a loud bang. In front of them David stood with wide-eyes, staring back at them.

Authors: This story is a continuation of Novel Allen's story line from Donna Fox's wonderful creation, The Community Story Challenge. Links to both stories are below.

MicrofictionSeries
5

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Arggggg! Serve them right though, meanies 😤

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Will, I am so sorry I did not get to this sooner!!! I’ve add the link to the master list now! Thank you for participating!! This is such a great continuation! I love the inner monologue you gave David and I got chills when the voice called to him from inside the house! I love that you flipped the narrative too and had the girls abandon him in the house! So smart!! Now, I’m itching to add to this!!

  • Omggg, that ending! Ahhh, such a cliffhanger! You did an awesome job continuing this story!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    This was great

  • Wow so good! Loved it it drew me right in and held my attention. I will check out. Part 1 and the next part when it's published:)

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    OMG, I was on the edge of my seat. Who is going to write part 3. It better scare the pants off those horrible girls. This was great Invisible.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.