Fiction logo

The Diagnosis

100 Word Microfiction

By Jennifer AshleyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
The Diagnosis
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

It made me sad to look at my fingers, so I looked out the window instead.

There was a phrase my nohkom used when she was alive, but I can’t remember the words just now, only that it was about wanting things to be one way when they were another.

“Deep breaths.” Kay’s hand on my thigh. “Not the end of the world.”

No, an autoimmune diagnosis was not the end of the world. Rheumatoid arthritis is not earth-shattering, like some diagnoses received at 29.

But I am young, and even swollen joints feel terribly unfair when you’re young.

MicrofictionShort Story
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Ashley

🇨🇦 Canadian Storyteller

♾️ Metis Nation

🎓 UVic Alumni 2020

Writing published by Kingston Writers Press, Young Poets of Canada, Morning Rain Publishing, & the BC Metis Federation to teach Michif in Canadian schools.

✨YA Magical Realism✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    That does seem totally unfair 😢

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.