Fiction logo

The Diamond Heist

Not every thief goes to jail, some are considered heroes

By Lynda SpargurPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

Eyes wide open, nostrils flare. My opponent stands with his back to me. The air is fresh and clean as I take another breath and calm my jangled nerves. Shaking my hands, I take another step. Stop. He glances over his shoulder at me. Our eyes meet briefly before he turns away once more.

One… two… three more steps I go. The world stops as I concentrate on not getting caught. Dare I take another step? Sweat beads on my brow then drips in front of my eyes.

Movement behind me. My senses go into overdrive. The man in front of me glances over his shoulder once again. It’s more cursory than inquisitive. He takes a deep breath, his leg rises.

Time to go. I lean to the right and take a step, then another and another. In less than a second I am in a full sprint. Another man jumps in front of me blocking my path. My destination mere feet away. I slide feet first lowering myself to the ground. Dirt flies. My foot hit something hard. The man slams his hand into my chest.

Safe! The umpire cries. Another stolen base.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Lynda Spargur

Screenwriter, Author, Creative Writer

Writer, dreamer, creator of new imaginary souls. Using my experiences to develop a better future. Crime stories, baseball and The Beach Boys are my passions.

Authors I love:

Tony

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    The intensity of that moment; will he or won't he run is so well written. Really enjoyed 😊

  • Tony Bacaabout a year ago

    This was so much fun to read!! I'm a huge baseball fan and the story depicts that drama and anticipation that unfolds in the many facets of the game. Excellent job and keep up the good work. Cheers!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.