Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Girl

My First Fictional Piece

By Rene PetersPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Created with Nightcafe

She is standing there, in the abyss, speechless, staring at Rebecca. As Rebecca walks up to her, she whispers, "Who are you?" to the ghostly girl. "You already know me... I'm Erin," She says, obviously angry and annoyed at Rebecca for not knowing her name. Rebecca becomes scared, backing up slowly, not looking away from Erin. Erin's grin becomes mischievous, causing a great amount of anxiety in Rebecca. The fear is noticeable and Erin takes advantage of it. All of a sudden, Rebecca sees Erin's knife in front of her.

She fights to escape from the corner she has now accidentally backed herself into while trying to leave. Erin grips her arms, preventing any way to get out of there. Rebecca becomes more violent after holding back from fear. She tries to loosen the grip on her arms, attempting to flair them for freedom from the grasp. She is unsuccessful and Erin places the knife on her throat, not applying pressure yet. Rebecca freezes again, being the most afraid she has ever been in her life. She cries and pleads, "Don't do it! Please, I can't die!"

"I don't care if you say you can't. You need to."

"Why? What did I do?"

"You tried as hard as you could to forget about me! You know you did and so do I! Every time I show up, you get rid of me! I tried being pleasant and friendly but you didn't accept me being anywhere near you!" Erin says, putting just a bit more pressure on the knife.

"I was scared of you and this is exactly why!"

After Rebecca finishes her sentence, Erin slits Rebecca's throat completely, ending her life.

It was at this point that Rebecca woke up, relieved to realize it was all a nightmare.

***

Thank you for reading. This is my first fictional piece for fun (outside of school, years ago), so any constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated.

HorrorMicrofiction

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Test7 months ago

    Nice! Well done Rene, and an interesting twist!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Still gives me goosebumbs when I read it. reread

  • Cyrus7 months ago

    Rather relieving Deus ex machina... Would be interesting if the last line was excluded though!

  • This is great. The symbolism of Erin being the ghostly girl is intense. Right from the start Erin exudes the essence of death. I love this short yet dark tale. Excellent work René!

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    Good thing it was a dream!

  • Test8 months ago

    OMG That ending- was not expecting that! Really well done! And congratulations on the first fiction! Looking forward to many more 🤍

  • D. A. Ratliff8 months ago

    Very nice for your first fiction piece. A nice surprise twist, which is what keeps us coming back for more! Keep writing!

  • I don't have any constructive criticism to give, so sorry. I'm not good at that! I loved your story. Lol, imagine if it wasn't a dream!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Wow!! I did not see the twist coming! What a nightmare! You did so awesome!!

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.