Fiction logo

The Contemplating Thief

Morality on The Edge of Precipice

By Laydee BPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
The Contemplating Thief
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

I reminisced at the joy my mom and I shared while walking through the familiar antique shop.

Dean, my mom's dear friend, had always shared stories behind each antique and this time was no different. I listened attentively, sometimes fascinated, sometimes bored.

My mom has always taught me gratitude and respect, but unprecedented financial struggles pushed me to seek new options.

"Need anything, son? I'm closing after taking out the garbage," Dean announced.

"No, I'm here to help," I offered, hoping to dispel any suspicion.

He was reasonably guarded against me. I hadn't come in peace or in good nature. I'd planned to rob him, betraying every value my mom had instilled in me. Somehow, Dean sensed it.

"Don't worry, I can handle this," he said, walking toward the garbage bins as I followed. Dean turns to me, his eyes gleaming.

"Son, don't let hard times darken your soul. You're better than that. I can offer you a job, but I can't undo the damage caused by greed and desperation," he said, conviction saturating each word.

His words settled deep, resonating with the part of me I thought was lost. In that moment, I fled, unable to betray his trust.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Laydee B

Like wine, my writing gets better in time. Here's my work, my thoughts all over the place... Let that sit!!! LOL!!! But seriously, I just really love to write!!!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Starlight Tucker11 months ago

    Always excited to see the visuals that help tell the story. The lightbulb was an excellent choice!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.