Fiction logo

The Deviants, part twenty-seven

The Wanderer Rebels

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Deviants, part twenty-seven
Photo by Juskteez Vu on Unsplash

Stepping out of the hanger, Nash was surprised to see Ava waiting for him, with a big smile on her face, which made him melt inside, although anything she did had similar reactions.

He figured her exam would've taken longer, suppressing a growl. He still didn't like the thought of anyone prodding his mate. But, then again, what did he really know about such things?

She peered past him, "I see Galen has a new toy."

He glanced over his shoulder, smirking as he watched his friend stroke the Defiant. "He requested it, and Dae'lon said yes." Which was still a shock; Dae'lon didn't like how Galen could be so, well, defiant.

She took his hand, "What's the name?"

Nash smiled, feeling the warmth of her palm, "The Defiant."

Ava laughed, smacking her free hand over her mouth, only to groan and massage her face.

He suppressed a laugh. Damn, she was adorable at times.

But Galen heard her and walked over, "Whatcha laughing at?"

She posed an innocent expression, "Nothing."

"Sure, I'll pretend to believe you." He rolled his eyes, but Nash knew he was amused.

"You like me."

Galen pulled her into a quick side hug, "You are one of my favorite humans."

Ava smiled, "And you're my second favorite Wanderer."

"Why, thank you," he held onto her for one more moment before stepping away, "But I got work to do, so enjoy yourselves."

"Oh, we will."

Nash grabbed her hand again, "Shall we head back to your room?"

Ava grinned, "Hell yes."

As they headed back to her quarters, Nash couldn't help but feel his chest swell with each step. He never knew life could have so much color and vibrance.

And for the first time in his life, he had something more than a cause to fight for, to live for, and to die for.

***

Kicking off her shoes, Ava flopped onto her bed, watching as Nash closed the door and got settled in. It was funny how big he looked in comparison to her room. It must've been awkward for him, though.

As he crawled up next to her, Ava remembered the soreness between her legs, as well as Christine's warning. How would Nash react when she told him?

"What is it, love?" Nash brushed some strands away from her face.

Ava faced him, ignoring the butterflies his new pet name for her created, "Christine put an IUD in me during my exam."

Confusion flooded his face. "What is that?"

"It's a device that acts as a form of birth control, so..."

He nodded, "I see." Then he frowned, "That wasn't necessary, though."

"Why?"

"Because all Wanderer soldiers have their reproductive abilities temporarily turned off." Nash shrugged, "It's more efficient that way."

"And the Mating Fever?"

"Doesn't affect it. I checked."

"And you can have it turned back on whenever you want?"

"Yes."

Ava hadn't expected the conversation to take this turn. "So you're not upset?"

"Not about your birth control, no." He growled a little, "I just didn't like that invasive exam."

She rolled her eyes, "It's a standard procedure for us women."

"I know."

Ava reached her hand over, touching his face, "I know you love and want to protect me, but you need to relax. Christine can be trusted. I trust her. So should you."

It was obvious he was trying to brood, but she wouldn't let him, "Besides, don't you want me to be healthy?"

"Yes."

"Then stop pouting like a little boy and get over it." Ava crossed her arms, sitting up straight.

Nash gave her a look, "You're impossible sometimes."

She grinned, "Deal with it."

"I don't have much of a choice, do I?"

"Nope."

Suddenly, he pulled Ava into his lap, "I suppose I can live with that, love."

She glanced up at him, "Good because I do love you." She planted a quick kiss on his mouth.

Nash pulled back, grinning, "I suppose love is the closest way to describe how I feel about you."

Smiling, she closed her eyes, laying her head against his chest. Everything was falling into place for the first time since her planet was invaded, which she, in a way, was grateful for.

Because if that hadn't happened, she wouldn't have found the base, her new friends, and Nash, who she knew she was stuck with forever.

Ava finally felt like she was home.

Thank you for reading this story! I hope you enjoyed it. And please read The Defiants, which focuses on Skye and Galen.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.