Fiction logo

The Chronicles Of a Galactic Diplomat

An Ingot Peaceable Story

By E.B. LivingstonPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
15
The Chronicles Of a Galactic Diplomat
Photo by Antonio Garcia on Unsplash

Chapter One - Planet Padoor

“ ‘Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space!’ Or so they say.” So bellowed my designated chauffeur, Danish, over the roar of the TerraRover engine in the whipping, hot wind of Padoor.

I looked over at the leathered, middle-aged man as he spoke, his hands gripping the wheel and his permanently squinting eyes gazing out over the wide expanse of fruitless desert. Two hundred and fifty years his species had been here; and two hundred and fifty years they had been toiling at their mission to fully terraform this virtual wasteland.

“It’s pretty much the same out here - a wonky compass or an empty fuel tank and you might as well be floating in space!”, he continued.

I swallowed hard and tugged at the scarf that had once been so artfully wrapped around my smooth, vulnerable head. At this moment, it was almost difficult to believe how eager I was to start my first commission as an Ambassador. Now that I had arrived here on this human-populated, desert planet, I questioned my sanity.

Danish must have read my anxiety.

“I, of course, wouldn’t let any of those things happen to you, Ambassador Peaceable! You’re in good hands! I’ve been driving these shifting sand “roads” all my life. Just another Sunday drive to me!”, he assured with a casual smile that appeared exceptionally white when contrasted with his skin.

“I’m relieved to hear that!”, I said in my most appropriate, human dialect.

I was proud of my ability to speak multiple, human dialects naturally without the need for a translation device. As a Sellissian diplomat, it was my job to learn all the languages I might encounter if possible. Sellisians communicate by use of electrical pulses and vocal vibrations that are formed by the mouth and tongue. We do our best to inhibit our electrical pulsing when speaking to humankind as it can, at times, disturb them… Or make them incontinent.

Danish changed the subject.

“You know, this is only my second time meeting a Sellisian! And a LADY Sellisian at that! You gals are actually quite pretty, if you like the tall type…that is.” He swallowed the last words in obvious shame. “I’m sorry, Ambassador, that was inappropriate! Our ability to be politically correct tends to erode out here at the solar posts. I’ll work on it.”

“I appreciate your concern.” I responded, “But please, don’t worry about it.”

Danish was clearly unused to formalities, but he was certainly not a rude man. In fact, I was really beginning to like my unpretentious driver.

“I think what I'm trying to say,” he continued, back peddling, “is that I'm always honored to meet a Sellissian! Your people helped us out a lot after that hydroponic disaster we had. I know most folks don’t take too kindly to Sellissians since they voted against our buying Padoor, but I think you all redeemed yourself throughout the years!” He chuckled with a shake of his head and continued: “We humans! We never forget anything, do we?! A long memory and a short lifespan!”

He wasn’t wrong about the Sellissians discouraging the sale of Padoor. My own father spoke out about it, among many others in the intergalactic senate. He stated that the sale of Padoor to human terraformers was both “deceitful and immoral”. Unfortunately, it was early in his career, and at the tender age of one hundred and two rotations, his political voice was discredited by his opponents.

Once acquired by humans, Padoor seemed to always be one industrial mishap away from complete agricultural ruin and civil war. Many disillusioned pioneers returned to Mars or their recently stabilized mother planet, Earth. But for those determined to settle the wild planet - or those who couldn’t afford intergalactic migration - they made terraforming Padoor a matter of pride and personal identity. From then on, those born in Padoor didn’t leave Padoor. Many nations in the galaxy thought they were either stupid or insane, but I couldn’t help but feel intrigued by these small individuals with big dreams and the grit to match.

“Nearly there! Look!” Danish pointed ahead as we rounded a hill. Stretched out before us was a great expanse of what seemed like rippling, liquid silver. At first, my mind told me we were approaching an ocean, but I knew better - this is Padoor - there is no ocean. I gripped the roll bar, unfurling my body as I pulled myself up to get a better view from over the windshield. The silver sea - of what I discerned to be solar panels - was split only by a thin strip of red dirt that led to a collection of hazy structures.

“Welcome to Alhara!” proclaimed Danish proudly.

Sci Fi
15

About the Creator

E.B. Livingston

"The worlds created here are for you to explore! So where willl you go? Who will you meet? Adventure awaits! Happy reading!" - EBL

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Lori Dowlingabout a year ago

    I read the 4 chapters available to me in one leisure afternoon. E.B. has a gift at making her story seem effortless and complex, witty and graceful. I’m hooked on the mystery within the adventure, and I’m looking forward to exploring this world and the new culture that goes with it. I could feel the goosebumps in the last chapter, and I can’t wait until the next installation.

  • Kayla Alcarazabout a year ago

    This is fantastically written you really know how to grasp the attention of your reader ! It’s like a movie 🍿

  • Ashlynn W2 years ago

    Sci-fi is one of my FAVORITE genres, but I'm but no means easy to please as regards my sci-fi stories! This though, was everything amazing about the genre all rolled into one great read! There was the intrigue of life through alien perspectives, (and a very personal one, since it was told from Ingot's perspective), the awe of technology and foreign landscapes, the complexity of governments and civilizations and their workings across space, and the underlying sense of adventure and new horizons in every word! I also loved the gentle and yet strong tone that the main character has already set in the first chapter, and I feel like I already know the side character, Danish, as well. Incredible character development! This feels like the start of a CLASSIC, and I'm dying to read more. 🙏 #TakeMyMoney

  • Ethan King2 years ago

    Yes, this is what the science fiction community needs more of. It's such an interesting idea, telling the story outside of a human perspective while including a certain class, almost hinting at a later time. I look forward to reading more!

  • I have always had a fondness for well written science fiction, which can frequently be difficult to find. So often an author will resort to beginning a story with an action packed bang, only to have it fizzle out due to shallow characters and unimaginative storyline. This story stealthily draws you in with interesting characters, smooth flowing narrative and interest arousing developments. My only complaint is when the chapter ended it left me wanting more. Looking forward to the continuing adventure!

  • What I appreciate about your writing so far, is that I want to read MORE! I’m not typically a Science Fiction fan, but I already find myself asking, “Where’s the rest? I’d pay to read more!” Your Ambassador has a gentle view of humans and an appreciation for human resilience. We humans should all be so gentle with one another. Keep writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.