Fiction logo

The Gift

A Romantic Story Based on a Dream

By J.M. PowellPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
The Gift
Photo by Tomáš Vydržal on Unsplash

"Now boarding, flight 5431," the flight attendant announces.

I walk over and hand her my ticket.

"Are you alright, ma'am?" she asks.

"I'll be fine. Thank you. Flying makes me anxious. Will there be alcohol available for purchase?"

"Yes, ma'am. I'll be right with you on that once everyone has boarded."

As I find my seat, I cannot believe this is happening. The woman of my dreams is down to a few hours away now. I have waited three years to meet her. Now I finally can. I am joining her along with more who support her mission to help others and we are going to run a camp at Camp Hope to inspire the underprivileged youth of Los Angeles.

I look up moments later and see the flight attendant heading toward me.

"What would you like to drink?" she asks kindly. Her eyes try to comfort my anxiety.

"Bourbon. Three of those little bottles."

"Alright. I'll be right back with that."

I settle into relaxing with the drink when she comes back with it. After a little bit, it brings about the bravery that comes with drinking and the flight becomes less terrifying. The pilot comes on four hours later and announces our upcoming landing.

At the airport in Los Angeles, she will be waiting at the gate to greet me. I do not know what to do with myself. I am so happy. I am also infinitely nervous.

Moments later we begin landing. When we stop and they announce we can go, I begin gathering my stuff. The walk into the airport from the plane feels like what I imagine the first walk on the red carpet would be like. A dream is coming true.

Approaching the final steps, I see her first and I feel a smile forming on my face that reminds me of the light in hers. She catches my eye then and flashes her smile right back. Oh my, it is so much more bright in person that it nearly makes me dizzy.

"Hi! It is so wonderful to finally meet you!" she says to greet me. Then she gives me the warmest hug. It feels like a fuzzy soft blanket on bare skin.

"Hi! I'm so happy the wait to meet you is over!"

"Aww," she says and looks down shyly momentarily, still wearing that breathtaking smile.

"Do you want to get some dinner somewhere before we head to the camp? We have a little time before we have to be there, right?"

"That sounds like a great idea. I know just the place," she offers.

***

We arrive at a restaurant called Bellini's and head inside. I am surprised but happy that it is a romantic atmosphere. The light is low. There are roses and lit candles at the center of each table. The tables are wooden and dark brown but not too dark. The booths are a rich deep maroon like the roses. Being Los Angeles, the fireplace features a fake fire on a TV screen where the fire is supposed to be but it is very beautiful. The rest of the fireplace is real.

Since she is familiar with the restaurant, I allow her to order for us when the server arrives at our table. She orders wine, breadsticks, salad, and lasagna for two.

As we wait, I can't help but notice how the light in her eyes just turns my heart to liquid as I examine her against the dim lighting around us. Flickers of lighter brown shine in her eyes with each flickering of the candles. That told me when I see them in the sun, I will probably faint at their glimmer.

She looks back at me like she knows what I'm thinking but she doesn't announce it. I imagine her eyes telling me mine look like a sunset by the ocean with their bit of gold in the center surrounded by blue because she is giving me an admiring look too.

Without thinking, she offers her hand across the table, mirroring her overall masculine gentlewoman appearance, and I become lost and floating in this mesmerizing reality. I don't have to think about answering her offer and immediately slide my hand ever so gently into hers. Her hand is like silk. The blend of our energies runs up my veins in my arm and lands at my center, forming a burning core there. I have to close my eyes a few moments to savor it, not to mention, handle it.

We do not speak throughout the entire time. Instead, we enjoy the exchange of our feelings in each glance while holding hands and we silently say much more to each other than any words could anyway. We are both too speechless at how amazing our souls are colliding in close proximity.

After the meal, we head to the camp site. She has her driver take us there. I can hardly hold myself up from all the joy and I also want to be in her arms. I lean into her during the car ride and she wraps her arm around me.

***

We arrive at camp and she asks, "Would you like to stay with me in my private cabin?"

"Yes," I smile at her.

I find her on her comfortable nice cot after getting ready for bed. "Would it be alright if I sit beside you?"

In a dreamy, sleepy voice she answers, "Of course."

I sit down at a ninety degree angle to her head and offer her my lap as a pillow. She smiles and accepts it.

"You are like a treasure of diamonds in my arms. Your smile is like their glimmer in sunlight. I have gone through so much before you came into my life and began helping me mend just by being yourself," I tell her as I gently run my fingers through her short, blond hair. I feel her melt into me.

Exasperated she looks up and nervously says, "You are so incredibly beautiful and kind."

Listening to her say this is now exasperating me too. She sits up then, comes inside my legs to sit at the same ninety degree angle, and leans her head on my shoulder. Our arms are around each other as if we have caught our flying dreams.

I cup her face with a gentleness appropriate for such a delicate treasure and caress her cheek with my thumb.  Then I lean into her so slowly and kiss her slow and deep with eagerness. For the first time in my life I feel the same energy and eagerness in return. All I can feel is immense gratitude and love. I let go like gravity in her arms.

***

I wake with the sun's first peek above the horizon. She is next to me under my arm that is wrapped around her side. The sunrise is amazing but it has nothing on her. I move away slowly so I won't wake her. She looks so peaceful that I hate leaving her.

I go to find a piece of paper to write her a haiku to leave next to her pillow.

Written by Janice Powell

After finishing I reluctantly leave to get ready for the day. I smile the whole time, especially into the mirror while I am in front of it. Breakfast time arrives. I start making my way to the cafeteria.

At the entrance, there she is, entering at the same time, but she isn't mirroring my smile.

"Good morning," she says, in a business tone.

My heart slumps with my shoulders, "Good morning." I try to say it with as much enthusiasm as I can, but I am so confused about what is happening. Was last night a dream?

***

After the first day of camp comes dwindling down, I set off to look for her. I want to know what is wrong. It felt like I had lost her just as soon as I had found her when I heard her tone this morning.

When I reach her cabin I decide to knock, given what transpired at the cafeteria this morning. She opens the door and I watch as a mix of emotions run across her face. Some shyness. Some fear. Then a fleeting moment of our deep affection.

"May I come in so we can talk?" I ask.

"Yes," she gestures inside with her arm.

We sit on the sofa. "What is wrong?" I ask her in a gentle tone while placing my hand on hers. "I know I am as important to you as you are to me."

"I'm just scared but I want you to know I am brave too. We have uncommon traits as a couple and I have also been hurt in the past. There is our two decade age difference and our similar masculine appearances that concern me a little bit. I think my actions this morning were my fear reaching the surface once we had a brief time apart. Everything is perfect when I don't let my mind get in the way. Yesterday was so instant and wonderful. Please don't worry. I am really sorry about this morning. Thank you for the incredibly romantic haiku that I found next to me when I woke. I carried it with me all day. I feel the same way about you and I love how we just know that at the times we are silent and in the moment when next to each other."

I trust her and feel her honesty and I smile to let her know that. She then initiates a kiss for the first time. It is apologetic for her mistake and then becomes full of passion and warmth.

I pull back momentarily and look into her eyes. "I know with every fiber entangling us that our future is bright."

Love
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Powell

You can make anything by writing. -C.S. Lewis

My passion is to spread what it means to love.

My published books of poetry: Quantum Leap Overmorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.