Fiction logo

The Ever Present Past

A heist caught on camera

By Adam EvansonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
The Ever Present Past
Photo by Jannis Edelmann on Unsplash

Sophie was thirty six years old and hadn't seen her father since she was eight. Today she was meeting him at his request at some quiet little coffee haunt called the Blue Frog.

Sophie sipped her latte, then said in a low voice as she gazed out the window...

"So, I have a question for you. Why were you never there for us when we were kids?"

"I was always there for you. What's more, I can prove I was there."

He placed an album of photographs on the table for his daughter to leaf through. As she turned the last page she said...

"Very good. But all they do is prove that what I said is true. I didn't see you in a single shot. Ergo, as I said, you were never there."

"Oh, I was there ok. I never left your side. You didn't see me in any shots for a very good reason, Sophie. I was the one taking the shots, every single one of them. And that is just one album."

"On this day, thirty six years ago you were born, Sophie. And you stole my heart. I got it all on camera. The perfect heist."

By Walaa Khaleel on Unsplash

Microfiction

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Adam EvansonWritten by Adam Evanson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.