Fiction logo

The Green Light

The Lack of Ability to Communicate

By Ronna CurtisPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
2
https://depositphotos.com

Mr. Engram. A well a rounded red-blooded American guy who believes he has caught the world by the tail. David does what he wants and when he wants, and he has a routine he follows; he goes to work and comes home, gets his jogging clothes on, and goes for a run. Saying hello to all of his neighbors who were working in their yards at that particular moment. Mr. David Engram is a nice man who will help anyone who needs him. His regular running route throughout the week is around the neighborhood, and on some weekends, he will drive to the Forest Park for a change of scenery.

On one of these runs, he plans on taking on a notorious trail that people go missing on. David also found out that Anthony, a buddy, was going up the same route, so they planned their vacations simultaneously.

David and Anthony are on the phone discussing the arrangements.

"I think we should meet up at the state park in the area and hike from there until we find a suitable camping spot," said David.

"Yes, good idea! I think we should try to make it there by eight in the morning; we will have all morning to hike.

"What? No party at the park before the hike! I thought you like getting started with a big bang! " said David.

"I think this hike will take the whole week, and we can't afford to waste any time on crazy parties."

"You have changed Anton!" said David.

"Not really. I just like hiking more than parties these days.

"I will see you at the park as close to eight in the morning as I can.

"You know I am going to pack snack bars, right! I will see you then."

They hung up the phone and had become antsy until the day of their hike. David gets up and does his regular routine. He checks his gear to make sure it is all placed in and on his pack correctly. David also adds protein bars, water, and emergency flairs and checks his cell phone for a full charge. He has a charger with a solar panel to help charge his phone and whatever needs charging while on the trail. Making sure all of the equipment was secured, he drove off for the state park. David drove away from his home and headed for the highway. He cranked up the music and thought to himself.

"This is what I enjoy the most! Good music and a long drive!"

David drove for an hour and decided to stop for some breakfast as it will be the last decent breakfast he will have for a while. He parked his car and went into the restaurant. To his surprise, David saw Anton waiting at a table to be served. He walked up to the table and said.

"May I take your order!"

Anthony turned around and started to smile.

"Hey David, I did not expect to see you here, " said Anthony.

"I thought I would get some breakfast before we start on the long hike."

"I guess we think with our stomachs," said Anthony.

"All I had before leaving this morning was a cup of coffee."

"Now, there is a breakfast made for success!"

"I know, but I thought I would get something on the way to the state park. Well, we can follow each other; I will let you pick the place where we start from, you to seem to find all of the good spots," said David.

David and Anthony ordered an enormous breakfast and then started out to the state park.

Finally, after driving for an hour, Anthony found a good spot to park their cars, and they wasted no time. They grabbed all of their gear and started on their hike. They were primarily silent during the first part of the climb as they were going uphill. Carrying all of their equipment uphill made them winded. Seven hours later, David and Anthony decided to take a break and eat some lunch.

"Anton, how much longer do you think we should go before stopping for the night?"

Anthony took out a piece of paper with a pencil.

"I have done a lot of research about this trail, and we should try to get to the first marker," said Anthony.

"What do you mean, the first marker?"

"The forest rangers put up markers throughout the trail; with the use of this map, we should be able to pinpoint our exact location."

After the two of them eat lunch, they start hiking up the trail again.

Four hours later, it was starting to get dark.

"We should stop and make camp," said David.

"Yeah, right here! The first marker! We can camp here!

"I will get some firewood, and you set up our tent."

"David, does the tent intimidate you?"

"No, you know how to put it up better than I do, but I can come back and help you if you want."

"No, that is alright. I will put it up this time, but you need to learn how."

The two of them get busy with their jobs, and before they know it, the camp is complete.

"Have you heard the legends people talk about this place?" said David.

"If you mean that people get lost up here, then yes, I have."

"No, I mean the legend of monsters living here in these woods."

"Your hilarious David, I guess now we are telling ghost stories," said Anthony.

"I guess that is really all they are is stories!"

"I am getting some rest. We get up early tomorrow!" said Anthony.

"Yeah, me too!"

They both get some sleep until a strange green light woke them. Both guys whisper to one another.

"What is that?" Said, David.

"I don't know!

"I am going to find out what it is.

"We both go! Said Anthony.

The two of them brought guns for protection, so they grabbed them and slowly peaked out of the tent.

"The light is coming from up the trail where it looks like a meadow is located," said David.

They slowly make their way up the path where the green light is emitting, and they can't believe what they see!

"I guess the stories are true!" Said, David.

"There are stories about that?

"Yes, I tried to tell you last night, but you would not listen.

They were hiding behind a cluster of thick bushes, and they believe they could not be seen. The two of them watched, and David got his phone out and started to film what they were witnessing. Anthony was a little impatient; he decided to make his presence known.

"Anton, what are you doing? You are going to get us both captured!"

"No, I will walk away from you.

David crouches back down so he can't be seen and continues filming. He sees a round object, the metallic thing that looks like a U.F.O. David continues to record everything that happens. Anthony walks over towards the U.F.O and starts talking to them. They have some type of scanning device or a weapon. They use it on Anthony, and it looked like he passed out! They pick him up by some invisible force that floats him up the ramp onto the U.F.O or spaceship. Then they started going towards David. The closer they get, he notices they have round heads and big round eyes. It doesn't look as if they have a nose, but they definitely have a mouth because they started talking to each other. Just when David thought he would be next, a green light starts emitting out of the ship. The light intensifies, and the little grey men start walking towards the U.F.O. They walk up the ramp, and after they are in the spaceship, the ramp retracts into the U.F.O. Then the ships start going up, just hovering above the tall blades of grass. David takes this opportunity to move into the forest where he believes to be safe from the U.F.O. It is a good thing he did because the U.F.O. moved over to the bush where David was hidden, and a beam of light hit that bush. He noticed bits and pieces of brush from the bush were going up towards the ship.

"Boy, I am glad I moved! David thought to himself! The ship took off up into the night sky, leaving David wondering what would happen to his friend!

As soon as the shock wore off, David started running back towards the camp as fast as possible. David began to put all of Antony's belongings inside the tent. Then he grabbed all he could, and he started down the trail towards his car.

By the time David reached his car, it was starting to get light outside. The first thing he did was go to the Rangers station. He got out of his car and started knocking on the door of the Rangers station. A tall ranger answered the door. Trembling, he started talking to the Ranger.

"You've got to help him! He is up there!"

"Come in, sit down and take a deep breath and tell me what is going on," said The Ranger.

David remembered video recording the whole event. He took his cell phone out and showed the video to the Ranger.

"Good grief! Their back! The Ranger immediately picked up the phone in his cabin and said, we have a missing guy; they are back!" said The Ranger.

"You need to give me a description of your friend," The Second Ranger said.

David gave a description of Anthony, and the Rangers started looking for him right away.

The Rangers kept David there until he looked better, and after having a paramedic look him over to make sure he was okay, they sent him home and said they would contact him the minute they found his friend.

David also told the Rangers that they had been planning this trip for months and it was to be a great time with a childhood buddy.

David returned home and waited anxiously by the phone until Friday.

The Rangers found his friend and called David.

"We found your friend, or we think it is him. He is unconscious, and we need you to identify him.

"Where is he?!"

"He is at Junction State Hospital"

"I will be right there!"

David hangs up the phone grabs his keys to go see how his friend is doing. He walks into the hospital, finds out where his friend is, and runs to his room. When he gets there, he is awake and staring at the ceiling. No one else is in the room with him. David walks over to him and puts his hand on his shoulder; it appears that nothing is wrong with him.

"What happened to you, Anton?"

Anthony starts to blink and turns toward David, and starts to cry.

"What happened to you?" David said again in a thunderous voice!

"You were gone the entire week!"

Antony stopped crying and started talking to David.

"I was taken into that round metal object, and the green lights started getting brighter and brighter! I remember I was frozen, but I could see and hear everything! I could see they were trying to find you, but you were too well hidden. It appeared to make them mad, and that is when we flew off. I wasn't frozen anymore so I could move around, and as I started to move around, they turned their attention to me. When they did, I got the impression they were trying to communicate to me, so I stood there and tried to understand. Eventually, they gave me a medal object and took me back where they captured me. I could not communicate verbally, and I did not feel like they wanted to harm me. The experience was overwhelming!

Sci Fi
2

About the Creator

Ronna Curtis

Ronna Curtis, Ladybug is the author's name she goes by when publishing a book. Life In Ann's World at Outskirtspress.com/Life in Ann's World. College graduate she enjoys authoring books to entertain a diverse population..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.