Fiction logo

The Drone that Saved Christmas

By : Avril Doucette

By Avril DoucettePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Drone that Saved Christmas
Photo by Brandable Box on Unsplash

A drone anonymously delivers a mysterious package to your doorstep..... I mean, what would you do? Would you immediately assume the worst? Or assume the best? Because honestly who deliver such a package to the home? I thought over all of the scenarios while the package was inside my home.

It’s sad in my doorway for over two weeks, due to me, not knowing where it originated from. I was unaware who sent it, why, also if it was even legal to open the contents. Was it a dangerous package also ? The package did state my name on it though.

Which meant that I was entitled to open the package and look at the contents. But who had sent it? So as I sat, overthinking, opening up the package or leaving the package closed. I realized that I had created so much anxiety and fear, and then decided to open the package.

The moment I had begun slicing open the tape. I felt the fear and anxiety releasing from my body. At the same time new fear and excitement filled my body. I felt the emotions of being both scared and excited. I wondered what was inside of the box, my mind kept racing even more when I had seen the bubble wrap inside of it. Plus more excitement because I had loved to pop bubble wrap.

As I removed the bubble pop, I seen a brand new laptop underneath it. I screamed with excitement as I removed the beautiful brand new MacBook Pro from the box. It was my favorite color also, rose gold. The laptop was a perfect size, and I was so excited to own one. Inside of the box was a note, to my beautiful daughter.

My father had purchased a laptop for me, he knew that I was writing and running businesses on my cell. He must’ve understood the frustration I had, and also experienced with trying to multitask on a small device. He purchased this laptop unselfishly to make me more productive, and efficient. He was always thoughtful, kind and considerate like this.

Tears of joy and happiness ran down my face. I was emotional due to his actions, and how unselfish he always was. My mind began to race thinking about how owning this laptop would make my day today life more easy and how happy I would feel using this laptop. I know it’s just material objects, but the purpose of this laptop would be the betterment of my skills, talents, and abilities.

I quickly wipe the tears away from my face and took a few deep breath’s. Then I quickly grabbed my phone and began to Dial my father’s number. He picked up the phone right away and said you must’ve received the package. “He stated happy belated birthday and I love you. I hope you enjoy it. Take care.”

He was a man of very few words. Sometimes he spoke more words with his actions then in conversations. He taught me to measure a person by their actions, and not their words. He was an action orientated man, I adored him for that. As I sat there and began opening it and starting it up, I stared at the opening screen in awe.

My heart began racing thinking of building multiple businesses with it. About the stories that I would publish on it, about the blogs I would write, and the YouTube videos I would watch. The possibilities are endless all on this small piece of technology. It was a small gift, but I had the ability to create a world with it. A world where I could do anything or be also talk to anyone.

I was grateful that is the best word that would describe the feeling that I felt within my heart. I felt loved & appreciated. I felt like I was supported and encouraged to become the person I am supposed to be. That gave me a feeling of confidence, the kind of confidence that you wish you sell to people. Not to profit off of but to make the world a better place.


familyLoveShort Story
1

About the Creator

Avril Doucette

Model, Actress and Athlete

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.