Fiction logo

The Day The Sky Turned Black

A Solider Walks A wasteland Of WW3

By Dristin VanderleiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

This is my final letter before the last nuke hits before the sky turns completely black and all I see is fire and darkness.

As I wander around this wasteland, I can't help but wonder who would ever want to destroy everything around them. Why would world leaders want to start a third world war? All I see when I walk around this wasteland is destruction, young men thrown into a war to die for leaders who never cared about them - a true waste of life. I say this because when this nuke hits, most of the population will die, and only the rich and powerful will survive. As it hits, I know I will still be walking this wasteland alone, dying alone with the ghosts of the dead around me.

I left my family and home thinking I was going to be a hero like in the movies, but after being in war for three years, I understand that I am far from being a hero. People often want to be a warrior until they realize the cost that comes with it.

Growing up, I always believed that the apocalypse was make-believe, like a fairytale. But now, I realize that the apocalypse is very much real. I am walking in it right now, seeing the burned ground, dead trees, dead bodies, and a dark sky.

I really miss my whole family. When I got drafted into this, they were all very upset. Nobody wanted me to go, and I didn't want to go either. I wanted to be at home playing make-believe war in my room on Call of Duty. I wanted to be a video game developer, be part of creating something beautiful. But instead, I am going to be part of history. What a world we live in, where we end up in situations we never wanted to be in. My father always told me that is part of being a man.

I never thought I would have this type of experience - I never thought I would have to kill a man, and I never thought I would have to run away in fear of dying. I never thought I would feel like a coward, a loser. I never thought I would die feeling like this. But is this feeling more common than most people think? Do a lot of soldiers feel like this? I don't even want to write my own name down. I can't. I'm too much of a coward. I probably couldn't even look at my own face in the mirror.

I wish I knew what I was fighting for - probably then I would feel a bit better about dying by a darn nuke. I was never one to follow the news and politics. It was too much for my brain to handle, too much something-something type of stuff. Who cares to follow that? I guess I was too busy trying to get a nuke in Call of Duty.

I don't know why I am writing this. It is just going to get burned up once the nuke hits. I guess I just want to be able to process myself being burned up by the nuke. It is going to be like I never existed, like I was just lost in time. And in the next life that comes after me, no one will ever remember this war happened. I will have no one to ever know who I was. It's very sad if you deeply think about it.

Walking a wasteland alone gives you a weird feeling. Imagine only seeing the dead, but so numb to it, it doesn't even affect you. Imagine not seeing animals, bugs, not even a fly. It's like you're the only person to exist in the whole world. You forget you exist in a way. I guess there is beauty to it - trying to find the beauty in the wasteland. Probably just me trying to stay optimistic.

Well, I guess there isn't much else to say except that I miss my family and friends, and I wish I was with them when the nuke comes. But instead, I will be walking the wasteland of the dead, and when the sky turns fully black, I will stare straight into the darkness and whisper "Beautiful."

THE END

HorrorShort StoryAdventure
1

About the Creator

Dristin Vanderlei

I'm Dristin someone who found his passion for writing when I was kid and fell in love with movies, once I figured out I could basically just tell my own stories I been writing ever since. Appreciate if you check out my writings plz comment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Dristin Vanderlei is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.