Fiction logo

The Hardship Generator

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 3rd 124/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 15 days ago 2 min read
9
The Hardship Generator
Photo by Foto Sushi on Unsplash

I call myself "The Hardship Generator". Good title, eh?

It's not your typical hero's name, I'll grant you but then what I do is not your typical hero work. I'm working for the good of humanity but mine's more the long game, not the "swoop in and save them" like your Superman.

You see, I've noticed that we're struggling as a race, struggling to cope with the everyday.

A case in point? This morning, I was at the supermarket. Young woman went to the fridge and a punnet of blueberries fell out. Well, you know what those little buggers are like! Always making a bid for freedom every chance they get. No big deal, you'd think? Huh! She bursts into tears and just walks away. Blueberries everywhere! What's that all about? Now, she may have had a bad day, I'm not saying, but tears? Na, not needed.

And I'm seeing this reaction more and more. Weakness. Where's the steel, people? The grit? The staunching of emotions? I mean, if blueberries prompt tears, what're you going to be like when you lose a limb? I'm all for being true to yourself but this is ridiculous!

I think people need to be trained in hardship. I think most of us have it too easy.

I mean, what is there to strive for anymore? When was the last time you were so hungry, you could have eaten twigs? Shivered with extreme cold? Parched with dire thirst? Or not even that? How about waiting for something? Eh? A parcel? Or an answer? Everything's instant nowadays!

So, I've taken it on myself to help out by generating little hardships for people. To create resilience.

One of my projects is young Dave at work. Started off slowly by hiding his mug; then, progressed to stealing his keys. Today, I've let down the air in one of his tyres. Teaching him life lessons. How to deal. So, when something bad happens, like a car crash or cancer, he'll be capable of navigating it.

Trouble is I think the CCTV might have filmed me doing it. But I'm not worried. Once I explain about "The Hardship Generator", I don't reckon they'd sack me.

***

366 words

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love interacting with my readers.

124/366

Microfiction
9

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    Love this! Seems necessary.

  • D. J. Reddall14 days ago

    Such characters are probably more abundant than we recognize, often oblivious to the fact that they are aping your kooky protagonist!

  • This was hilarious in a dark way. I actually think this is what God does to us. 🤣

  • D.K. Shepard14 days ago

    The saying “practice makes perfect” came to mind but more like “practice makes perseverance” . I feel like this character’s motivations in preparing people for bigger trials by helping them practice with little hardships made a lot of sense! His hubris and the anecdote about Dave added a great comical tone!

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    Brilliant story and I love the concept too. Sometimes when I’m feeling old and crotchety, I think that the younger generations are not as resilient and can’t deal with hardship…. And then I think about the pressures of social media, doom mongering and dwindling resources. I’m not sure I’d like to be a kid/ young adult growing up now and having every single one of my stupid mistakes documented and shared for all eternity! I think each generation has its share of pressures and hardships to deal with! Well you definitely got me thinking on a Friday morning! Great one Rachel.

  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    I LOVE your story! Tremendously imaginative. So much to think about. How splendid! Hmmmm, The Hardship Generator. Great "superhero/anti-hero" name. Lots to discuss, so little time. First, the arbitrary nature of life in and of itself is capable enough at doling out the hard and the bad, so why pile on? I suspect that your character's ideas are intended to be both allegorical and real (which I applaud). You, as the writer, do not need to agree with your character, the self-appointed man who has taken it upon himself to step in. That's hubris, arrogance, and narcissism. IMO, he is not actually trying teach any lessons. He's more like Loki, a prankster with his own interests at heart. The broader concerns that THG brings up, I agree with, to an extent. Having seen the struggles of my grandparents' and their parents' generations, I agree that many among of the generations alive today do not have the resilience, fortitude, depth of character, etc., to deal with the devastating bad that happens. But then again, a great many deal with devastation every single day. I think your piece is intended to be thought-provoking, which it totally is so YAY, where it invites us all to think more about how well we've taught ourselves and the following generations how to persevere. In a great many cases, those who do know how to persevere today do not have the tools, exposure, intention, or wherewithal to be able to teach others. It's enough to hang on and not give in. And so my final point is this - we do not respect our teachers enough. Our teachers in the home. Our teachers in the classrooms. Our teachers in our elders. We have, as a race, generally, devalued teaching in favor of NOW, NOW, NOW and instant gratification. There's no time for the lessons. Which, if I'm reading your wonderful piece correctly, is at least in part, your point!

  • John Cox15 days ago

    I agree with Hannah . But I can’t possibly top Dharrsheena’s response. It’s an answer for the ages. How on earth did you dream to this goober up! I have met a few nut bags in my life, but your creation is a special case of kookery!

  • I will make it my life's mission to track down and kill this Hardship Generator! As if life isn't hard enough, he wants to do this shit! I'll show him hardship!

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    Ha ha. I was saying to my brother the other day, sometimes I side step a little luxury because I'm scared I'll get used to it. To be fair though, I think for many of us, the entire experience of school generated sufficient hardship.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.