Fiction logo

The Diary of Mishelle Gold

Monday 25th April

By Ruth Elizabeth StiffPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Another house sold in Florida for $3 million, three bedrooms, three and a half bathrooms, outside pool and open living plan area. Beautiful home but not very child friendly. The couple are like a Power-couple with their own individual companies. Very nice for them.

I’ve got a busy week this week!!! Over 5 listings to try to sell and 10 clients looking for properties. I’ve decided not to do leasing though, I’ll give any of those to Silvia as she seems to love leasing. The views from one of the properties is 360% and absolutely beautiful, amazing in fact, but the price — $10 million — not sure we’ll get the right price for that one, may ask the client if they can reduce it to $9 million or even $8,500,000 but we’ll see.

I’ll be flying into the office tomorrow and will stay at the hotel until Friday, and go home Friday night. Jack is going home for the weekend, which is a lovely surprise. He’s only staying until Sunday evening but even so, it’ll be lovely to spend some time together.

Mum is good. She’s got a new hobby — dance class. Being a professional dancer it’s just perfect for her. I know she doesn’t need the money but it’ll be good for her to have something just for her. She was beaming over the phone, really excited about it. I do hope she’s careful and doesn’t put her back out. Not bad for a 70 year old!!!

John’s finishing his University next month and we’re so looking forward to his graduation, the whole family is going, including his new girlfriend I’ve yet to meet. I’m so proud of him, 4 years of studying and now finally he can do what he wants. Well Done John!!!

We’ve got a new manager in the office. Timothy (the owner) wants to expand and has appointed Mary. Her track record sounds good so I’m looking forward to meeting her. There’s also a dinner Wednesday night with the team. It’ll be nice but I’m not getting involved in their bitchiness. Honestly, you wouldn’t believe these girls are over 30. There’s only Senora and I who are married with children, and I believe Mary is married too, but the others just love playing the field. Well, I doubt I’ll stay too late, just enough to make an effort. It’ll be nice to get to know Mary a little better.

So, my brother Shane has been in contact, surprise surprise. He wants to meet up with mum and I and tell us more about his new ‘faith’. He says it’s given him his life back, well, I’m happy if it has but I’m so wary of these new religions. Yes, I believe in God but would never consider myself a practicing Christian. I promised mum I’d support her so I’ll be there for her. If only dad was still alive!!! Ok, he was a church minister but there was never any mucking about, he really did say “a spade is a spade!” We’ll see.

Have my flight booked for 7am tomorrow morning, so I am doing some work today (from home) so that I’ve got something to take in tomorrow. These new listings are crazy, these people are so overpricing their houses, I’ll ask Mary for some advice. It’ll be nice to visit some of them over this coming week. I’m arranging 3 open mornings / afternoons so we’ll see what happens. One of them, in particular, needs staging so I’ll see what needs to be done. I do find this job interesting though and fascinating, plus, the commission is good. Don’t know yet if it’s my ‘forever’ job but we’ll see.

Oh one last thing Diary, Jack was talking about getting some help for the housework / laundry / cooking / etc. I’ve always done my own but — we are very busy and it will give someone a good job with wages. Need to think some more about this. Will ask mum because she has ‘help’ so she’ll be able to advise me.

Must go now, get working and packed for tomorrow. See you soon xx

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ruth Elizabeth Stiff

I love all things Earthy and Self-Help

History is one of my favourite subjects and I love to write short fiction

Research is so interesting for me too

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.