Fiction logo

The great strawberry caper

Bad influence

By Katie Published 11 months ago 1 min read
1
The great strawberry caper
Photo by Farsai Chaikulngamdee on Unsplash

It was all his idea of course. But being the older sibling I should have known better.

Once we knew that they were there, the temptation was too great.

Ripe strawberries just waiting for us. The plan was simple, get up early, go cross lots to the house up the street, and fill our buckets.

Oh the plans of the young and dumb, we were doomed.

Waking me up, “I think he must have stayed awake for most of the night, thinking on this heist” I momentarily had forgotten all about this boondoggle. This was the moment where I should have said “No, not doing it” but hindsight is and always will be 20/20.

We set off in the predawn light of a July Saturday. It only took five minutes or so to get to the neighbors strawberry patch.

Wasting no time, I began to fill my little plastic bucket. Trying to be quiet.

This is when it happened, my brother yelled “ Holy cow, look at the size of this one!” I tried in vain to shut him up.

Too late.

A door was opened, the old women yelling “hey you kids, get out of there!”

We where busted.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.