Fiction logo

The Estranged Wife Part 3

Sarah Collins, a successful engineer and a divorcee never thought of seeing her ex-husband again. It probably is the worst day of her life to be in the same room with her ex-husband and have a meeting with him. The universe probably made a big joke on her when Alex Karydi was sent to handle the project and collaborate with her instead of his colleague. The tension between them escalated when Sarah's boyfriend, Andrew Kennedy, went all the way to Singapore to surprise and propose to her. The thought of his ex-wife marrying another man angered Alex even more and he did everything he could to make her suffer. Will Sarah and Alex rekindle their love despite Alex's extreme enmity for his accused cheating ex-wife?

By Jem RicafortPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 12 min read
1
Photo from Novocom.top

Sarah Collins’ POV

“Good morning.” George greeted with a hoarse voice.

He wasn’t feeling well the entire afternoon and worked until 10 o’clock last night to finish some reports. He came home with a fever and was coughing all night. I knew he didn’t get enough sleep because of that.

“Did you take the medicine that I gave you?” I asked sincerely.

“Yes, I did. Thanks. By the way, you got a package from an unknown sender.” George uttered weakly.

“Oh really? I’m not expecting any package. That’s a bit suspicious.” I said in a confused tone.

I took the box wrapped in brown paper and shook it to get an idea of what was inside. I was about to open the box when my phone rang. It was Andrew. I left the box on the dining table and went inside my room to talk to my boyfriend. After 25 minutes, I came out to have some breakfast. George was ready to leave.

“Sarah, I can’t drop you to the office this morning. I have a meeting at Marina Bay Sands and would ask the driver to pick me in an hour. I can't drive.”

“Don’t worry about me. I can drive to work. Do you mind if I use your car?” I caressed his cheek gently and gave him a kiss.

“Be my guest.”

“Thank you. I need to be at the office early, Georgie." I sighed. "Alex has been terrorizing me for 3 weeks. He questions my every action like I don’t know what I’m doing.” I exclaimed in annoyance.

George pouted. “Yes, I heard he was tough on you. He’s nice to everyone at work especially the women, except you. I would say he’s a gentleman if I hadn’t known he was making you feel miserable every single day. I would kick his ass if he ever laid his tyrannical hands on you.” George spoke firmly.

“Don’t worry about me. I can handle him. I won’t let him bully me. Is Carter also being a pain in the ass?” I asked curiously as I sipped my coffee.

“Well, he’s a handful like Karydi. They expect nothing but the best from everyone. But it’s understandable because their work ethic is incomparable. I’ve never worked with consultants as brilliant and as dedicated as they are. They really know what they’re doing.” George stated with strong admiration for our colleagues.

“Are you sure you’re okay to drive? I would have called in sick today if I didn’t have a meeting. I feel like throwing up!” George asked contritely.

“Yes, dear. Don’t worry about me. I prepared some snacks for you. Bring them with you and don’t forget to take your medicine. I gotta go.”

I hugged George and went out of our apartment. I took the lift going to the parking lot on the 2nd floor of the building. When I reached the parking lot, I walked to the west wing because that was where George’s car was parked.

“I’ve always wanted to drive one of these.” I muttered excitedly to myself. The company issued George a black BMW convertible. I hope they would give me a car too. I have an international license so I don’t see any problem with that. I don’t really drive back in Oz because I go to work and come home with George. And now that George is going around attending meetings, I think I should be more independent and be a better driver.

I got into the car and started the engine. I stepped into the accelerator and the car started to move. Few minutes later, I was on the highway going to the office. “There’s a speed limit here. I need to do better than this.” I reminded myself gently. I stepped into the accelerator harder and the car progressed in a more rapid pace. This is better. I wondered what Alex would do today to pester me. Yesterday, he asked me to prepare his coffee. Last week, he questioned my ability to do my job and insulted me in front of our colleagues by giving derisive comments about my qualifications. The problem is I couldn’t take it personal, even when Alex is making it too personal. I was the one who should be angry because he served me with divorce papers without giving me a valid reason on why he wanted our marriage to be over. I reached the office after 30 minutes and went straight to the parking area. I was about to park the car in George’s parking space when a speedy Hummer took the spot.

“What the hell?!” I hissed in exasperation.

I went out of the car to confront the rude driver who took my parking space. The driver of the Hummer got out of his car and I was shocked to see my ex-husband looking strikingly handsome in denim jeans and white shirt. He was wearing a pair of aviator sunglasses and his shirt was buttoned down up to his chest. I’ve never seen him like that for ages. He usually goes to the office in corporate attire, which makes him look more intimidating. I’m not going to be cowed by his signature arrogance. He has no manners and I will make him realize that.

“Didn’t you see that I was about to park the car in my spot?” I asked angrily emphasizing the word spot.

“Your spot? Since when did you get a parking space? And was it my fault that you were a terrible driver and couldn’t even park the car?” Alex answered derisively.

“You shouldn’t have parked your bureaucratic car in George’s space!” I scowled at him.

“As of today, this spot is mine. I requested that my space be transferred here because it is closer to the main entrance. And since Harris stays out all the time, I thought I could take over his spot.” He muttered arrogantly.

Then he added, “By the way, I can park the car for you if you want.” He grinned smugly at me.

“No!” I glared at him and walked away while stomping my feet.

“As you wish my darling. If you need any help, just give me a call.” He said sarcastically. He leaned over and kissed me on the lips. I gasped. I wanted to slap him but I couldn’t move my hand. It was stiff.

“See you later, wifey.”He grinned wickedly at me before he left.

“You’re an ass.” I yelled angrily as I stepped into the car. I steered the car towards Alex’ previous space and struggled to park it there.

“Why is it so difficult to do? Damn!” I hissed in extreme annoyance.

I was able to park the car after my fourth attempt. I got out of the car and walked inside our office building. Some employees greeted me but I just ignored them. I barged furiously in Alex’s office. He was on the phone talking to someone and I didn’t care.

“Why did you do that?” I shrieked.

“Don’t you see I’m on the phone?” He glared at me.

“That’s the purpose, sir. I am here to interrupt you.” I replied conceitedly.

“I will call you later. There’s a lunatic in my office that desperately needs a hobby.”

He stood up and walked towards me. “Are you here for another kiss? You don't have to be angry; all you need to do is ask.”

“You’re a skeeve! You’re the most disgusting person I’ve ever met!" I rolled my eyes at him and walked out.

I went back to my office, took a bottle of water from the fridge and dialled my dad’s number to get rid of the violent thoughts that were building up inside my head. My dad immediately picked up the call and was so happy that I called.

“Hello, darling. I’m so happy you called.” Nicholas Collins gleefully muttered.

“Sorry dad, I haven’t called you for ages. I’ve been busy with work.” I said ruefully.

“It’s okay, sweetheart. How’s your stay in Singapore going so far?” He asked.

“So so. How’s everything in Thailand?” I haven’t been home for 8 years.

I was 4 years old when my family moved to Thailand. My dad was an expat and my mom had to leave her job in New York to be with us. My mom was a pastry chef. She used to bake with me when I was a kid. My parents thought I’d be a patissiere someday, but I guess I inherited my dad’s nerdy character and his innovative mind.

“Everything’s well, sweetie. I hired a new pastry chef because one of our chefs quit. When are you coming home? Your Uncle Phil was disappointed when you didn’t show up at your cousin’s wedding. He came to Thailand with your Aunt Laura last October.” He uttered in a reprimanding tone.

“Dad, I live in Melbourne. Jamie’s wedding was in Perth.” I reasoned out.

“Jamie is your cousin. You should have gone to her wedding.” He keenly insisted.

Uncle Phil was the only relative that we have. He is my dad’s younger brother. My dad is very close to him and his family so no wonder my dad was pissed that I didn’t go to my cousin’s wedding 6 months ago.

“I know, dad. And I’m sorry. I was busy with work and school, you know that.”

I apologised to my dad for disappointing him. I never want to let him down but I really don't like to go on weddings. I couldn't tell him that because it would make him worry about me and think that I haven't moved on from my divorce. Whether I was over it or not, I didn't want my dad to feel bad about it.

“It’s okay, baby. So when are you coming home?” He was very eager to know when I was going to visit him.

“Soon, dad. I..”

I was cut off when I heard the alarm and the fire sprinkler started to flood my office. “I’ll call you later dad. Bye.”

I immediately went out of my office to find out what happened and everyone gave me a bizarre look. I was soaking wet and everyone looked completely dry.

Alex Karydi’s POV

I saw the ruthless woman at the parking lot this morning. I wondered if she could drive to the office unharmed because I knew what a terrible driver she was. She would be a huge obstruction on the road. How many times did we get caught because of her lousy driving? The stupid woman tried to kill me countless times due to her inability to follow instructions. She got into the car and drove carefully out of the parking area. I followed her to see if she had any improvement in driving. I felt relieved when she arrived at the office safely. Now I could go to site in peace. I stopped when I noticed that she was having a difficult time parking the car. I wanted to show her that her day could be a lot worse. Might as well prepare her for that. How about I take the evil queen’s parking space? I laughed at the idea. I heard my tires screech as I drove closer to the parking space. I instantly parked my car there and as expected, the cold-hearted woman came yelling at me. I absolutely enjoy annoying this woman. The expression on her face was unforgettable. She kept talking and all I did was stare at her beautiful face. It was quite perplexing because obviously this woman had a lot to say. She only ceased talking when I kissed her and the act infuriated her more. I left her at the parking lot and went straight to my office without looking back. When I reached my office, I sat on my chair and watched her struggle to put the car in place and I laughed so hard with the view. I’m going to ask them to move my parking space in George’s so I could see her sweat to death trying to park the car every morning. I recalled my plan to terrorize her today by activating and letting the fire sprinkler flood her office. I was really excited to see her drenched in water. Few minutes later, the annoying woman was standing in my office like a queen with her hands on her waist and yelling irritably at me.

“Why did you do that?” She gave me a fierce look. Her eyes were throwing daggers at me.

Instead of expressing regret, I gave her nasty remarks that annoyed her more. She went out of my office after telling me how spiteful and disgusting I was.

After 20 minutes, I heard her cry for help when the fire sprinkler started to flood her office. I snorted with satisfaction. She walked outrageously in my office doused in water.

“The fire sprinkler cleverly picked out my office to flood.” She said sarcastically.

I couldn’t say anything. I tried not to laugh because she was looking sharply at me. She was really furious.

“You look terrible. Aren’t you aware that smoking isn’t allowed here and there are smoke detectors installed in every corner of this building?” I commented harshly.

“Do I look like I smoke?” She screamed angrily.

I was surprised when she marched towards me and hugged me tight.

“What the hell are you doing? You are soaking wet woman!” I shouted impatiently at her.

“You screw me, I screw you. I’m a lady like that. Now, share the misery with me, agapi mou.” She muttered arrogantly while holding me tighter.

I pushed her away and looked sternly at her. Her eyes were filled with rage. She stared at me for a moment and took a deep breath. The anger in her eyes disappeared. She walked out and closed the door behind me then I realised that my clothes were wet. Damn. I fished out for my phone and called David.

“Where the hell are you, Karydi?” He hissed.

“I’m at the main office right now and I need you to get me some clothes.” I asked desperately.

“What happened to your clothes? As much as I want to do that for you, I’m quite busy here. Ask someone else.”

“How can I ask them without being interrogated on how my clothes got wet? I can't tell them that I pulled a prank on Sarah that infuriated her." I uttered impatiently.

“What did you do?” He enquired curiously.

“I activated the fire sprinklers that flooded Sarah’s office.” I answered boldly.

“You’re an ass!” He exclaimed acidly. “Wait for me, I’ll get you some clothes.”

“Thanks buddy!”

I realized what I did was wrong but I hate to admit it to myself. I just wanted to hurt my ex-wife because I couldn’t let go of the pain that our divorce caused me. I knew that I still have strong feelings for her but the damage has been done and I couldn’t go back. If only I could change things..If only..

To be continued..Part 4 will be submitted for SFS 4: Golden Summer challenge.

Love
1

About the Creator

Jem Ricafort

Website: https://www.mycanadaprjourney.com

Twitter: cheekygirl727

Instagram: cheekylittleminx727

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/mwlite/in/jemmayel-ricafort

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/cheekylittleminx727

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.