Fiction logo

The End of the World or A New Beginning

2030 Truth or Fiction

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Is it the end of the world as we once knew it? https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D_36JzF9xRzA&psig=AOvVaw00ma0Awgb7cF4JqgvAMCNU&ust=1624467454358000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=2ahUKEwj-qeb92qvxAhUI9qwKHX80Dk4Qr4kDegUIARCHAQ

Hello NASA, is anyone there? This is Apollo 20, returning from our extended stay on the moon. Is anyone there? Come in NASA… No response. What is going on Captain? It is more of our same experience from the moon, and we thought it had to be our communication devices. We made the decision to complete our required duties on the moon and then to return to earth as scheduled because we thought it was just our communication pieces. Now, it is more of the same, with the devices that are on the shuttle. The same no response, like it was on the moon. In the space shuttle, no response, and now it is time to worry. What happened to earth? To the people? No news. No communication now and it has probably been a couple months from our last message.

It was just a few short months with no communication from earth when we landed back on planet earth, without support, it was difficult but doable. There is a great fear now for our families and earth. I continued to try to connect with someone on the communication devices and nothing. Mission control, do you hear me? There is no answer? Captain, is it okay to take off our space gear? Yes. The air is not contaminated. It is okay to breath. What happened here? Lieutenant Colonel is it okay to walk about? Yes, be careful though.

Months later and I found a few tribal communities without phones or any form of communication, no social media. No one that could answer my questions. I was told that the world as we have known it has changed. I was told that all the people in the world were with their ancestors, and their families in England, France, Spain, and other countries, and the return to those countries was automatic. It was like a bomb went off. Nothing was the same. When going to where my family’s farm was, the only sign that they had ever been there was a heart shaped locket. It had a picture of a woman and her dog. That woman was my mother. That dog was Bella. No sign of any of the way it was. Barren land. I thought, I would start to rebuild there. This is what feels like home. Nowhere else does. But can I stay? Will I be sent to where my ancestors are too? Is my mother and Bella there? Where is it that I would be sent? My dad used to joke about being a Heinz 57. He always thought he was Native American. Where is that then, where all the Heinz 57’s have gone?

I learned from an Anishinaabe man that there is a newly formed government, and I could get help to find my ancestors, my family. If I rebuild where my mothers home was, it may not be where I should build. I will need to guarantee that I will continue my work for the betterment of all the people. I would need to connect with the current government system. Survival is the goal, and we survive together, not alone. I will vow to be welcoming to all and to share what I build with others, who may not be as fortunate as I. That is what is asked of me, and that is the government that was put in place. All the people from the mission to the moon have left to find family and friends and I hope are doing well. Because of the duties on the moon, we all have ways of survival for now and well into the future.

It is the end of the world as we have known it and I was thinking isn’t that a song title from the 1900’s. Then, as I thought of all that could mean, there was a noise coming from one of my communication devices. “I am reporting on radio ME-SHINOB. The colonizers are all gone for now. Take your language and the old ways back. Take care of our mother earth. Follow our grandfathers/grandmothers’ ways. Take back the land. Live off the land. We will not be dependent on other countries for our life. Elect community councils to bring peace and community to our villages. You will have the opportunity to visit your family and friends who have left. You will be supported to make those trips yearly. If you choose to leave you may. There will be yearly visits from other places to our turtle island. If this message is not translated into your language, you will hear it in English until it is translated for you. For now, stay close to home. Spend time learning the language and cultural ways that were taken from you. Our seven grandfather teachings are available. Tell the stories from our ancestors. The true history will be available for all. The only people left on Turtle Island are here as they have ancestors and family from here.” I heard this, and as I let this sink in, I hear drum and flute music. I will continue to listen to this and maybe find out where I should go to learn more about what others know. I am okay here for now. I will find family. I am hopeful that the others have found their families and are with them now, either here or somewhere else. My next plan is to find out more about the stories of the 'Indigo' people and how they may be responsible for this new world order.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.