Fiction logo

The funny farm

Only my mind knows what’s in my mind.

By Ayman BaroudiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Over my elder brother Maurice’s farm, three birds were flying. Maurice targeted them, and I hugged Sofia till none of the birds survived.

“Excellent score,” Maurice said proudly, “three birds in three shots only.”

His next goal was Sofia. He was not in love with Sofia. He only wanted her because she was my love.

“Come, let me teach you how to hunt.” Maurice handed the shotgun to Sofia and helped her place her palm along the stock wrist’s side.

“Now rest your index finger on the trigger,” his harsh voice reflected his toughness and alpha male personality, then he got closer to Sofia to make sure she’d wrapped the remaining fingers properly.

Since school time, Maurice’s favorite game was to hunt what was mine, I thought, but this time is different. The personal stakes were high. Maurice was desperate to gain Sofia’s heart and crash me forever, but I’d love to murder him rather than let him get away with this. Suddenly I heard my silent voice saying, kill him now. He has positioned you as the underdog for more than twenty years. It’s enough. It’s time to kick him out of your life. I checked the fixed blade knife in my coat’s pocket. It was there cold and ready as usual.

“Shoot, shoot right now.” Maurice cried. I looked up. A flock of birds was on the horizon. I closed my eyes and soon heard a loud pop.

“Bravo, good shot.” Maurice cried again.

I opened my eyes. Sofia and Maurice were jumping happily around a bird bleeding to death. Then they hugged each other and exchanged Cheek kissing.

He’s halfway to her heart. I was sure now Maurice was going to win Sofia’s heart; he always wins. Kill both of them and save your dignity, my silent voice cried. I knew I would earn the death penalty, but I didn’t mind. Yes, do it, do it right now, you’re strong and not underdog anymore, my inner voice insisted.

It was silent again; Sofia was targeting a new flock of birds. An engine’s sound broke the silence, a long black van arrived, and three men came out of it. One of them, who was in a white uniform, approached me. “I hope you’d enjoyed your weekend, Mr. Brown.” He said softly and invited me to go into the van. I knew they were taking me back to that white building where life was dull, and nurses forced me to take colorful pills. Sofia and Maurice rushed, telling me goodbye, “Don’t worry, Dr. Smith, confirmed you’ll be released soon. And till then, he would permit you to spend the weekend with us.” Sofia said.

No, not again, I screamed silently. I must make my voice heard. I’m not mad; I’m not, I’m not, I confirmed to myself. I was not ready to go willingly to the mental home. I knew I was not crazy, but I’d lost my mind when Maurice, my brother, had become a movie superstar, and I couldn’t be any more than an office boy. What hurt me most was that everyone blamed me because my mind didn’t help me better. Yes, I admitted I was not brilliant, but it was not my fault; it was the natural structure of my brain that never worked well.

I gazed at Maurice. He looked healthy and happy and not at all in sympathy with me. On the contrary, he was pleased to get rid of me and hunt Sofia along with other women and birds. I checked the fixed blade knife in my coat’s pocket, but I did not find It. How! It was here a moment ago, cold and ready to kill!

How can I kill without a knife? What am I supposed to do?

“Mr. Brown, we’re running out of time; please get into the van.” The man in a white uniform screamed, but I did not listen to him. I had a job to do; first, I had to kill.

“Mr. Brown, we’re running out of time.” The man in a white uniform screamed the second time, while the other two men looked like bodyguards got ready to force me into the van where I have no choice but to be quiet once again.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ayman Baroudi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.