Fiction logo

The Guardian

A Gargoyle Microfiction

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
30
The Guardian
Photo by Pedro Lastra on Unsplash

Day and night, I watch over the cathedral. I peek beyond the edge of its wall and stare down at the congregation as they enter and exit the cathedral’s double doors. Some cower in fear of me, some watch me in awe, but most ignore me, just another aspect of the cathedral’s architecture less significant than its mighty spires. If only they knew what I had done for this world…

I once protected mankind from demons—the likes of Beelzebub and Lucifer himself. But where did my loyalty get me? A permanent position frozen in stone atop this Gothic monument to fraudulent faith.

Every day, I see sin inside and outside the walls of this cathedral: thieves, abusers, rapists, murderers. Yet here I crouch, only witness to these crimes, unable to stop them. My blood boils as innocent lives are ruined.

But this won’t be my fate for long.

I can hear her calling for me. With each cry for my help, I can feel my joints loosen. With each ingredient she drops into the potion, another stony fleck falls from my body. With each word of her chant, I am closer and closer to it—true freedom.

I am reborn.

I am vengeance.

FantasyMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
30

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    Solid. An absolute gem , I love the ending and am waiting for a sequel. You added emotion to a stone sculpture that I am rooting for his freedom.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Stephanie!!! This is incredible!! It was inspiring and moody and just gave me all the creative vibes!! I love the narrative and where you went with this, simply a gorgeous piece!! I'd say my favourite from you so far!! Congrats on Top Story!! Please tell me this is in a challenge somewhere because I want to see it win and get more recognition!

  • Blake Booth4 months ago

    Great first paragraph. Would love to read more. Definitely peaked interest.

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Very nice work and really brings out the purpose of the guardian.

  • IT is one of the epic story

  • congratulations on your top story

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! This was so good. Great details with a tone that created an ominous sense of dread. I believe vengeance is justifiable. And I'll probably never look at a gargoyle the same again. Well done!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Wow!

  • Test4 months ago

    Bloody awesome! So much said in so few words. Bizzarely, I've pondered a gargoyle or two in my time. Beautifully written 🤍

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Test4 months ago

    Splendid work! Keep the momentum—congrats!

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Wow. I thought this was epic.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Ooh, this gets the heart beating, doesn't it.

  • Oooo, this was soooo exciting! I want him to come to life and stomp the life out of those sinners!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Somebody's gonna get it 😱😁

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    agree with Kendall

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Creepy as hell...and I want to know more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.