Fiction logo

The Defiants, part three

The Wanderer Rebels, story two

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
The Defiants, part three
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Eating her spaghetti and garlic bread, Skye listened to Evan and Ava discuss different defense techniques since he couldn't train with her yet.

A part of her had the itch to start training herself, but she wasn't sure if anyone would. Perhaps Nash, but Dae'lon had him running around on missions constantly these days.

She noticed Ava lift her head and tilt it back before saying, "When you fully recover, we're sparring and seeing who's right."

Evan smiled, "Promise?"

"Oh yes."

"Good, but I won't hold back."

"I don't want you to."

"Oh, Ava," a voice said from behind Skye, "make sure you don't send him back to the infirmary."

Evan rolled his eyes while she laughed.

Skye turned, Galen looming over her, "Have you been listening in the whole time?"

He shrugged, sitting next to her with a tray full of meat and bread. "My hearing is much better than yours."

Wanna bet. "Still, it's considered rude to eavesdrop."

Ava made a face, "Stop nitpicking."

"Yeah," Jessica appeared from nowhere.

Skye almost jumped from her seat, "Holy shit."

Galen looked around, obviously as confused as her, "Where did you come from?"

Jessica grinned, plopping herself next to Ava, who shook her head. "She does this to Nash all the time."

Skye focused on her food. She wasn't sure why, but she didn't like Jessica very much. Something about her rubbed Skye the wrong way.

Ava was the only reason she put up with her.

But she then glanced down at her metal fork, which she held in her right hand, her eyes widening. It was bent at an almost ninety-degree angle, and the handle was crumpled up.

Skye slipped it under the table to fix it, but not without Galen watching the entire event. She felt her cheeks heating up, a quick expression of ah-ha flashing on his face.

He leaned over, whispering, "I think we need to talk."

"Nope, no thank you. I'm good."

Jessica lifted her brow, "What?"

"Nothing."

"Actually," Galen stood, gently grabbing her arm, "we need to discuss something important, excuse us."

Skye threw her head back, groaning, but didn't fight him as he guided her to a more private area.

Galen let her go, "When were you going to tell me they injected you with compatibility nanites?"

"I'm sorry, what?"

"You said they shot you up with something at the compound."

"Yes."

"And that you've felt amazing since then."

Skye's stomach churned a bit, "Yeah."

Something sparked in his eyes, "So they do work."

"Are you saying I have tiny robots inside me?" She suddenly felt weak, leaning against the cement wall. "Oh, God."

Galen grabbed her, facing her to him, "You'll be fine. They're meant to make other species compatible with us."

"Like for breeding?"

"Like strength, speed, durability, that type of thing," he pursed his lips, "but I suppose breeding could be a part of it."

"Why the hell didn't you say anything before?!" Skye shoved him back, resisting the urge to slap his face.

"Because until today, I wasn't sure, and I didn't want to unnecessarily alarm you."

She paused, "Okay, fair enough."

"I'm sorry for not telling you."

"Me too," She walked closer, "I was just loving the feeling and didn't want anyone to ruin it."

Galen nodded, "I suppose this is why I've been seeing you each night?"

"Probably, yeah."

His expression softened. "Well, don't worry, you seem fine from the looks of it, but you should be examined anyway."

Skye threw her head back, groaning, "I don't wanna." Then it dawned on her. "Oh my God, that bastard!"

"What? Who?"

"Olsen!" Her fists clenched, "He was the one who gave me that shot!" And didn't think to tell her anything! "That asshole!"

Galen covered her hands with his, "I agree, but you need to calm down." The fire was lit in his eyes, though.

Skye took a few deep breaths, eyes shut. He was right. She shouldn't be entering the infirmary swinging her fists and cursing up a storm. No one else needed to witness that.

"Okay, fine, I'll get examined," she paced, "but he's getting an earful from me."

Galen smirked, "It's one of the things I like about you," he rushed back to the table, grabbing some of his food, "now let's go."

***

How could Olsen not tell Skye what he did to her?

Eating was one of the things keeping Galen from storming into the infirmary himself and causing the doctor hell.

Although he was mildly annoyed with Skye for not telling him about it earlier, he understood why she hadn't and was willing to forgive it. Besides, how could she have known about the compatibility nanites?

Olsen, however, was a different story.

Skye looked up at him, rubbing her hands together, "So, how should we do this?"

Yank him out of that tent and point a gun at him until he confessed. "Let's try to be rational about this."

"Also," she whispered, "should we tell anyone else?"

Galen pressed his lips together, "At the very least, Dae'lon."

"I meant other than him."

He knitted his brows, "I'm unsure at the moment." He bit into a piece of bread. Eating would help his brain think better.

They reached the infirmary tent and stopped.

Galen turned to her, "Lead the way."

Skye exhaled loudly, then made her way inside.

He remained outside, partly because the tent was too cramped for him but mostly because he didn't want to make a scene. Skye already had that covered.

As if on cue, Olsen flew out of the tent and fell on his face.

Galen took two steps back, still eating, a strange sense of pride filling him.

Skye stomped back out, "Why the hell didn't you tell me about the nanites?!"

Olsen scrambled to his feet, "I see they work."

"That's not an answer, you bastard! Now tell me!"

He tried backing away, but Galen made sure he stayed put. "Answer her, or I will get involved."

Olsen composed himself, "How was I supposed to tell you that I put nanites in you? That doesn't make for good casual conversation."

Skye crossed her arms, "You could've told me when we returned from the compound."

Galen nodded, finishing the last bit of food, "She is right."

"Surprised you didn't tell her."

He stepped back, "I'm not the person who did to her, and I wasn't sure and..." He shouldn't have to defend himself.

Olsen dusted off his coat. "I apologize for not telling you."

"Mhmm." Skye looked anything but convinced. "But I'm not working for the next few days."

Christine walked out, "What the hell is going on?"

Galen shot her a glare, "Stay out of this."

"No, now tell me."

Skye briefly explained, and Christine slapped Olsen across the face. "What is wrong with you?"

"And why me?"

Olsen rubbed his face, "For lack of better words, you were expendable since you'd been shot and weren't one of us."

That was it.

Seeing red, Galen tossed the tray aside and stormed toward the doctor. Oh, now he was going to pay!

However, out of nowhere, a hand grabbed his arm, yanking him down to the ground. Galen looked up, both pissed and relieved.

"Guess I returned just in time." Nash kept him pinned, "Now, will someone explain to me why he wants to murder Olsen?"

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amethyst ChampagneWritten by Amethyst Champagne

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.