Fiction logo

The day the wifi stopped

A teenagers struggle

By Penelope HenainPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The day the wifi stopped
Photo by Todd Trapani on Unsplash

Muuuuummmmm the wifi stopped.

Hi I'm Daniel, just a regular dude about to sit down after a hard days work at school with my iPad, iphone, Apple TV and Xbox. You know; just the regular gadgets of the many available that 13 year olds have these days.

Right now the world has just stopped. Well not the world, but near enough. The wifi has stopped.

What am I going do ? aaarghhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Since discovering the wifi is down, I have tried several times to resuscitate it without success.Ok well it's not a human and I don't have to perform life saving measures as such, but I do need to fix the wifi.

Muuuuum, answer me! What is that mother of mine doing.

While I wait for my mum to answer me in such an emergency, I’ll see if I can fix the damn wifi myself. First I'll turn off and on my gadgets to see if that fixes the problem.

iPhone off- check

iPad off- check

Xbox off- check

Apple TV off- check

Now, turn iPhone on, wait a second. No wifi.

Now, turn iPad on, wait a second. Still no wifi.

Now, turn Xbox on, wait a second. Still no wifi. Well then lastly, fingers and toes crossed the Apple TV works.

Nope, this is an absolute joke.

Muuuuuum, surely she can sense the urgency in my voice.

Aha

I'll turn off and on the wifi box itself and restart it. All will be good. Nope. Damn it!

Muuuummmmmm the wifi has stopped.

Gees, why isn't this woman taking me serious? What kind of mother ignores such a catastrophe? I mean this is a diabolical emergency. The wifi has stopped. I can't think. I'm going mental. I’ve already been without wifi for 6 freaking minutes.

Hmmm I'll turn the wifi box on and off again. Well actually I've done that 50 million times so far. Well maybe not that many but close enough. Nothing is happening. Ahhhh the wifi has stopped.

Surely the wifi will work soon, Maybe I’ll entertain myself some other way until the wifi works again. I'll just watch normal TV, hmmmmmm what's this on normal TV, the news, BORING. Who wants to waste valuable precious time hearing about horrible things happening around the world.

Muuuuum, I need the Wifi fixed, NOW!

So what else can I do until the wifi turns on? I'll play with my fidget spinner, spin spin spin spin. Ok now is the wifi fixed.

“Muummmmmm is the wifi fixed yet?”

Mum says she is busy, she is cooking me dinner. Ok I can make some allowances for that. I am starving. I do need food. But I do need the wifi.

Right. I'll go and annoy my sister. Oh doesn't she feel the pain. The pain of me entering her germy girls bedroom. If I annoy her enough she will make my ammunition against mum harder. I’m a genius, the Wifi will be fixed in an instant now.

“Muuuuummmmm, the wifi stopped. Get Daniel out of my room” yells my sister to my mum in a full panic outbreak. Squealing like a wild pig as if she is the one in a crisis. It is me, I’m the one with a crisis at hand. She doesn’t need wifi to stick on her fake face.

“Muuuummmmmm, Daniel is annoying me, tell him to stop”.She squeals on high pitch, such a cringing awful sound rings through the apartment.

Aha. We have take off, surely mum will fix the wifi now. That sound bellowing through the halls is a definite earache to all who can hear it, including the not so loving big mouth whinging neighbour upstairs.

Nope, mums just banging away in the kitchen like she is living in an alternative dimension soundproof to the reality of where I am and the upmost painstaking event of my life.

I’ll check the fridge. Maybe I’ll have a quick snack while I wait for dinner, but mum all of a sudden breaks into my dimension of reality announcing that if I eat the chocolate cake she will kill me. Gees, one slice of the chocolate cake wouldn’t hurt. Mum is such a drama queen at times!

This is seriously getting out of hand, no wifi and my mother has selective dimensional travelling abilities to ruin my life.

What does one do without wifi ? How did people exist before wifi ?

If only I had wifi I could find out.

Mum has definitely heard my pleas for this wifi to be fixed, but instead she is now throwing unrealistic suggestions around like clean your room, walk the dog, read a book, stop annoying your sister, set the table (ok I'll do that because dinner is nearly ready, or so she insinuated at the time of threatening my life ) has she lost her mind. I need my wifi.

Right. We will have to have a family discussion on this no wifi topic over dinner. That will get the ball rolling. Nope

Mums decided she will get the wifi fixed tomorrow.

TOMORROW. Nooo

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Penelope Henain

Writing has been my creative escape since I was a child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.