Fiction logo

The Guardian

Part 1

By J L DawsonPublished 2 years ago 28 min read
Like
The Guardian
Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

CHAPTER ONE

I wasn't sure what woke me up. It was the middle of the night, and everything was quiet. Looking at the clock I saw it was 3am. Another three hours and I would have to get up and get ready for my first day of school. I was not looking forward to it. Up until summer break I had been living with my dad in New Jersey. It was just him and I since my mum passed away when I was seven. But he had just been asked to go to a work thing in Hong Kong. I wasn't sure exactly what he did, but I knew it was important enough so that he was the only person able to do the Hong Kong trip. It was going to take him up to a year to complete, so, rather than me tag along, he sent me to stay with my Aunt and Uncle in a tiny Colorado town called Lakes Valley.

* * * * * * *

So here I am. Been here a week and school starts tomorrow. I'm not sure if I'm ready. I mean, I had a heap of friends at my old school, but I had grown up with them. Starting my senior year at a new high school, in a completely different town was not how I had pictured it. Oh well, it's not like I can do anything to change things. I just have to make the most of it and hope the year goes really, really fast. As my eyes closed my thoughts were still racing.

Sitting at the breakfast table later that morning I was still feeling nervous. Luckily the chatter of my cousins covered the fact I had not said a word since coming down. The twins Belinda and Candice, also 17 were talking over the top of each other trying to get Aunt Melanie’s attention. Out of the corner of my eye I could see Bryce slipping something into his backpack, all the time keeping one eye on his mum. Bryce was a typical 10yr old, pranks being at the top of his list of priorities. I was pretty sure Aunt Melanie was going to get a phone call from the principal at Bryce’s school. Pretty impressive, considering it was only the first day.

The noise ceased as Uncle Alex walked into the kitchen. One of the first things I learnt when I arrived was that Uncle Alex liked order. There was a specific routine to follow and Uncle Alex did not take kindly to any disruptions to that routine. Don’t get me wrong, he was not a mean person. He just had this way of staring at you that made you feel like a tiny bug that had no right being there, an intruder into his perfect, ordered little world. I did not want to take the chance of finding out what his temper was like.

Aunt Melanie jumped up quickly.

“Good morning, dear, I have your breakfast all ready”

Uncle Alex merely picked up his paper and sat at the end of the table. When Aunt Melanie placed his breakfast in front of him, he mumbled his thanks and started eating. Aunt Melanie watched for a moment then turned to us with a small sigh.

“Come on children, it’s time to leave for school”, she turned to me; “You don’t want to be late on your first day, do you dear?”

I gave her a small smile which faded as she turned away. I wouldn’t mind, I thought to myself. I grabbed the new school things my dad had bought me before I came here. Well, here goes nothing. I really hoped my first day would be uneventful. Little did I know just how eventful it was actually going to be.

* * * *

The big, brick building that loomed ahead was intimidating to say the least. The dozens of kids standing around the front steps was even worse. They all looked as though they had just stepped off the cover of a magazine. Perfect clothes, perfect hair, perfect everything. Oh great, I thought to myself, I haven’t even gotten out of the car yet and I already don’t fit in. Looking down at my jeans and t-shirt, I could only shake my head. I hung back as my cousins got out of the car with barely a goodbye. Aunt Melanie gazed at me through the rear-view mirror.

“Are you ok Ava?” she asked gently.

I took a deep breath,

“I’m alright Aunt Melanie”. I tried to reassure her but we both knew it wasn’t very convincing. I climbed out and prepared to face the wolves.

The first thing that hit me was the noise. It seemed to be just a mass of teenagers talking, laughing and calling out to each other. I had tried to convince myself that it might not be so bad here, with there being less kids at this school. But deep down I knew I was just kidding myself. Looking at all these kids, I realised it was going to be harder. Fewer kids meant less blending in. In a town this small anything new was bound to be a novelty. Any chance I had of fading into the background just went out of the window.

“Watch out!” a voice yelled from behind me.

Before I even had a chance to turn around, I was hit in the back of the head by what I found out later, was a football. As I was knocked to the ground, I saw stars. I lay there stunned, nothing hurt except my pride. A dark head appeared above my head.

“God, are you ok? I’m really sorry; you just walked out in front though”

Two hands pulled me to my feet. I found myself gazing into a pair of the bluest eyes I have ever seen. It took me a few minutes to realise he was talking to me.

“Are you sure you’re ok?”

“Um yeah, I’m fine” I stumbled over my words, still shaken by what I had felt when he held my arms. I had to admit, it wasn’t good.

“Hey, you’re new here aren’t you?” he smiled down at me.

“Yeah, I’m just starting today” I tried to give a small smile in return.

“Well, I’m Danny Adams. I’m the quarterback here for the Lions” he said this smugly then stood and waited, I think expecting me to be impressed. I decided to go for the ignorance approach.

“I’m Ava Parker”

“Parker? As in Belinda and Candice?” Danny looked even more interested at this.

“Uh yeah, they’re my cousins. I’m staying with them while my dad is overseas”. I started to look around, trying to find a way out of this conversation. I didn’t know what it was about Danny, but I was getting a really strange vibe from him. He seemed charming enough but there was something not quite right. Something I couldn’t quite put my finger on.

“Well, I better take off” Danny leaned closer, as though sharing a secret. “I’ll catch up with you later” He gave a wink and walked off back towards his friends.

I shook my head, which felt oddly clearer now that Danny was gone. Strange, I thought, making a mental note to keep my distance from Mr Quarterback. Looking back to the school I took a deep breath. First day, take two. I gave a cynical laugh as I headed to the front office.

* * * *

When the bell rang for lunch later that day, I sat for a moment, taking my time packing up my things. My morning had been a lot calmer compared to earlier. Classes had been easy and quiet and most of the kids had been, if not welcoming, then at least not hostile. What more could I have hoped for. As I slowly made my way out the classroom door, I was lost in my thoughts.

Suddenly I found myself flat on my back yet again. Great, I rolled my eyes, what are the odds? I looked up to see a now familiar face once again leaning over me.

“We really have to stop meeting like this, green eyes” Danny grinned as he hauled me to my feet for the second time today. Red-faced with embarrassment I could only look at him, “People are gonna start talking” he chuckled, still holding onto my hands.

“Thanks. For helping me up that is” I looked away and mumbled, “not for knocking me over again”

“Sorry? Did you say something?” Danny stepped closer and I instinctively moved back.

“Uh, nope, just thanks. Listen, I gotta go, things to do” I pulled my hands away and rushed off, not giving him a chance to answer. I glanced over my shoulder to see Danny hadn’t moved. And the cold, knowing smile he was giving me, gave me the chills.

I headed into the cafeteria, still confused over what that look meant. How could a simple, high school boy have that effect on me? I got to the front of the line and paid for my lunch. As I stood there looking for somewhere to sit, I noticed a girl sitting at a back table by herself. She looked like she just wanted to fade into the background. I sure knew what that felt like. I headed that way and looked down at her.

“Is it ok if I sit?” I asked quietly.

The girl looked up and just nodded, so I sat down and started eating.

“I’m new here. My name’s Ava” I tried to being friendly.

She barely lifted her head and mumbled something I couldn’t quite hear.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t catch that” I tried the more forceful approach.

The girl sighed and then looked me in the eyes.

“I’m Aimee Whitman” then, head down, she went back to playing with her food. I decided not to push the issue and didn’t say anything else. I looked around instead, trying to observe everyone without being too obvious. Something distracted me though, from the main entrance. Something was causing all the girls to sit up straighter and start fixing their hair, and checking make-up. What on earth? I couldn’t see through all the kids but something, or someone, was definitely causing a stir.

All as one, sort of like Moses parting the Red Sea, the kids that blocked my view moved aside revealing the most stunning (really, Ava? Who says that?) boy I have ever seen. He was dark haired, tall, fair skinned and really built. He moved with a lithe grace that seemed unnatural in a high school boy. No wonder all the girls swooned. I kind of felt like a bit of swooning myself. Despite all the attention the boy was oblivious to it all. His attention was held by the equally gorgeous girl walking beside him. She was staring animatedly up at him and seemed to be talking non-stop about something.

They bypassed the lunch line and headed over to the tables. Oh my, they were heading towards my table. I ducked my head down and pretended not to see them. They sat at the far end and the girl was still talking. The boy had a vaguely amused smile on his face but managed to look interested. While I was lost in my thoughts about him, it took a moment to realise his eyes were no longer looking at the girl. They were locked on mine. Damn! My eyes darted down, a blush flooding my face. I closed my eyes and counted to ten, hoping the heat would go away.

I was interrupted though by a tap on my shoulder. Oh no, it was him.

“Hi, you don’t mind us sitting here, do you?” his voice was like velvet, soft, and deep.

“No, not at all” I was proud that I didn’t fumble my words

He smiled then and oh what a smile it was. My breath caught, and I couldn’t help smiling back.

“My name is Nathaniel. Over there is my sister, Ebonee. I haven’t seen you around before” he sat down next to me as he spoke, his shoulder brushing mine.

Sister? “I only started today. My name’s Ava” I struggled to keep my voice even. Inside I was turning to jelly.

“Ava? Is that short for something?”

“Avalie. But I usually only get that when I’m in trouble off my dad” I glanced up at him.

“Mmmm, shame. I kind of like Avalie. It’s a beautiful name. But I wouldn’t want you to think you were in trouble and maybe avoid me”

Oh dear, he did have a way with words.

I smiled shyly back at him. His eyes were a really dark brown, almost black. You could get lost in eyes like that.

“So, how are you liking Lakes Valley High?”

“It’s ok I guess. Still finding my way around” I shrugged

“Well, if you need any help with anything, just ask. Some people around here can be, overwhelming?”

I just nodded my head. I totally got what he was saying. An image of Danny Adams popped into my head.

“I’ve got a few things to do before next class but I’ll see you around” Nathaniel smiled and got up, his sister following. I had completely forgotten she was there and I looked up at her as she walked past. She was looking at me, slightly confused. What is her problem? I just looked back down at my food and started eating, not even tasting it anymore. The kids at the school were all starting to seem really strange. But then again, maybe it’s just me. I laughed silently in my head, as the bell went for the end of lunch. I glanced over at Aimee but she was already gone. Wow, she’s fast. I hurried out the door and just prayed the rest of the day would hurry up. I just wanted to get out of here.

* * * * *

Later that night after dinner, which was eaten in complete silence (thank you Uncle Alex), I sat out on the porch in the big comfy swinging chair. The night was cool and clear and I could see hundreds of stars above me. I could hear Belinda and Candice laughing through their open window upstairs. I couldn’t hear what they were saying but I would bet anything they were laughing at somebody. I realised pretty quick that my cousins were your typical high school mean girls. I was starting to think that was why people were staying away from me at school. Maybe they thought I was the same. Shaking my head, I sighed. What could I do anyway? I couldn’t prove everyone wrong if they wouldn’t even talk to me. I had started thinking about going in when a movement out of the corner of my eye stopped me. I spun that way, my heart racing. Narrowing my eyes I tried to focus in the dark but the shadows were playing tricks on me. To me, it looked like somebody standing at the edge of the trees but I couldn’t be sure. Until it moved. I opened my mouth to scream and then realised that walking towards me was none other than Danny Adams.

“Sorry about that. I didn’t mean to scare you” the look in his eyes said that it was exactly what he was trying to do.

“Well, if you didn’t go sneaking up on people, they wouldn’t get scared” I was angry.

He laughed. Rather than be worried at how annoyed I was, he seemed to enjoy it.

Danny stepped closer. As he did, things started to get a bit foggy again. How strange. I shook my head trying to clear it. Danny had a look of concentration on his face. What the hell is going on? I tried to step backwards, away from Danny but my legs wouldn’t cooperate.

“Now green eyes, that’s better. Life is so much easier when you calm down. Don’t you agree?” he smiled but it was full of menace and didn’t reach his eyes. He reached forward and ran a finger down my cheek.

“So soft” it was like he was talking to himself.

I started to panic. I couldn’t understand what was happening. I felt like I was drowning. I could feel my mind slipping, things were dark. I struggled to get out of it, but I couldn’t move. Just as my eyes were closing, the feeling vanished, just like that. I opened my eyes to see Danny several feet away, lying on the ground, although already getting up. To my shock, right in front of him was Nathaniel.

“Leave her alone” Nathaniel sounded mad.

Danny just laughed. “Why? Do you want her for yourself?”

Nathaniel looked like he was going to hit Danny, but I could see him visibly pull himself together.

“I’m serious. Stay away from her”

Danny stepped forward. “You can’t be with her every second. I can wait. She’ll be worth it”

At that he spun around and walked away, whistling to himself. Nathaniel turned to me.

“Are you ok?” he sounded worried.

“Yeah, I think so. What just happened?” I was really confused and just wanted answers.

“You need to stay away from Danny. He’s bad news” I could tell he was trying to avoid the question.

“No kidding. I’m pretty sure I figured that one out. But I want to know why. Why did I feel like that? And what did he mean, you want me for yourself?” Frustration was quickly replacing the confusion.

“Look, Ava. I really can’t explain. Just believe me when I say that Danny is dangerous” Nathaniel was pleading now.

“Fine, don’t tell me. Thanks for helping, but I’m done. See you later” I turned to go inside, hoping Nathaniel would call me back and explain. However, when I got to the front door and looked back over my shoulder, he was gone. Great one Ava, that worked. I went inside and locked the door behind me. Whatever Danny’s problem was, I didn’t want him coming back. I went upstairs to bed, but spent the entire night, tossing and turning. Visions of dark shadows and glowing eyes haunted my dreams.

CHAPTER TWO

My head was pounding when I woke up the next morning, from either lack of sleep or the stress of last night. It was a struggle getting out of bed. I had a colder than normal shower in the hope that it might wake me up a bit. I turned off the taps and wrapped myself in my towel, then, turning to the mirror, I screamed! There was a face behind me. Spinning around though, I found nothing. My heart was racing but when I looked back at the mirror there was nothing there. My bathroom door flew open and Aunt Melanie came rushing in.

“Ava! What happened?” she was breathless, as though she had run all the way.

I took a deep breath.

“I thought I saw something”

“Saw something? Like a spider?”

I realised that she would never believe me if I told her the truth.

“Yeah, I think that’s what I saw”

Aunt Melanie sighed deeply.

“My goodness Ava, you scared me half to death. I thought you were hurt” she looked relieved.

“I’m ok, really. I’m sorry for making you worry” I wanted to reassure her.

“That’s ok sweetie. But hurry up, ok? It’s almost time to leave” she left the room and shut the door behind her.

I finished getting ready, feeling pretty stupid every time I avoided the mirror. Hurrying downstairs, I skipped breakfast and opted for just an apple. Everyone was already in the car and I didn’t want to keep them waiting. I arrived at school tired, hungry and really not wanting to be there. I could only hope that today turns out better than yesterday.

* * * * *

When the bell rung for the end of the day I was relieved. It had been a fairly quiet day compared to the last few. Danny, thank god, was not at school and Nathaniel seemed to be avoiding me.

I decided to skip the bus and walk home. It was a beautiful day and the noise on the bus was way too much for me to handle right now. I reached the park that was between the school and my aunt and uncle’s house. As I crossed under the big iron archway I shivered. In here, beneath the trees, the air was cooler. The shadows were long and dark and you could fool yourself into thinking it was later than what it was.

I walked as fast as I could because this place gave me the creeps. Every little noise made me jump and my heart was racing. I could just make out the end of the path and could see it getting brighter. When I was only a few metres away, I started to relax. Almost there.

Just then, I felt something brush my shoulder. I screamed and spun around but there was nothing there. I stood there, frozen, trying to make out the shapes in the shadows. I knew I wasn’t imagining things. Something definitely touched me.

Seeing nothing, I ran for the park exit. Just because I didn’t see anything, didn’t mean there was nothing there. As I reached the road, I turned and looked back to the park. As I stood there, I could just make out a shadow stepping back into the darkness. And I could have sworn it was a person.

I headed straight for home, my heart racing the whole time. I was so thankful when I finally made it through the front door. I hung my coat up and walked through to the kitchen. Aunt Melanie was in there, preparing dinner.

“Oh, hello dear. How was school?”

Still trying to catch my breath, I kept it simple.

“Fine thanks, Aunt Melanie”

“That’s good” Aunt Melanie went back to the stove.

Looking around, I wondered where my cousins were.

“Where is everyone?”

“Well, Bryce is across the street at Bobby’s house and the girls are upstairs getting dressed. They have a party tonight, for school I think.”

I nodded and headed up to my room. I could hear music coming from the twin’s rooms and bursts of laughing. I tried to sneak past and almost made it. The door swung open and Belinda stuck her head out, her hair all wrapped in curlers.

“Oh, it’s just you Ava”. She slammed the door again and then I heard more laughing. Probably about me, not that I care.

I went into my room and closed the door behind me. Turning my lamp on, I went and sat at my desk. Pulling out my journal I just sat there. Where do I start? I wasn’t even sure I could put into words what had happened, the way I felt. It didn’t make any sense. I gave up and went to my balcony instead. Opening the sliding door I went out into the cool night air. Closing my eyes, I stretched.

My mind was racing a million miles an hour. What the hell is going on around here?

There was something seriously weird happening but I couldn’t figure out what. It was like I permanently had a knot in my stomach that I couldn’t shift. Even the night air felt wrong. It was like there was something out there, watching me, following my every move. It sent chills up my spine just thinking about it.

Geez, get a grip Ava.

I shook my head and, ignoring the darkness, went back inside my room, locking the balcony door firmly behind me. I decided that an early night would be the best thing and hopefully things would be clearer in the morning.

I was in my bathroom when Candice burst through the door.

“Oh, hey Ava. What are you doing?”

I suppressed the urge to roll my eyes.

“Uuumm, brushing my teeth”

Candice laughed, as though I had just told the world’s greatest joke.

“I meant after, silly”

“Well, I’ll probably just head to bed. It’s been a long day.”

Understatement of the year.

“Well, we were wondering if you wanted to come to a party with us. There’s going to be a heap of people. Maybe make some friends?” Candice smiled, but for some reason, I got the feeling that she was hiding something.

“Uuumm, that’s really nice of you but I really don’t feel like it.

Candice frowned a little.

“But EVERYONE is going. Why would you want to miss it? I think you should come. So, get dressed, we’re leaving in 20 minutes” she breezed out before I could say anything else.

Damn, now what.

I really didn’t want to go. Being in a house full of virtual strangers really didn’t appeal. And no doubt Danny Adams would be there. All the jocks would be. Oh well, I guess I’ll just find a quiet corner and hide. I could always sneak out when the twins got distracted. Shaking my head, my headed back into my room to begin the daunting task of finding something to wear.

What does one wear to a jock party?

At my last school I wasn’t exactly part of the ‘it’ crowd. I had a huge group of awesome friends but we were more interested in books and movies then cheerleading and football. Going through my meagre supply of clothes I settled for my black jeans and green sweatshirt. Comfy and practical. It wasn’t like I was going there to impress anyone, I simply wanted to fade into the background. I stood in front of the mirror after getting dressed and tried to see myself as others do. With hair that was almost black and super straight, I certainly looked nothing like my blonde-haired cousins. My eyes were green, whereas their eyes were blue. I was average height and build and viewed myself as generic. Nothing spectacular. Nothing that would make me stand out. Exactly how I wanted it.

Heading into the hallway, Belinda and Candice were just coming out of their room. They froze when they saw me.

“Is that what you are wearing?” Belinda asked dubiously.

I looked down at myself.

“Yeah, what’s wrong with it?”

Belinda and Candice looked at each other, then turned back and shrugged.

“Nothing at all, I guess. Come on, let’s go. We don’t want to be late” Candice grabbed my hand and dragged me downstairs.

Oh boy, this was going to be a long night.

CHAPTER THREE

Pulling up to the front of the house, I could hear the music before I even saw the house. There were dozens of kids out the front and I could see more inside. It looked like half the school was here. I was really starting to regret coming. Being surrounded by dozens of strangers was my definition of hell.

The second we pulled up, Belinda and Candice jumped out and headed straight up the front steps, calling out to their friends. I hung back near the car, not really wanting to go in. I could not understand how I let them talk me into this. To me, it felt like every eye was on me, staring, judging.

I figured that standing near the car all night would only make me stand out more, so I started up the path slowly. I kept my head down and avoided eye contact. As I entered the front door, I couldn’t believe the amount of people that were crammed into the house. I was surprised that there was even room to walk around, let alone dance. The noise was overwhelming and every cell in my body was screaming at me to run. Looking around nervously, I recognised most of the people from school. Jocks, cheerleaders and all the popular kids. I so did not belong here.

“Well, well, well. If it isn’t green eyes”

I cringed. This was the last person I wanted to see. I turned around to find Danny standing behind me.

“I was kinda hoping we would run into each other again. Maybe pick up where we left it last time” he had a smile that didn’t quite reach his eyes.

I took a step back, but he seemed to take that as an invitation to follow.

“I don’t think so Danny” I tried to be forceful, but I couldn’t stop the shake in my voice. I hated that fact that he heard it too.

He laughed softly.

“You say that like you have a choice”

I could feel the now familiar cloud coming over me. I tried to fight through it, but it was no use.

“There you are Ava. What are you doing?” Belinda’s loud voice broke through the haze. At that moment, I didn’t care why she was there, I was just thankful she was. Belinda was looking confusedly back and forth between me and Danny, as though she wanted to say something.

I took my chance while I had it.

“I was just about to come looking for you” I hooked my arm through hers and dragged her away before Danny had a chance to say something.

‘What the hell Ava?” Belinda looked irritated. She yanked her arm and stood glaring at me. “Do you have any idea who that was? And you just stormed off without a word. How rude can you be?”

Before I could respond, she took off, sending one more glare my way. But if I was honest, I couldn’t care less. I was too thankful that, without her even realising it, Belinda had just saved my life. I realised that I needed to get out of here before Danny could find me again. I hesitated for only a second.

Should I let Belinda and Candice know?

I decided it wasn’t worth the risk and figured the quicker I leave the better. I pushed my way through the masses to the front door and squeezed myself passed a group of cheerleaders who had stationed themselves right in front of it. I heard vague mumblings from behind me but I really didn’t care.

As I hit the curb, I realised that I had no way of getting home. There was no way I was going back in to get the keys off the twins.

Good thing I have my runners on.

I started off in what I hoped was the right direction. I assumed I would reach a shop or something eventually where I could get better directions. It took about 10min to realise that the street was really dark, a lot darker than what I guessed was normal. Looking around, I noticed all the street lights were off, eerily, only in the area where I was standing. Looking back, they were on about 5 houses back, and they were also on about 5 houses in front of me.

I started getting chills and my hair stood on end.

What the hell was I thinking? Some creep is trying to hurt me, so I wander down a dark street by myself.

Ok, admittedly, it wasn’t dark when I started down it, but that was beside the point. It was still a really stupid move. I picked up the pace and tried not to look behind. But I could hear footsteps coming up fast. My heart was racing and without thinking, I started running. But just then, I felt a hand grab my shoulder. I spun around screaming, lashing out, feeling my hands connect with something solid.

But it was deep, familiar voice that finally registered enough to stop me.

“Ava, stop! It’s me. It’s ok”

I froze and, still breathing heavy, finally looked up. And realised the person in front of me was NOT Danny Adams, but Nathaniel. I sagged in relief and felt my knees hit the pavement. Nathaniel crouched down next to me.

“I’m really sorry. I didn’t mean to scare you. I saw you leave the party and you looked upset so I thought I would follow you to make sure you were ok. I really didn’t expect you to run”, he looked a bit sheepish, which only made him look all the more adorable.

As if that was possible.

“It’s ok. I thought you were someone else and kind of freaked out I guess”

I was starting to calm down, now that I wasn’t feeling like I was about to die. It also helped that Nathaniel was now holding my hand.

I slowly stood, making sure my legs would hold me. Nathaniel stood as well, still with my hand wrapped in his.

“Are you ok now?” he was looking closely, as if taking a mental picture.

“Yeah, I’m fine. It was probably stupid of me to walk down here by myself. I just really had to get out of there. It was starting to freak me out being around….certain people”. I looked down, not wanting Nathaniel to see just how badly Danny affected me,

“Let me guess, a certain quarterback of ours?”

Mmmm, not so easily fooled then.

I took a deep breath and decided that if I was to get any answers about Danny, Nathaniel might be my only chance. He seemed to know a lot more about what was going on then what he let on.

“What’s going on Nathaniel?” I kept my eyes locked on his, determined not to give up until I got some answers.

“What do you mean?” Nathaniel started to look wary and definitely uncomfortable.

“You know exactly what I’m talking about. There is something really strange going on and I think you know what it is” I was starting to get angry, more out of frustration with a growing amount of fear thrown in, especially as I could see Nathaniel did NOT want to talk about it, which meant whatever it was, was serious.

Nathaniel was clearly fighting with himself over whether or not to talk. Luckily, he seemed to decide on the talking as he sighed and looked at me, almost sadly.

“Let’s go find somewhere to sit. This might take a while and I would prefer not to be interrupted”

He held my hand tighter and led me further away from the party. I had a feeling that after this conversation, life was going to be very different.

Series
Like

About the Creator

J L Dawson

I am a mum, nurse, student and small business owner. Writing is my outlet and allows me the freedom to express myself without fear of judgement. I am working on two fiction novels, which I cannot wait for the world to experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.