Fiction logo

The Diary of [REDACTED]

Document # 2.14.68KT

By John ThomasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Diary of [REDACTED]
Photo by Zoran Borojevic on Unsplash

18th of May 2047

I was almost caught!

I sneaked out last night to try and scrounge up whatever food I could find in this God-forsaken town. As I was walking, I became aware that I had eyes on me. I led my admirer around in a useless circle of lefts and rights before finally ditching them and returning here. I will do some recon before I go to leave tonight. Unfortunately, I have no choice but pass by where I went last night.

It's getting tiresome having to hide in these little shanties. I reminisce back before the war, when I got paid good money to stay hidden. When all I had to worry about was whether or not the gentleman next to me was in a similar line of business. My time with The Company taught me how to do that well, along with my training in the Marines. Luckily, these skills have been what's kept me alive this long. Ever since the Commander-in-Grief took over by force and decided to eradicate any military oddities, I've had to stay on my toes.

Well, I guess that I'll attempt to get some sleep. It's 0600 and I'm going to need all my wits this evening in case my admirer returns.

19th of May 2047

I managed to get a few cans of corn and beans. Things that used to be sides have turned into whole meals, and things that used to be revolting have turned into sides. I have begun to understand the Vietnam horror stories they taught us in school of P.O.W.s eating whatever came into their cells.

I did have something odd happen around 2300 hours. I was making my way back through the town square that I'd been in last night when I looked down and saw a silver heart-shaped locket. I picked it up, but what got me was the note underneath. I'm going to keep the note hidden for now, but I'll copy its contents for personal reference.

"You. Yes, you.

I've left this in hope that I might catch up with you. My family is in need of some help, and in return we can give you what you need. I've watched as night after night you sneak around getting food, clothes, and other necessities from people who can't really afford to share them. We can afford to help, and we have no problem doing so.

We have a group of soldiers that constantly harass us, and as my parents are deathly ill, we have nobody willing to stop them. I can promise you that we can supply you for a few weeks if you'll convince them to stop. If yes, leave the locket back where you found it at 11pm tomorrow night. If I don't see the locket, then I'll know your answer, and you are more than welcome to keep it or pawn it. "

I'll probably return the locket. That's a decent amount of help for something that comes second-nature to me. I'm going to watch the area before and after I return it though. You can never be too careful in these small military towns. Though guards don't patrol the streets at night, it's common knowledge that anyone who catches an Undesirable is guaranteed two months of rations on top of their normal amount.

I'll keep this journal up to date just in case I never make it. I always admired Anne Frank, though I never expected to find myself in a similar climate.

20th of May 2047

I watched closely for three hours before I dropped the locket, and three hours after. Around 0200 a young man came and picked up the locket and ran back to his house, about a block down the road. He looked decent enough, nothing to suggest that he had been facing the hardships that had befallen his neighbors. He also didn't look too decent as to suggest that he had ties to the governmental entity and his enormous group of enforcers.

I walked out and found a note laying where I'd placed the locket. It basically stated to come back the next night and we would discuss the details out of sight of any residents. I have gone ahead and come back here a little early so I could get some sleep before preparing everything tomorrow. I don't know if it'll go as planned, but it's definitely worth checking out.

21st of May 2047

DAMN THEM!

I met with the young man around 2315 at the normal drop-off location. We moved 3 blocks down the road and began discussing in detail what was going on. He and his younger sister have been getting unwanted visits by the soldiers. I can't divulge what has been happening, but it would revolt even the most seasoned vet.

He explained that they had been getting small amounts of food left in return, so the soldiers felt more at peace with their actions. His parents are currently bed-ridden and are likely to die within the next few weeks. If I can convince the guards to stop, then he and his sister can stay with their parents until then. If I can't, they'll have to leave their parents to fate.

It was obvious that he hated making the last statement, but he didn't know what else to do. I agreed to help in exchange for a small portion of food as down payment. He ran to his house, gave me 4 cans of beans and franks, then ran back home. As I topped the hill, I looked back and noticed 5 grown men in uniforms walk into the house.

I watched, and within minutes it was obvious that he had not been lying.

I need sleep. I should've never picked up the locket. I've seen many atrocities of war, but what I saw tonight made me wish I'd never stopped in this town at all.

22/5/47

It was a scam. They weren't being taken against their will. It was a scam to find Undesirables like me, and it worked. I don't have long to explain. I got there and incapacitated the five guards I had seen last night, plus another two that were in hiding. The young man came out with his sister, but instead of giving me food, they left me with a bullet hole in my shoulder. I need to leave.

I hear the footsteps coming outside...

I am finding it hard to finish this entry. I took out the group of guards and citizens, but not before they got some good cuts and shots in. I'm not going to make it.

This diary excerpt was found outside of former Killeen, Texas on the 14th day of February 2068, 15 years after the end of the war that ravaged the former United States of America. It is our hope that this will deter anyone else from trying to hide from our efforts.

The People's Republic of America

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.