Fiction logo

The Frozen Pond Five

This pond has me questioning everything I thought I knew.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Frozen Pond Five
Photo by Ben Collins on Unsplash

“You are right, Leroy. We will talk about work first, but this conversation isn’t over by a long shot. You can’t come up to me and confess your love for me like this, knowing that we have a dangerous job to do. What are you even thinking about?” Tazi asked.

Now at this exact moment is when reality set in with me. I have already fallen in love with Leroy, and I am currently running frightened. Now understand me here; I am not afraid of Leroy, the man, my best friend in the entire world, and the only man that I have clandestinely been fantasying over for years without him knowing about it.

Seriously, if I sit down and think for a minute, Leroy has always been there for me no matter what I may be facing. He has never left my side, and he has always been consistent, so what’s not to love about the man in my world. However, that kiss that he gave me has started a wildfire in me, and now it will be more complicated than I thought to control. Man, I am in deep trouble emotional here, Tazi thought to herself.

“When I found your death certificate, that is what made me come to Detroit. You do not understand the level of pain and hurt I was feeling, knowing that you are already dead. You don’t understand all of the vivid fantasies I have been having over you. Thinking of us building a life together. You have no idea.” Leroy said.

Before Tazi could respond, Leroy kissed her in the mouth and held on to her for dear life.

“Leroy, what are you doing? I am not mad that you kissed me; I am just confused about why you did. I didn’t know that you had feelings for me like that.” Tazi said.

“I have always had feelings for you, Tazi; it is just that you are always so busy with working these cases, and I just figured why not show you instead of telling you how I have been feeling. I do have a question for you, though. Did you like the kiss that I just gave you? If it is not the kiss that you want, show me how to kiss you, and I will get it right.” Leroy said.

“Leroy, I love the way that you kissed me just now. It is just that I know for a fact that you have more experience with the ladies, and poor little old me doesn’t know the first thing about loving you the way that you feel you need to be loved. I am not saying all of this to you to push you away. I need you to understand where I am coming from.” Tazi stated.

Lord, this man is driving me crazy, and I have no idea what to do about him right now. We have this frozen pond case to work on, and he comes up here to Detroit because he claims that he found a death certificate with my name. All of this is just too much for me to handle right now. I seriously wish he could have said all of these things to me before I got so swamped with work. I never have a chance to sit down for a few minutes to get my thoughts together.

Why would he kiss me like that in the world, knowing that his kisses short circuit my brain cells? Then again, maybe he doesn’t know because this is the first time he has ever made a power move on me like this. Man, what in the world am I going to do?

A few hours later, we were back at the frozen pond, and the singing started again as soon as we approached. “Tazi, do you hear singing?” Leroy asked.

“Yes, I hear it. I had listened to it in my house before I came out to Detroit to investigate and research this frozen pond mystery.

Classical
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.