Fiction logo

The Gift's of Grandparent's By: Danyel Fields

SSS story #2 is about after after Alex gave grandpa and grandma his answer to their question about staying and living with them.

By Danyel FieldsPublished 3 years ago 44 min read
Like
The Gift's of Grandparent's By: Danyel Fields
Photo by Zachary Keimig on Unsplash

After a long summer staying with his grandpa and grandma helping them on the family farm. Grandpa raised a question to Alex if he was willing to stay with them and help out on the farm and take it over once they passed away. Before the weekend was over he gave them his answer and he hold them yes that he was more than happy to come and live with them.

After he broke the news to his grandparent's about staying with them. He had the task of calling and telling his parent's the news. His dad was the only one that was questioning his decision. In the end they all agreed to allow Alex to stay with his grandparent's. They made a date for the next weekend to go and pick up his belongings from his parent's and that was going to be that.

After he got off the phone, he told his grandparent's the good news. They told him it was a time to celebrate, grandma had a pot-roast in the over. They sat the table and had a late dinner.

Grandpa looked over at him and said well with the good news I think it is right to let Alex say grace. Grandma just sat there shaking her head in agreement. They all bowed their heads and Alex started the prayer. After their late dinner they were all very tired after the day and decided to make it a early evening.

The next day was Sunday and they went to church every Sunday morning and evening. Either way Sunday was normally a pretty slow day all the way around but not this Sunday. After church let out and they made their way out of the church; Alex thought he saw the girl that was in his dream, but couldn't tell from a crossed the room. He really couldn't be sure but just maybe he will get to see her again sometime soon.

Just then grandpa smacked him on the shoulder and said hey Alex I have a surprise for you when we get to the house. But it can't take all day we don't want to miss the evening service. I mean in the evening is when all the fun stuff happens! He laughed as they made their way to grandma's van.

Grandma again was just shaking her head at grandpa. Then said Oh Boy isn't that the truth.

The whole way back Alex was playing twenty questions with his grandpa. He really wanted to know what they were going to do but grandpa wasn't giving him an inch. He was pretty sure even if he did guess the right thing his grandpa wasn't going to tell him, he thought as they were pulling into the drive.

He and grandpa went inside to get changed out of their Sunday best. Back in to their everyday farm clothes. It only took them a couple of minutes to get changed and then Alex was right back down the stairs.

Alex you can stay in here and wait for grandma to get the cooler around for us to take with us. I will honk the horn when I'm ready for you to come out. Then we can take off and do what I have planned. It should only take me about ten minutes, so don't keep me waiting out there for you.

Okay grandpa, you still aren't telling me?

Nope you will find out when you walk out the door, son.

Grandma grabbed the cooler out of the walkway and went to the refrigerator and started packing a couple sodas and a couple waters. Then she pulled out the stuff to make a couple pot-roast sandwiches for us to take along with us. Just in case we got hungry out doing whatever.

By the time grandma was done putting the cooler together and shut the lid; grandpa was outside honking the horn of his work truck. I grabbed the cooler off the counter and said Bye to grandma I headed to the door. I just stood there for a moment looking out the window, grandpa had a boat hooked up to the truck. I didn't even know grandpa owned a boat or even went fishing for that fact. He honked the horn one more time and I was out the door putting the cooler in the back of the truck then jumping in the passenger side.

How do you feel about fishing for the next few hours before we come back and get ready for evening service? grandpa asked.

It sounds great. I didn't know you went out fishing or really spent anytime away from the farm. It's been just over a year since dad took me fishing. For some reason he is just too busy to take me and do anything with me. But he always has time for a the other kids, football, basketball, softball, choir, there is always something going on. I missed that time out on the water.

Well, I do spend a lot of my time on the farm because that is my job and my home. Grandma and I are partners, it really takes both of us to keep the farm running and the house in good shape. This summer like I said was a test, a test for all of us in ways. We both took time off things we enjoy doing so we could spend the time teaching and testing you. Just to see if you were willing to do what it took to keep the farm running. Now is the time to relax some and me show you some of the thing I enjoy doing. Bitter sweet when all the hard work pays off and it is all worth it.

Wow, really you both took time off of these things to teach me. Well it was all worth it and I can't wait to be out on the water again. I am also glad to be able to be spending time with you without having to work all day doing so.

Just then grandpa took a right on an old dirt road along a tree line between two corn fields. Once we hit the woods at the rear of the fields, down the hill I could see the sun shining off the water. We were there, here finally an afternoon to relax with our lines in the water. Thank God for a day of rest.

When grandpa pulled up to unload the boat there wasn't anyone else there. Just plan and simple pull up and back in. I mean we had to get out and take all the straps off and put the cooler and poles in the boat but other than that back in and roll the boat off the trailer. I handle the rope as grandpa backed up and then I pulled the boat to shore after he pulled the truck back out and parked it.

Most of the time it was like dad and I all over again. Not much talking just two guys out enjoying the time out on the lake. We weren't the only one's on the lake. There were a couple of other boats and some people fishing off the shore on the other side of the lake. Getting closer to the other side I could tell there was another boat launch and houses with their back yard reaching the lake.

Yup, that is why it is the town lake. That's town right there and where most people end up going. Where we came in at is a private drive that not many people know about. One of my old friends granted me the rights to going there right before he passed away. His farm was left to his family and they really don't do much with it. They lease the land to another farmer to work it and that is the only reason it gets farmed. It is us that will be using that spot for the most part. The other family aren't much on fishing, they prefer to stay on their cattle farm.

So, let me get this straight, we are the only one's that will be using that side of the lake? So, we can come out and fish anytime we want to.

Yup, pretty much so.

That had to be one of the coolest things ever. Grandpa and I were going to be the only one's that used the other side of the lake to enter. So, other words when we just wanted to be alone we could go out there without be bothered and come out fishing or just chill on the little private beach. Man oh man that sounds like a dream come true.

Oh, and by the way you will be allowed to use the truck and boat whenever you have free time to come out here and fish. I don't mind if you bring a friend out with you either. Just be safe and don't mess up the truck or the boat because the things that are given can be taken away.

Yes, Sur.

Okay now since all that is out of the way, it is about that time to get headed back. We have to be on time meeting grandma at church for the evening service. We just want you to feel at home here because this is your home now as well.

I know grandpa and this is already starting to feel more like home than at my parent's. I know I have a lot more to get use to but I think I am more than capable of handling it. And I know if I have any issues I can come to you or grandma to gain some understanding of what I need to do. That is what I look forward to the most. Is having you both there to help me in times of need.

Grandpa faced the boat to where we were packed on the other side and we started our way back to the truck. Reaching the other side grandpa looked at me and said, this is going to be another test right here. I'm going to jump out and get the truck backed up into the water and then I want you to drive the boat onto the trailer. Now you don't have to go full speed to get it up there just take you time, okay?

Yes sur I got this I replied just as grandpa was jumping over the edge of the boat into the water. He hurried to the truck fired it up and was to the water in no time. I made a small circle in the lake to where I was going to be in line with the trailer. As soon as grandpa came to a stop, we were lined up and I drove the boat onto the trailer like I had done it a thousand times. He put the truck back in drive and pulled us right out of the water. Once he was stopped again, I jumped out of the boat and grabbed the straps out of the bed of the truck and started tying the boat down. Grandpa got out and strapped down the driver side as I was finishing the last strap on the passenger. He walked around me, your driving to the house another test to see if you pass.

I laughed as I walked over to the driver side and got in. I put the truck in drive and then we were on our way back down the road and headed to the house. When we got there grandpa showed me where to park the boat. No wonder I hadn't seen it, he had the boat parked behind the barn. You know, the one I'm not allowed in! It was a sharp turn to get the boat to where he had it. He got out the truck and was helping me guide it back in place. It took a couple of times to get it backed in right but at least I didn't run into anything and got the job done.

Then we headed our butts inside to get changed for church. We were both just enjoying the day and the fact that we got to get out on the lake for a few hours. As we entered the front door the smell of food over flowed our senses. Grandma spent the afternoon cooking but there was no food to be seen. I headed up stairs knowing that it was another pot luck at the church. So, that meant that she may just be there again. You know the girl from my dream or at least I could only hope.

I haven't told anyone about my dreams because I don't want them to think I am crazy or something. All I knew was it felt right with me being here and I must be having these dreams for a reason. Not sure on the reasons all yet but I am hoping that it will become clearer over time. This is a beginning of a new life and looking forward to living in this small town.

Grandpa and I were back out the door in less than ten minutes. Back in the truck and headed down the road. We had fifteen minutes before service started so we were going to be right on time to get in our seats before the preacher began prayer. Grandma would have a seat on each side of her waiting for us to show up.

Pulling into the drive there was no one outside anymore. So, that meant that service was getting ready to begin. Stepping through the doors with one smooth glance we both spotted grandma in the second row. Right up front to where we wouldn't be able to miss a single word that was said. She told me it was like story time for grown ups and these were the best stories ever told. She was right because the preacher Dave really did put in his all into telling the stories of Jesus and every other subject he touched. I could tell he believed every single word he spoke and that is what made him so special.

Service lasted just over a hour and just as closing prayer ended grandma leaned over and whispered, we have another surprise for you! We aren't leaving right away. We have another honor dinner down stairs, just wait and I can't wait to see the look on your face.

Okay grandma I don't mind because this whole weekend has been better than a birthday party. You both have surprised me more this weekend than my last ten birthday's put together. Plus, I feel there are going to be many more surprises in the coming years. Either way I believe I am up for every single one of them. I can't wait, just more than willing for the surprise because it wouldn't be much of a surprise if I knew about them already.

When we got down stairs there was yet another honor table set up but this time grandma and grandpa sat at a table that was in front of it. As I was about to sit down beside them grandpa pushed back in the chair I was about to sit in. Then he pointed up to the honor table and said your seat is up there this evening.

Without you both?

Yes, without us. This is about you not about us. So, take your butt up there and receive your honor for becoming a part of our community.

I made my way around the table and took the seat that was right beside Dave's seat. There was also another family that was going to be honored this evening but they were at the table yet. I just sat there and waited for everything to calm down and there she was, the girl from my dream. She was walking up to the table with her parent's and her younger brother. I moved seats closer to the end of the table. That way the family could sit together. I couldn't stop myself from smiling or from glancing down the table at her every few minutes. She is even prettier in real life than in my dream.

The last to the table was preacher Dave. He didn't even sit before he started to speak. Ladies and gentlemen we gather here today in honor of the good lord and also we have the Jackson family here to honor for all their hard work. They own the cattle farm here just outside of town. They help provide the community with much needed meat, milk, butter, and cheese throughout the year. Thank you for all you do for and in our community. We also have Alex Wildly here and this is a huge welcome into the community. Roy and Betty Wildly informed me last night that young Alex here made the choice to be a part of our community full time. We all look forward to getting to know you better Alex and welcome to the family. Now let's blow our heads and pray.

After prayer, we that have been honored were the first one's to get our plates. I stayed seated until the Jackson family was past, then it was my turn. Which that was alright with me, that just got me closer to her, the girl in my dream. What was I suppose to say, Hey I had a dream with you in it the other night! We are going to be together in a couple years! Do you want to get to know each other first? Just standing next to her had my whole body excited. There was no way to play it cool at the moment, there will be a better time to talk other than right now, there just had to be!

When we got back to the table and to my surprise, she sat right next to me. What was I to do now? Damn, she cut the timing to think away.

Hi, I'm Jamie Jackson. I am the true farm girl around here. Pretty much you want to know about meat just ask me and I can help you with that. If you want to know anything about what is happening or what has happened just come ask me. Just come to me if you have a questions about anything in this town and I will help you out.

Like did you know that the Wildly children were the only children to ever leave this town? The Wildly children! You are the only one that has been here for your grandparent's. The most out of all the children and grandchildren put together. Some of the parent's even have had bets going that there was going to be no one coming to save the Wildly farm. Well and now you're here!

Nope, I didn't know all that about my family. But by the way, my name is Alex Wildly. I decided just this weekend that I was willing to come and live with my grandparent's because I was tired of living that half assed country life at my parent's. I figure this would be a better life for me and my future family. And I will take you up on your offer, but the only thing is I will need your number if I'm able to ask you any questions about anything and everything around here!

The conversation changed and before they know it desert was being placed in front of them. A large piece of chocolate cake was served on this tiny little saucer plate. It was looking like the cake was about to topple over right off the plate.

This right here is your grandma's work Alex. She is one of the best cooks and bakers around these parts. She does most of the cakes for weddings, birthdays and bake sales. Pies, cakes, cookies you name it she can do anything. She also raises the most money to donate back into the community with her baking skills. They have always been giving people and some of us look up to them for that reason. Your grandma is an amazing woman.

Wow, you really do know everything there is to know about this town, Alex interrupted. By now it was the end of dinner and desert. When he was done eating his cake his grandparent's were gesturing to him that it was time for them to be heading home. Hey, but I will need your number to be able to ask you questions. My grandparent's are really to get going.

Well, this won't be the last time we see each other. I will have it for you ready the next time I see you. Jamie said smiling as she walked away back to where her family was. Alex watched her the whole way smiling, then turned to join his grandparent's so they could get going home.

As they were headed out the door his grandpa looked at him and said I see you are already making friend's, that's good. Just be careful with that little Jackson girl. I hear that she can be a handful at times but so can your grandma.

Just be careful Alex is what we're saying grandma cut in.

I will, besides this is only the first time ever really meeting Jamie. Who knows where it is going to lead? We might just become friends or never even hang out. Who knows at this time, right.

Once they were home Alex gathered his stuff to get in the shower after having a long day. Even with it even being a day of rest, it was still pretty busy. After his shower he told his grandparent's good night and sweet dreams and then he was heading up the stairs. He just couldn't wait to fall asleep tonight just hoping he would dream of her once more.

He laid there just looking up at the ceiling for what seemed like forever. You know how it goes when you really want to sleep, it doesn't always work the way you want it too. And then when you stop trying you just slip into that darkness. Well, kind of the same thing here.

I can't get to sleep, he thought to himself. Alex got up and starts down the stairs to get something to drink. It seemed to be more noise than there should be in the middle of the night coming from the kitchen. He slowed his pace just barely touching the steps. He wanted to be able to tell who's voices he was hearing. It was grandma and another voice, a familiar voice just not being able to put a face on it yet. The noise sounded like they were cooking but who would be cooking with grandma this late? As he stepped throw the door, there she was Jamie Jackson.

Jamie spotted him right off the bat. Good morning dear, you're up early or did we wake you up?

Oh, I couldn't sleep so I came down to get a drink. On the way down I heard all the noise and wanted to know what it was about. What are you gals do this late at night?

You couldn't sleep! You were sleeping like a baby when I went up there when I got here a hour ago. And what do you mean late at night? It's five in the morning. Anyhow, we are working on the stuff for the bake sale today. The fresher the better your grandma likes to say. And there are orders placed for today and we want to get as many of them filled as possible. Orders are something you suggested and helped collect. So, in ways it's your fault we are working this early in the morning hun.

Wait you're saying I'm the one that suggested you come over in the morning and help grandma with the bake sale? And it was my idea for you to take orders for a bake sale? Wow, maybe I'm smarter than I look.

Alex you are a very smart boy and great with ideas. We just didn't know on how much time all this was going to take. You just don't even know how good you are at time's. I guess you don't know but you really should.

Thanks grandma I try to do my best at everything I do.

Honey do you want a cup of coffee or orange juice? Jamie asked.

No thanks, I am just enjoying watching you for now. I'm making every moment count.

Jamie smiled and grandma said you're such a sweet boy as well. Jamie is a lucky gal for having you.

Thanks grandma. Jamie would you like to hit the lake after the day is through and do a little fishing? Even if it's after dinner would be fine with me. You and me going fishing in the dark, lying on our backs counting stars, He sang to her.

Yeah I would love that dear. I have to go home and make sure my parent's don't need me for anything but other than that I ready to be "where the cool breeze blows, she sang back. So, yes I would love to go fishing with you later on this evening.

Okay, that sounds like a date to me then. I will let you gals get back to work. I don't want to waste your time and take it all up. Now, that wouldn't be nice of me to do to our community. But babe if you need help with anything at your folk's just let me know. I'll come over and help so we can get out fishing a little earlier than if I didn't. Pretty sure your dad wouldn't mind me over. I may just have to talk him into going out fishing with me one of these days. For now I will be out of your hair, it seems you have a lot more to do.

Oh yes we do have a lot to do. You also have a long day ahead of you. So, you should start getting around for your day as well. Helping your grandpa put in the garden is no easy task. But I will let you know when I go over to my parent's and more than happy to have you there helping. I will give you a call once I get there and let you know what is going on hun.

Alex walked over to Jamie and gave her a kiss good luck for the day. Right before he was about to turn away, she placed both of her flower covered hands on his cheeks. She whispered in his ear I love you Alex Wildly and then put both her hands on his chest. He gave her another kiss but this one was on her cheek so he could whisper I love you too Jamie Jackson in her ear.

Right then he woke up to grandpa yelling up the stairs. Are you going to sleep through you first day of school or are you getting your butt up yet?

I'm up and will be on my way down in a couple of minutes. Alex rushed around his room getting everything he would need for his first day of school. Back pack in hand he was heading down the stairs. He grabbed a piece of grandma's chocolate cake with a cup of coffee because he knew he was going to need something for the day, then out the door he went. Grandpa was already in the truck waiting for him.

About time you got out here. I thought I was going to have pretended I was you and I don't know how well that would have worked!

Okay grandpa I don't think that would work at all. I guess if you want to you can give it a try and I will stay home on the farm? You could pull off being a really old sixteen year old, I have faith in you.

No, no, I'm just glad we are going to make it on time. But just don't forget I would like you to get at least the front lawn mowed this evening after you get back from school. You will still have chores to do around the house and you will also have to keep your grades up at the same time.

Yes sur, I will make sure to get at least the front lawn done. If not the whole thing by dinner it will be done shortly there after. I know I have chores to do as well as do my schoolwork. That is something I have always strived for is good grades grandpa.

Stop at the office and they should have your schedule for you. We have already talked to your principal to make things easier on you starting out. Just be on time to your classes and get your work done and there shouldn't be any problems.

No problems there. I will do my best like I try and do my best with everything grandpa.

Out the truck he went and the first stop after that was to the office. It took them a couple minutes before they found his class schedule and gave him a note just in case he was late for his first class. He took a look at his classes and his first class was English room 30. He headed down the hallway. There were only a couple of kids still walking to their classes as he walk into his class just as the bell was ringing. He handed the note to the teacher Miss. Anderson and she told him to take the only open seat there was and that was in the back. As he walked through the class, there she was Jamie in the second row from the front and the last chair by the wall. There she was just staring at me smiling.

Wow, what are the odds of this my first hour having Jamie the girl in my dreams in it. I wonder how many other classes we have together. I can only hope we have more than just this one hour together. We stared at each for most of the hour. Well, other than when we had to be taking notes. The good thing about sitting in the back was I got to see every time she looked back at me. I guess this is my time to think of what to say next. Next thing I knew class was over and it didn't take even a minute for her to reach me.

Hi Alex, I'm so glad to see you. I was wondering if I would have any classes with you and so it seems we do! Can I see your schedule and I will tell you if we have more classes together than just this one. Oh, look at that next hour is History with Mr. Baker, me too. Fifth hour Government Mrs. Smith, and sixth hour with Mr. Bull, Physical Education. Four classes together what are the odds? They really are pretty good odds since you are now in a class of seventy kids.

I didn't get so much as a word in before we were at our next class History with Mr. Baker. When we walked into class she was still holding onto my arm. She hadn't let it go since she walked up to me is English. We sat down third row forth and fifth seat. Pretty much in the middle back of the class. She sat right behind me and when she had the chance was saying something to me. Mr. Baker said something to her a couple of times about talking and then asked to see if she wanted to share it with the rest of the class. She would just chuckle and say no sur, and that made me want to laugh.

And then on to the next class Home Economics with Mrs. Baker. This is one of the three classes Jamie and I don't share together but none the less she was right back on my arm walking me to class.

It's okay I have Earth Science with Mr. Smith and it is right next store to Mrs. Baker's class. And then we will see each other when we switch classes and then our next two classes we are together again. Then we will see each other at the end of the day, right?

Yeah we can meet up at the end of the day. I just have to be out front for when my Grandpa shows up. I do have stuff to do after school and then I have to get my school work done. Those are parts of the deal I made with my grandparent's about staying with them.

Then she slipped off my arm and said get to class you don't want to be late. I will see you after class, I promise, as she stepped through the door way out of site.

In Home Economics I couldn't stop thinking about her. It was already like there was a piece of me missing without her being there. Is this all because of the dreams I have had about her? Or is it just crazy I'm feeling this way already? I sat there and wondered if she was sitting at her desk thinking about me at the same way I was thinking about her? It seemed as time moved slower without her by me.

Mrs. Baker must have noticed I wasn't really there in class because next thing I know she ask, Mr. Wildly am I boring you?

The only thing I could think of to say was, No, Ma'am I was just thinking about what I have to do after school, sorry. Than the bell rang thank goodness class was over.

Out in the hallway, it didn't take long at all and Jamie was right there. She pushed me closer to the lockers so we were out of the way of the other kids trying to get to class. This has be the closest we have ever been. She smelled of vanilla bean and lavender. Just like I was close enough to a flower to have one in my face. I flower that could stay there as long as it wanted to.

So, how was it? Home Economics? You know your last class? Was there a lot of notes to take down?

Oh well, I don't know. I wasn't really there. I was thinking about other things most of the time. You know how the farm life is and all. A million things to do and only ten minutes to get them done.

Oh okay, well be on your toes in Earth Science Mr. Smith can be a hard ass if you aren't paying attention and taking notes. There should be enough notes to keep you busy and on track in there. Okay, well got to get to class I have to go, see you after class.

Okay, see you after class.

Jamie was right there was plenty of notes to keep anyone busy in class. Mr. Smith went through two chapters of work and then had us do a pop quiz at the end of class. Just to see how much we were paying attention, he said. I got an eight out of ten. So, I guess I did pretty good, since there were some kids that only got a five out of ten. I was so relieved when the bell rang because some of that science is crap and the other is what I already know.

Next up is Government with Mrs. Smith. Now this should be fun, I only get how some it is ran. The other part isn't how the government really is. I know enough about the government to know that some of it is true and other's of it is lies. Anyhow, at least Jamie and I will be back in the same classroom again. It just has to be better with her there.

Jamie was right there after class and we walked to Government together. It was like we were already a couple but we haven't said it out loud yet. Her holding onto my arm with everyone in school watching, was pretty much a sign that we were together without even saying it. This time was a little different she didn't start talking right away. She just held my arm as we walked into class and just like second hour, she sat right behind me.

During class there was time's that I could feel her panicle on my back trying to get my attention. If not to say something it was just to let me know she was right there just in case I wanted to say something to her. Sometimes it felt like she was drawing things but couldn't really tell what it really was. I would ask her what she was doing and she would just giggle not saying a word. Mrs. Smith just looked at us a couple of time's but didn't say anything to us. Which I am taking as a good thing but either way I was happy for class to be over.

Now was the fun class Physical Education. I don't know about the teacher Mr. Bull but it has to be a fun class not having to sit behind a deck taking notes. Jamie and I split apart as we had to go into different locker rooms. We will still see each other once again in class. I wonder how she is going to act in this class. He broke out in laugher to himself as he was getting changed.

Entering the gym Jamie was already over with a group of girls probably her friends talking and giggling. She kept on looking over at me with a smile on her face but she wasn't waving me over. So, I just stayed over by the guys and listened to them talk about their summer's. Good thing I did stay over by the guys.

Mr. Bull came out of his office and told us to line up boys on one side the girls on the other. Now, let's see how many of you showed up for my class. I know some of you don't like me or just don't like my class but I am here to teach you how to get or keep your bodies in shape. We will play some games along the way and just know if you choose to sit on the sidelines you will not pass my class. Today and the next week to two weeks, I will be teaching you on how to play dodgeball. That is also why boys are on one side and girls on the other. First game we play today is boys vs. girls! Does anyone have a problem with that? No, good the rules go like this;

1. If you throw a ball and it is caught you are out.

2. If you throw a ball and hit someone and the ball isn't caught that person is out.

and 3. The only way to bring someone back in from being out is by catching a ball thrown by the other team.

Does everyone understand the rules?

Yes sur everyone said at once.

For the most part it was a fun class other than Jamie trying to throw me out all the time. Like I wasn't going to caught the ball, then she would just stare at me from the sideline until she got back in. She was on a rampage trying to get me out. She had been out four or five time's just from me, not counting the time's someone else caught the ball that bounced off me. A couple of her friends got me out. Time's when I wasn't paying attention to them. I was too busy laughing at Jamie for being out. Just as the game was ending she finally got me and it was a good one right in the side of the head, I had to laugh about it with how the ball bounced off my head. She said sorry but hard to believe her with how hard she was laughing.

Time to change and get ready for my last class of the day Social Studies with Mrs. Bull. I just noticed that all my teachers seemed to be together. There was only Miss. Anderson that was single or not married yet. But anyways Jamie was already dressed and standing outside the boys locker room when I came out.

I'm sorry, I didn't mean to hit you in the head, it just happened. Please don't be mad at me about it?

I'm not mad at you about it. We were playing a game throwing balls at each other. I don't know about you but that was a lot of fun. I just wish it would have lasted a little longer and then I could have got you back with all your friends watching. That would have been pay back but just look at it this way, we are going to be playing dodgeball all week long, maybe even two weeks.

What you don't forgive me for hitting you in the head?

Oh, I forgive you but that doesn't mean there won't be some payback.

Just remember you said you would meet me after school.

Yeah and you said you would have your number ready for me the next time you seen me but I haven't got it yet!

Meet me after class and you will have it, just meet me after class!

Okay I will meet you after school is out up by the front. As she let go to go to her own Social Studies class.

Social Studies class went by rather quickly and got most everything done for the day. I was lost in my own thoughts when the bell rang. I didn't even know that much time had passed. I gathered all my stuff up and made sure it fit in my bag just right and headed for the door.

This time Jamie wasn't right there and I was alright with that. I went to my locker first and dropped off some of the books I didn't need to take home and head back up to the front of the school. There she as waiting just like she said she would be with a tiny piece of paper in her hand.

Here's my number just please don't call later than nine. By that time the rest of the family is trying to go to sleep after being up early in the morning. And don't forget I am happy you are finally here and here to stay. I will see you tomorrow if I don't hear from you tonight.

I don't know if I will be able to call you tonight because I have to mow the lawn once I get home and then dinner and school work. But I will totally see you tomorrow. I'm also glad I'm finally here to stay as well. As we walked out the front doors I could see grandpa's truck he was sitting there waiting for me. He didn't seem to mind waiting for a little bit.

Jamie out of no where she gave me a hug and started heading away saying I will see you tomorrow Alex.

I will see you tomorrow Jamie. I said as I started my way to grandpa's truck.

Sliding into the truck grandpa looked at me and said so how your first day in school?

It went well. Jamie and I are in four out of seven classes together and well the teachers seem to be all pretty good people. Other than History and Science I should do pretty good. I know it all means something to someone but that doesn't mean that is all going to stick in my head. We got to play dodgeball in PE today and that was a whole lot of fun. It was girls vs. boys and it was a pretty close game.

That's good you had a good first day at school. Do you remember what I asked you to do this morning?

Yes grandpa, I will get the lawn mowed shortly after we get back to the house. I only have a little bit of school work but that can all be done right after I get done with my chores.

Getting to the house I could smell grandma was already cooking dinner. Which was good because I am hungry after the day at school. And will be even more hungry after I get done mowing the yard. Either way I still hope there is still some of grandma's famous chocolate cake left for desert. I had to hurry and change because it was going to take a couple hours to get the front lawn cut and I'm going to try and get it done before dinner or shortly there after.

Back out the door I went to the tool shed to get the mow and weed eater out. I made sure to make sure they were both were full of gas before I even got started. That way I wouldn't have to stop until the job was done or close to it. I was just waiting for dinner time came around because that meant I would be almost done.

Starting from the mailbox like I do every time. I was mostly done mowing when grandma came out the door and rang the bell for dinner. All sweaty from mowing, it was a good thing I only had about another half hour of work before I could put things away for the night but dinner was sounding oh so good right about now. So, I shut down the mower and headed my way inside to wash up for dinner.

Sitting down grandpa and grandma were all ready eating. I bowed my head and prayed and gave thanks under my breathe. After that I started loading my plate with mashed taters, cream corn, and gravy. It was fried chicken tonight another meal grandma knows how to put her special touch to. I grabbed two drumsticks and a thigh to go along with my sides. Man, it was smelling good.

Looks like you're a little bit hungry tonight? Grandma said to break the ice.

Yeah it's been a long day. I'm almost done with the front lawn and still have a little school work to do once I'm done with that.

You grandpa tells me you're hanging out with that Jackson girl again. I really hope she doesn't get you into any trouble.

Yes ma'am I have been and she seems to be a sweet girl and no I won't allow her to get me into trouble and if she is a troublemaker like you say. Maybe I will be the one to turn her away from that life. We share four of the same classes and you never know she maybe the one that can help me pass Earth Science and History my two worst classes. Grandma is there anymore of that chocolate cake left?

Yes, dear there is some in the kitchen on the counter. You really do seem to like my chocolate cake.

Yes, ma'am it is some of the best cake I have ever eaten. I don't see why you haven't started a bakery in town yet! I know with how good your food is you wouldn't have a problem selling it anywhere. I mean you do bake sales and never bring anything home. So, that has to be a good thing, right?

Yeah, I have thought about it before but I would need more people than just me to be able to pull off a bakery. I means that is a lot of work for an old woman like me.

I'm sure you wouldn't have any problems around this town with trying to find help. I hear you even do wedding and birthday cakes for people around here and I have been told that some girls and some of the guys want to learn how to cook from you. You would probably even make a better teacher than Mrs. Baker the lady that teaches my Home Economics class.

I know Mrs. Baker she is a good lady and the food I have tried of hers tasted pretty good.

Yeah but I bet it doesn't taste anything like yours. As I shoved the rest of the piece of cake I had in my mouth.

Grandma laughed and said probably not.

Will I have a job to finish so I will talk to you in a bit if you're not busy.

Grandpa said hold on! I stop at the other end of the table and he slid the work truck keys over to me. It's your truck now. Just be careful she is still in my name. You can call it a gift for all the hard work you've already done.

Thank you grandpa I said as I rounded the table and gave him a hug. It's the best present ever.

Now you have to be able to make it to place's on time. So, this means no being late for anything because you have a truck to be on time.

Yes sur, looking over at grandma she looked just as excited as I was about me having the truck or maybe she was smiling because of the excitement that anyone could read on my face right now. Thank you so much but I really have to get back at it. Than I have to shower then school work and then get some shut eye.

Oh, one last thing! That on the wall over there is your chore broad. Take a glance at it. You can see I have left you some free time on some of the evenings and on some weekends. The faster you get done with things the more free time you will have. Does all that sound good to you?

Okay, yes it makes since to me. It isn't much free time but it works. School, chores, and home work.

Like I said you get them done faster the more free time you will have and plus you have a truck now, don't forget that! You can even do chores the day before or the day after. You just have to get them done.

Oh okay that works even better. I got it now that sounds even better now.

Now get outside and finish what you started.

Yes sur, I said turning toward the door and heading back out to finish the lawn. It only took me the half hour like I thought it would. Before heading inside to take my shower, I went over and sat my happy butt in my truck. I sat in there for about ten, fifteen minutes. When I got out, I must have shut the door to hard because grandma poked her head out the door to see what was going on.

What are you doing? she asked. I just stood there for a moment and then it clicked. Oh you were just sitting in your new truck.

Yes grandma that is what I was doing, just sitting in my truck. It might be an old work truck but it's my old work truck now.

She pulled me in for a hug and said, Yes it is your old work truck now. I'm just so happy that you're happy here. It's been a long time since we have had anyone living with us or even helping out around the farm. Grandpa might not say it all the time but he is glad you are here as well.

I know grandma but he is showing it more and more. We don't always have to talk to know what each other are thinking. He has told me that he wants to make me feel like I'm at home here and I really do. This is even better than living with my parent's. At least it feels like you both want me here and I'm not some afterthought.

Oh, you should never feel like you're an afterthought. I'm glad grandpa is opening up and telling you things with and without words, that's a big deal for him. Now get inside and take your shower you sweaty boy.

Yes grandma. With all the excitement and work I didn't realize just how tired I was. Once I was done with my shower, I told grandpa and grandma good night and sweet dreams. Then I made my way up stairs to do the school work I had to finish. Then off to bed to get some sleep for the next day.

To Be Continued

Series
Like

About the Creator

Danyel Fields

I have fell on hard time's many times but the things that keep me going are the songs, stories, and poems that I write within. They can make me smile on dark days or they help twist dreams the dreams I have.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.